We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carefree on Clearwater Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a relaxing, lazy 5-day vacation here. Our handicap accessible room on the 8th floor was perfect for us. We were comfortable and especially loved our balcony with views of the intracoastal waterway. If we stood at the corner of the balcony we could see the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico. With mobility issues, we look for fully-appointed resorts which we found here. Restaurants, pool, spa, fitness center (on the 9th floor) and sandy beach all easily accessible. The pool staff provided us with a special wheelchair for the beach that had super huge tires. Parking is free. The Suncoast Trolley (totally wheelchair accessible) stops right at the front of the hotel, and travels a loop from Clearwater Beach to St. Pete Beach, with many stops along the way. The resort staff was professional and friendly. Oh, I even was able to do laundry, as coin-operated facilities are located on several hotel floors!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

I am thrilled with your review. Insuring we are following ADA accessibility guide lines and making sure you are comfortable is one of our goals. It sounds as if your experience was just what you anticipated … relaxation. I am pleased you enjoyed the beach wheel chair. I hope you got to the shoreline as the sand is packed and the chair moves smoothly. The Sun coast trolley is not just transportation… it takes you on a great sightseeing tour of the area and as you said, you can get on and off to shop or dine. Our associates are not only efficient but warm and caring. They enjoy the personal interaction with our guests. We will look forward to another visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

recently enjoyed a 2 week stay at the hotel, Staff helpful and friendly, special mention to Andre on reception who facilitated a room change for and was most helpful during our stay, rooms comfortable, great location, right on the beach which you walk down for miles, Could also walk into Clearwater (10 - 15 minutes over bridge) Service good in all 3 restaurants and not overpriced. one minor grumble pool is a little on the small side. other than that had a great stay at the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a good view to the Gulf and are a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noise77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of Andre. It is great that you felt comfortable enough to make him your contact; it is a pleasant feeling knowing someone is there just for you. I am pleased you enjoyed the restaurants. We have a talented culinary staff. You must be in great shape with all that walking. Isn’t the view from the bridge just beautiful? You certainly can experience Mother Nature at her best; sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the beaches of Sand Key, dolphin sightings, and shell collecting. The area truly showcases Florida’s natural beauty! Nesting turtles, eagles in flight, and more than 50 native birds can be found by just taking a few minute walk to Sand Key Park. A new pool is on our wish list….maybe someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you're looking for a dated property, chuck full of Spring Breakers and loud screaming out of control children, then head on over to the Sheraton Sand key Resort.....STAT!

On the positive side, the staff was very friendly. And,......well sadly enough there is no and.

The room is simply ok, but the bathroom is tiny and dated. The room also had a musky, stale smell. Nice.

The facilities at the property are simply sad. The dining room felt like a cafeteria, and the bar was just pathetic.

The pool area was marginal. There were screaming kids everywhere. The food was served on trays (a hearty selection of hot dogs and fries....YUM!). The bar was just awful.

They really need to knock this property down and rebuild it from scratch to bring it into the 21st century.

If you're looking for an adult, relaxing experience at a grade A property, then this is absolutely not where you should be staying.

You've been warned!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Trendster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their feedback with us so we can continue to improve our product and service. It was unfortunate that the property was not the experience you anticipated. Spring Break is a very different environment; it is more about families and children. There are many times of the year when the resort is more tranquil, however. We are constantly renovating the resort and are terribly sorry it did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Deborah at Beach Bum Vacation was our awesome travel agent that booked this Spring Break trip for myself and my daughters (ages 9 and 6). This hotel was terrific! Conceirge was wonderfully helpful. Room was clean, restaurant was good, and pool and beach were as described. Loved the location next to the Sand Key Park which kept beach less crowded. We enjoyed 2 days at the resort, 1 day traveled to Orlando, and 1 day at area attractions (Clearwater Aquarium, Pier 60, Honeymoon Beach, etc). Can't say enough about Deborah who prepared me for everything we would need on the trip and for this vacation overall. The perfect get-a-way for our family!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank oconnorsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

My… you did a lot in those two days! I am sure many memories were made. Seeing our own area movie star “Winter” the dolphin is always a treat. I hope they get to see his new movie. I love Honeymoon Island, and can just imagine being their age and being on an undeveloped Island. Maybe you saw dolphins playing or a pirate ship in the distance. Pier 60 always has fun entertainment for children and crafts to look at. Orlando being only a two hour ride is a plus. Debra sounds more than competent and we hope she sends more people our way. We hope you will keep us in mind for a future get-away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

For $$$$$ the price I was very disappointed. The room smelled of mold and dust covered the lamps and nightstand and other flat surfaces. The front desk was not friendly and one employee talked personal talk with someone while we stood holding all of our heavy bags. When someone did come to assist us her mouth was filled with candy and we couldn't understand what she was saying. The view from pool was a beautiful sight of the beach which was the only plus side.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Desarie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

I sincerely apologize as it is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. Not meeting our goals and your expectations is very concerning. We have noted your comments on the cleanliness and I have forward your remarks to our Director of Housekeeping in order to counsel the associate who cleaned your room and provide additional training to ensure that this occurrence will not take place again. I realize that the Front Desk Agent is the first person you usually make contact with and that is where your first impression is formed. The lack of a warm, comforting and professional greeting is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. I have shared your comments with the Director of Guest Services. I appreciate that you enjoyed the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

the rooms were clean. The beach was a long distance from the hotel. The pool was warm. The poolside bar was convenient. Rusty's had delicious food and choices. The hotel was centrally located near Clearwater beach, beautiful sunsets. There was a free shuttle service to local bars, to avoid drinking and driving.

Room Tip: Request a view of the water. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElroyLaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Congratulations! Beautiful sunsets, the views and our private Island beach is a great setting for your renewal of vows. Dinner in Rusty’s Bistro with professional servers and a talented culinary staff can be delightful. Send a picture for Sheraton Sand Key Facebook. The area promotes sun and fun so we must ensure you are taken care of while doing so. Those shuttles are to keep you safe. Our turtle bar is convenient… you, a lounge chair, and a cool beverage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel has something for most everyone looking for a relaxing holiday. There were lots of families with kids of all ages, there was a political rally in one of their conference rooms and companies were hosting "off sites". In other words, it is a big place with lots of rooms and all types of guests. Mostly, however, it felt like a families with kids (mostly teens and younger) place. We were told by other guests that it can get crowded but that wasn't our experience.

We were three in a room with two queens. The view from the room was beautiful and we enjoyed sunsets from the small deck in the evening. Even when we slept in a little the cleaning staff came in to tidy up after we left. The bathroom was a little worn but the beds were very comfortable.

The hotel had some nice features. The gym was well equipped (and free), the buffet breakfast was everything you could want and reasonably priced (ask for Roberta's station - she takes care of you like a Mom) and the little shop has a good range of things you might need (also at good prices). You walk right out of the lobby into the pool area and the pool area leads right out to a strip of beach that takes you right to the main beach. You can rent deck chairs with wind protectors on the beach for $25 a day, if you wish.

The location really appealed to me. The hotel is next to a park with some wildlife, across the street from a sailing club that offers lessons and right on the beach. There are some very good restaurants nearby: Cesare, Columbia.

The staff were great, all of them. We were treated nicely by the cleaning staff, the maintenance people, the front desk, the ladies in the shop, the guys watching the pool, Roberta and everyone else we came into contact with that was working for the hotel. Impressive.

I liked this hotel and managed to relax while we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingColoradans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

This time of year we do have many families and although there is a mixture of business people most of our guests have one thing in common; they enjoy the beach and the weather. The views, sunsets, a walk in the park are all part of the relaxing environment we promote. All of our associates are genuinely friendly and caring. They enjoy being a part of your experience. Roberta truly enjoys the day to day interaction with our guests; she is a star. Sheraton Fitness is programed by Core Performance and was designed with our guests in mind. The hotel and the area both have a wonderful variety of restaurants. Sleeping on a Sheraton “Sweet Sleeper” bed does make for a restful evening. We hope you will return to our tranquil Island next time you want to relax and recharge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#11 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $197 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing