We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Nice Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited Clearwater recently along with tons of other Phillies fans and stayed for 4 nights. The lobby is ok, kind of stark and doesn't really invite lots of sitting. There are 3 restaurants located there along with a 24 hour convenience shop and another shop for clothing and touristy items. The room was average, though our view of the tennis courts also included the beach and ocean so we were pleased with that. The bed was super comfortable and I had my best sleep on our road trip. We were also provided with bottled water everyday, a welcome treat. The bathroom is very tiny and claustrophobic though, and the sink area is outside of the bathroom. There was virtually no room for toiletries until my husband moved the coffee pot. We loved the beach and the fact that we could rent great chairs and a cabana/canopy type cover. The hotel also provides a truck that is driven up and down the beach all day, where you can buy drinks, snacks, salads, and sandwiches. A definite plus. We enjoyed the location, away from the hustle and bustle of spring break, and we found many nice restaurants along the main road in the opposite direction from that craziness. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful. While it's obviously no fault of the hotel that people walk in the hallways and make lots of noise very early and/or very late, I think that housekeeping could be informed to keep it down. They were shouting at each other quite early one morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylpd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you recognized our associates as they sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. I appreciate that you enjoyed the location. We are committed to the quality of our hotel and are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep it updated. Yes! Going south of the hotel instead of north is a lot less congested and I agree there are some excellent restaurants. I am sure you were just enjoying the weather after a long winter. Our beach is large and private and the beach buggy delivers drinks and food. I have shared your comment with the Director of Housekeeping on the noise level of our Housekeeping staff; we always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their concerns with us so we can continue to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    935
    329
    124
    46
See reviews for
908
737
47
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We just left after a 4-night stay at the Sheraton Sand Key in March 2014. We were in Clearwater for spring training, to see the Philadelphia Phillies. This Sheraton hotel is really just average; the lobby, common areas and rooms seem quite a bit outdated, but they are clean. Our room, on the second floor facing the parking lot and tennis courts, was very small but clean. The sink is outside the bathroom, which is odd, and the bathroom itself was positively tiny.

The beach is very nice, but quite a walk from the hotel. The pool was surprisingly small for a "resort" hotel, as was the hot tub. I found the heated pool too cool to use on a 75-degree sunny day. The hot tub was so crowded there was often no room in it! There are no lounge chairs on the beach, unless you want to pay $20 for them. There seemed to be plenty of chairs around the pool, however. The beach bar was nice and made some of the best pina coladas I've ever had!
We ate no meals at the hotel so I cannot speak to the quality of them.

The lack of free internet, the lack of a fridge in the rooms and the fact that the hotel wants to charge for a rollaway bed every night made me feel like Sheraton was really nickel and dime-ing us. We stayed at a Hampton Inn in South Carolina on our way to Florida, which had free internet, a free breakfast, a fridge and microwave in the room and they upgraded us to a suite...and it was much cheaper than the Sheraton.

Overall, this hotel got the job done, but luxury resort is is absolutely not.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherbessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Your feedback is important to us as we strive to improve our products, services, and overall customer experience. The internet is something most all guests require nowadays. It is one of our standards to have a fee in place, however, just recently we have modified this in a small way and all internet in the lobby or The Mainstay Tavern at The Link @ Sheraton Experienced with Microsoft (the Link) is provided free of charge. This may be a step in the direction of providing it complimentary in all guestrooms, but for now it remains as a fee based service. We are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep the hotel updated and will continue to do so to fix those worn out areas. We are in the first phase of putting new refrigerators in the rooms at this time and will finish when occupancy allows. The lobby was just refurbished completely in 2013. The Cabanas do not belong to the hotel and are a concession so we do not set the prices. We do ensure the prices are in line with other cabana concessions in the area. We do have lounge chairs for the beach but they can only be taken as far as the end of the volleyball court. We are a resort and most of the resorts in this area charge a resort fee; we have chosen not to have that charge and only charge for the amenities used. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and hopefully the weather was good and your team won. You are correct, we are not a luxury resort we are a beach resort. Perhaps you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you when you are in a planning a beach get-away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is the best resort combo I have stayed at in some time. I had a king room which was spacious, clean and met my needs in every way. I even got a view of the Gulf. But the real treat was the bed which is as comfortable as any I have ever slept on in a hotel. As a matter of fact, it may be the best I've ever slept on and that's saying a lot.

The meals were excellent and although all of the meals were prepared for a large group setting, the quality and taste and service were equal to a private meal at any restaurant.

Even though there were other groups staying at the hotel at the same time, I believe we were still made to feel special and that we were getting all of the hotel's attention.

Very helpful and professional staff was the cherry on top. I've attended other business meeting where we have spent a lot of money, but I must say that the overall experience at the Sheraton Sand Key was one of the best I've ever had.

Highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBruce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I am pleased that we succeeded in making your experience memorable. The meeting space at Sheraton Sand Key was designed with you and the other attendees in mind. I want to thank you for sharing your comments with us as it is very important for us to hear the voice of our customer. Our culinary staff takes pride in what they prepare whether it be for a table of one or a group of 200. The exceptional service and personal touches our associates give our guest are because you are a VIP and you deserve to be treated as so. Our “Sweet Sleeper Beds” are made with your comfort in mind. Our beach is beautiful and I hope you enjoyed a breathtaking sunset or two. We hope one day you will return for a relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is an older hotel..but I wanted to advise ya'll that the bathroom sinks are not lowered and set in too far and out of reach for a wheelchair. The room doors are not automatic, you need the repair man to alter the door so you can get a wheelchair in the room BUT the hallway into the room is not wide enough for a wheelchair. This hotels has the majority of handicapped rooms with King beds which renders the room fit for for one person, there isn't enough space to have 2 people in this room. The washroom is large and the roll in showers don't drain properly and you end up with 2" puddles outside of the shower.

Room Tip: The food and the staff are fantastic....the ADA rooms arent
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bflomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service; for not doing so I sincerely apologize. Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your recent stay. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. Insight such as yours will only aid us in attaining our goals. We have ensured our ADA features are compliant, however, we will be revisiting the areas you mentioned as well as outline potential solutions. We thank you for taking the time to share your comments as the guest experience is critical to us. We do hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel location is great as it is just across the bridge from a very busy area. Beach is a huge area in which to locate. But if you want the water, you will have to trek for a bit. Pool is easily accessed and great for getting sun. Love that security really works to keep out non-patrons from parking or using the pool facilities. Rooms are typical and the bathrooms really are tiny, read that as truly functional not for lounging.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Yes…being on the Island of Sand Key our beach is a bit of a walk to the water’s edge. It is away from the hotel and the outside world and definitely gives you an Island experience. Of course Clearwater is just minutes away for those looking for more activities. Your positive comment on security is very true. Our guest’s needs are our priority. We need to keep the Sheraton Sand Key as tranquil as possible. We also need to ensure our guest at least have a lounge chair for lounging. We do hope you will be planning another relaxing stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Situated from the hustle and bustle, The Sheraton Sand Key offers all that you need. Staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble; food is delicious. Amenities are clean, well kept and the beach less than two minutes walk away. All in all a very relaxing week.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 98AmandaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Our beach is lovely, relaxing, and private. The only noise you will hear on the beach is from the birds and the surf. You are correct; it is never a burden to make our guests happy. Our associates enjoy letting you know that you are special. They genuinely enjoy making emotional connections with our guests. Our housekeeping and grounds keepers, although behind the scenes, take much pride in keeping the hotel clean and looking beautiful. I am so pleased that you went home relaxed and probably recharged. I do hope the next time you realize you need rest, relaxation and a little extra care, you will return to “Our Island”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We chose Sand Key to get away from the hustle and bustle or Clearwater beach. We showed up not really knowing what to expect. We found numerous activities for our 10 & 12 year old children. The staff was very friendly, the food and drinks were great and the amenities were top notch. The only problem I found was the price we paid and the size of the room. I realize it is a beach side resort at the beginning of peak season (spring break) but our room was very small. Otherwise everything was great.

Stefan C
Colorado

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
It is very satisfying to hear that your expectations were fulfilled during your stay. We do promote relaxation and we are surrounded with nature’s soothing sights and sounds which assist us in doing just that. The beach is a great place to connect with your family with no outside intrusions. Our associates truly care and do their best to ensure that you enjoy your time with us. It sounds as if was a great family vacation. Please trust that these room rates are very competitive compared to the other hotels in the area. We do often run special rates at other times of the year. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.0 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing