We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference with many Benefits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Conference with many Benefits”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I attended a conference here in October, although I stayed at a friends apartment. On lunch breaks I enjoyed the restaurants specials in a take out box and to go sodas so I could lay out at the pool. Pool and beach were gorgeous. Staff was nice. I would like to go back for vacation. The town was a lot of fun at night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank clyonsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are very pleased that your conference brought you to the Sheraton Sand Key and this area. We will look forward to your vacation visit. October is truly the perfect weather and this area becomes very tranquil. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    960
    337
    126
    49
See reviews for
931
758
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Checking out tomorrow - Room was great, staff helping with the check in said we could find out if we could extend our stay, then decided to just not remember that they mentioned that we could inquire an extension, bluntly with her Santa hat says “ Nope, we are sold out” – just rude and condescending. Strange how some got an upgrade with staff discounted rooms, we booked with air miles, and were told a definite NO for upgrades. Seems they are bias and discriminate depending upon what culture the people are. No refrigerator, no microwave, small bathroom, too much noise from surrounding rooms. The guy taking our luggage up was gracious, so were the other guest services staff, also the restaurant downstairs. The staff at the Reception may need to treat people better. Will not generalize, just the lady with the Santa hat, needs a refresher course in knowing how to politely inform people. Loved the location, will stay again; though wish all rooms have a fridge the next time we visit. Every hotel we stay has a fridge, so did not really ask if this room had it, or would not have stayed. Thank you, love Clearwater and this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJD352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are sincerely pleased that you choose the Sheraton Sand Key for your stay, the location is lovely … thank you. I have forwarded your concerns on to the appropriate department; they will address the issue with the Front Desk Attendant, and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. That is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. Please be assured we would have upgraded you at your request if possible. You will find at many resorts these charges such as for refrigerators are included in a nightly resort fee. We have opted not to do that and only charge for usage should the guest so choose. We are now working on a project to have refrigerators in most of the rooms sometime in 2014. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Check in was quick and easy and our room was on the beach/tennis court side with an awesome view. Room was clean and very comfortable - only complaint was no fridge in the room, which we like to have for drinks, especially on a beach vacation.
The hotel is located on the beach but it is a little jaunt to the actual water. Not really a big deal to us, as most hotels do not sit directly on the beach anyway. The beach is FULL of shells and your kids will love finding them here. We brought home 3 bags full - small and large. You can find them all over, not just in the early morning like some beaches. Pool area is very nice, with a little snack bar/bar available. Pool is deep - 4' - 8 1/2' and I did not see a children's pool - which was fine for us.
Restaurants and room service were both very good and service was above usual. We would definitely stay here again. Within walking distance to a small strip mall, with a convenience store and some souvenir shops. Will need to take a trolley or cab to Pier 60, which is very close, but too far to walk for most - especially over a very long bridge. Probably one of the best beach locations for a hotel as far as I could tell. Most are not directly on the beach and some back up to the bay and not the ocean.

Room Tip: Be sure to sign up as a Starwood Preferred Guest on the Sheraton website (free) to get a better ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. I hope many happy memories were made; I enjoyed hearing about those mornings on the beach shelling and finding different treasures daily along the shoreline, it is so peaceful and fun for the children. I hope you also had the occasion to enjoy a beautiful sunset or two. At this time you can request a refrigerator in your room for a small daily charge. You will find at many resorts these charges are included in a nightly resort fee. We have opted not to do that and only charge for usage should the guest so choose. We are now working on a project to have refrigerators in most of the rooms sometime in 2014. The beach is a little walk from the shoreline, it gives that island feeling. We hope we be your choice again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

You don't even have to leave the Resort. Our car was parked all week. We love this place. It has many restaurants and some shops. It has a beautiful pool that is You can stay by the pool or go to the beach. Absolutely Beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Congratulations! May you share many sunrises and sunsets together. The beaches of Sand Key are very private; you can even find spots where you feel like you are on your own private Island. It is serene and the sunsets are beautiful a perfect setting for romantic memories to be made. We hope you will make a return visit in the future … Maybe an anniversary so you can add to those memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa AZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed for two nights at this resort. Her son in law works for Starwood so we stayed with his discount. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to a room with a beautiful ocean view. The food was great and every one of the staff were very friendly and
extremely helpful. The beach was very quiet as all the neighboring buildings are condos. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassySueaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and your room assignment. Our associates do truly care, their main concern is ensuring that your stay is all that you anticipated. The beaches of Sand Key are tranquil and views are beautiful, a wonderful place to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahomet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Loved the hotel -----checking in was easy. The doorman helped with our luggage he brought it up on a cart for us and on the way to room showed us where everything was located. Room was great had a view of the water and a small balcony to sit out on. Bed was nice and comfortable. Had booked 1 night and after arriving changed to 2 nights. Restaurant on site with a small store across from it for necessities a bit pricey. Didn't use the pool was chilly when we were there but looked nice and clean. Had a hot tub nice and warm. Beach is next to hotel but a bit of a walk to the water. Very private area. We had a car so we drove to a restaurant to eat but there are no restaurants near the hotel. Nice buffet breakfast at the hotel for a fee. Had everything you could want for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyMahomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I was thrilled to hear that you loved the hotel and that you were assisted properly upon arrival, good first impressions are important. I am sorry the weather was a bit chilly, if you are brave it is a heated pool. We do have some great area restaurants. It was unfortunate that you were not informed that there are several nice restaurants just a 5 minute walk across the street. I was also pleased that you stayed an extra day, we hope you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I like to stay at Sheraton Hotels when I am away as most of the gyms in Sheratons are updated and surpass all but the most expensive hotels. This Sheraton was no exception. Frankly, the hotel itself is quite 80's and 90's, it can use some updating in the lobby and the rooms are about average, clean but nothing spectacular. What I found particularly good about the hotel were the staff. They were all super accommodating, assisting me as I worked with a client by photocopying without charge, letting us stay past check out time, and being very friendly in a very genuine manner. My client had a dog and they were happy to have the dog stay in the lobby as we worked. The hotel staff even brought water for the dog. So I would stay in this hotel again, not because of its luxury or the quality of its amenities (although it does have a nice pool and beach access) but because of the staff and the friendliness of all we came into contact with. The area is remote but that is fine if you want a quiet holiday or time away in a not that crowded location. There is one restaurant across the street, I think it is called Columbia, with very interesting Cuban food. I would consider coming back on my own for a few days of rest and relaxation in a quiet locale.

Room Tip: I had a nice room with a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We appreciate your comments and were delighted that you enjoyed Sheraton Fitness programed by Core Performance. We are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep the hotel updated and will continue to do so. The lobby was completely renovated in 2013. New “Sweet Sleeper” beds and mattresses have replaced the old ones in all rooms .There are other projects going on at this time to update the rooms. Our associates are the heart of our hotel they genuinely care. They do all they can to ensure that your needs are fulfilled so that your experience is what you anticipated. It pleases us to know that it is our associates that will bring you back for another visit to our tranquil location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing