We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are just back from a stay in this hotel (25 June - 3 July) We thoroughly enjoyed our
stay for the following reasons;
* Efficient and prompt check in (even though room was not ready however we did arrive early) Check in is 3pm and it was ready when we returned from our lunch
* We stayed in a King Suite and it was huge. Two big windows the length of the room looking out on the tennis courts. We also had a fridge and coffee making machine. Bathroom was big with two sinks and a nice hot shower. Plenty of towels, shower gels etc although we did have our own toiletries with us. Housekeeping did a great job each day. The A/C can be a bit loud at first but it is so nice when you come in from the heat to cool down. The walls in the rooms are very thin and some people obviously dont respect other people by lowering their tones or even their TV's
* The food in the Mainstay Tavern is delicious especially the Nachos - I loved them. The staff are so polite, friendly and efficient. I would like to especially thank Adam and Nate for the hospitality and the strawberry daiquiri's!
* The pool is small but it is still nice to get in to cool off. There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool area we never had a problem getting two together either beside the pool or under the trees. We did notice that there wasnt many umbrellas (the tables with umbrellas were always taken by families from early) for those that did not to be out in the glorious sunshine all day long - maybe it would be nice to have more available. The attendants at the pool area were mannerly and courteous.
* We did have a hired car and never had a problem finding parking even when the hotel was very busy with conferences.

I would return to this hotel again and would like to thank everyone for a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for the great review. It is our goal to ensure you enjoy your holiday. We appreciate your comments on our associates; they truly enjoy going above and beyond to make your stay special. I will pass on your comments to Nate and Adam; they are two shinning stars. I will mention the umbrellas to the appropriate person. We will look forward to your next relaxing visit to tranquil Sand Key.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,644 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We liked the location away from the busy tourist area. The room was a good size. The staff was excellent and went out of their way for us. The pool could have been bigger. Nice big sand area for volleyball and other activities for the kids. There is a nice gym with view on top floor. Cafe and bar at the pool was great and the beach was wonderful. The bar inside was a good alternative to the restaurant. I wish there had been a refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We feel as though we have the best of both worlds. We have a very tranquil environment here on Sand Key, however, just over the bridge is Clearwater Beach. Clearwater Beach does have much to do. I understand your feeling on the refrigerator. You will find at many resorts these charges are included in a nightly resort fee. We have opted not to do that, and only charge for usage should the guest so choose. Thank you for your comments on our staff. Our associates do truly care about extending excellent service. We hope you will come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left customer service was fantastic from front desk to poolside to everyone in the restaurants. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Pool, jacuzzi, and beach great. We even got free all you can eat buffet breakfast every morning of our stay in Rusty's, one of their lovely restaurants! When we called for extra towels, they were delivered within minutes of our call. Hotel is located in a quieter section on the beach, but still close drive to many nice restaurants. My son's also loved the fitness center and (free) tennis courts.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you; I truly enjoyed your review. Our associates truly care and do their best to ensure that you enjoy your time with us. We appreciate that you recognized them. The fitness Center has quite the view! I am pleased that your son’s enjoyed their time here also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms are very nice, and also the internal areas, but this hotel is slightly let down by its pool area. When the hotel is very busy its is very very cramped (especially of its not a great day and people arnt venturing down to the sea, as happened during our stay).

The bar also lacks a bit of atmosphere and is quite sterile (although all the people who work in there are very freindly and service is good.

And I know its already been said but every hotel these days really should have free WiFi..

Other than that a great hotel / location to spend a few sunny days..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomoBerks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and our associates. Our tavern was just renovated earlier this year and it was meant to have sleek clean lines. We are constantly updating and I am sure a larger pool is on the list. You are correct… sunny days are the key when you are staying here to enjoy the beach. We will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made a last minute reservation for the 4th of July weekend. We checked in on the 3rd of July and received an amazing room #806 - top floor, harbor view -- which was VERY important for the Clearwater fireworks that took place over the harbor on the 4th. We also had a partial view of the gulf from the balcony AND we overlooked Sand Key Park. As long as you didn't look straight down, to see the roof of the rest of the hotel and the garbage bins, it was a fantastic view. Really, it was! Also, the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable.

You could talking, the tv and other noises through the adjoining door from the next room. Which wasn't a problem most of the time. However, on our last night, unfortunately there was a baby crying half the night and we heard EVERY word the parents were saying to each other. Let's just say, everyone was a bit cranky. So, privacy might be a bit of a concern.

The pool was usually overrun by kids -- so you have to like to be splashed, and not really want to swim but to just hang out in one place to really like this pool. Definitely not for couples wanting alone time. My stepdaughter would have love it - unfortunately she wasn't able to come with us as planned.

We did have a blast meeting new people and watching the kids play in the pool. The hotel is very lax about drinks in and around the pool area. There is a great bar with friendly service and several days we would get a drink and then get in the pool with it -- many properties won't allow this. There were attendants coming around straightening out chairs, cleaning up, conducting the kids camp, which was very popular, and they even bar service to the lounge chairs. Which, speaking of the lounge chairs -- they are plenty. Not one day did we have to search for two chairs together. Although there was an outdoor cafe, we didn't eat here, but the menu was very family friendly.

The beach was relatively clean, although the closer you got to the jetty down by the end of Sand Key, the more trash we saw. The actual water is quite a distance away from the hotel. The beach in front of the hotel has volleyball nets and acres of nice sand, although no one was really using that area. Most simply traversed through that area to the beach area closer to the water. There were jet ski rentals, chair and umbrella rentals right there, although we didn't use their services, it was nice to know they are there and we may use them on a future visit.

We did go down to the water during low tide and the tidal pools proved to be an excellent shelling area. Even in the surf there were lots of whole shells rolling around -- kids were have a blast shelling. Considering we are accustomed to shelling in Sanibel and Captiva, we were quite surprised at the number of whole shells and the variety. Definitely a highlight for us.

Another highlight was the ability to walk to several things. First we walked through Sand Key Park and, as nature lovers and photographers, we were able to see and photograph many birds and flowers. The walk over the bridge, although it looks like it would be boring and hot was a lot of fun. There's a constant breeze, so even on a day when the temps hit 99, it was still tolerable. It was nice to get a birds eye view of both the gulf side and the harbor side on the return trip across. We also walked down to the restaurants several nights in the strip mall next to the Marriott -- all were wonderful and it was nice to not have to drive to a restaurant back up in Clearwater with all the traffic. The restaurant, Rusty's, in the hotel was amazing too! For a quick bite the other restaurant inside the hotel was ok...nothing great, just typical bar food, but they do have happy hour specials and some tasty (free) snack mix.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would come back. Definitely a great place for families or those looking to get away to a beach in the Clearwater area without having to deal with the crowds.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms have an amazing view too! #806 has a partial view of the gulf and full harbor vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenMcHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

What a pleasure to read your review. You definitely covered many of the reasons why you would want to stay here at the Sheraton Sand Key. That is a great room to watch the fireworks! We are constantly renovating and trying to find a solution to the noise issue. Even though there were many families over the Forth of July, there are times it is very tranquil here. Thank you and we will look forward to your return visit, and be sure to bring your stepdaughter with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The private beach is stunning! Rent two chairs with umbrella for only $25/day. Spa on the 9th floor was a great price: $145 for an 85 min massage! Within walking distance of great eateries. Rooms were fair - no fridge, but coffee maker with Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea. Staff was some of the friendliest hotel people we've ever met! Give yourself plenty of time to get here - it's right next to the public beaches, so traffic and pedestrians can be intense.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Our beach does give you that Island feel. I am sure if you have driven over the bridge to Sand Key and looked at the breathtaking view that you realize what a small Island we are. Yes! Our associates are genuinely friendly and truly enjoy providing excellent customer service. We do have some very nice restaurants in the area with a choice of many different cuisines. There is much more to explore…I look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for our holiday getaway because we are Starwood members and the reviews and photos of this hotel. I have both positive and negative thoughts to share. I will start with the positives: The staff is great, always made us feel welcome. The elevators were quick and efficient. Our room had a balcony, small, but, we had one to see the fireworks. The room was average but the bed was great! Always love the Sheraton bedding and pillows! The shampoo, soap etc was good quality. Housekeeping was wonderful, always polite. Rusty's restaurant was delicious. We ate dinner there both nights and really enjoyed the food, atmosphere with piano playing, and the staff. We also grabbed a bite at the patio snack bar which was nice, and the mainstay tavern. The air conditioning was always kept very cold inside, which coming in from outside after getting poured on was not always a great thing. The trolly access was great because we hired a driver for airport transfer and did not rent a car. That was cheap too, $9.00 for both of us for an all days pass. Quite a large area of beach access(although it rained both days we were there so we tried to get out to the water between the downpours!) We made the best of the days we were there. Now to the negatives or suggestions for improvement: The pool is very small, very small. There was many children staying at the property and when they were all in the pool, it was crowded. A larger pool would be a great upgrade. (maybe utilizing the sand outlet that leads to the beach) The sand outlet to the beach, which after the rain was pretty flooded could possibly be used for a nice outdoor bar with Live music. The pool bar was small, not in a very great location and closed very early. There was no place to get a nice drink or glass of wine after dinner to sit outside unless you were by the pool with alot of kids, and got your drink from inside and brought it out. Because it rained, everyone seemed to be inside at the tavern or restaurant with no windows or view, with their kids... That was a big disappointment for us traveling without children. We did not want to sit inside on our vacation to the Sunshine State. The beach is VERY shelly and matted down sand. I am not sure if the rain had anything to do with it but, really couldn't walk without flip-flops or shoes and I expected the water to be "clear" water... was difficult to take the walk to the water in that kind of sand. I feel, all hotels now should offer free Wi-Fi, I did not want to pay $9.95 for 1 days access. For the room price, there should be a complimentary breakfast daily. I would also recommend a coffee and tea station offered in the lobby (free of charge) for guests especially on chilly rainy days and nights. We did not rent a car for our stay but, it seemed that the lot was always full and people kept driving around the lot looking for spots and getting out with beach chairs, coolers etc... I assume they were not guests of the hotel but noticed there were guards at the driveway checking cars as they came in. My last disappointment was the Starwood preferred club level amenities. We upgraded our first night to include the club for $40.00. The room on the 9th floor for club members was nice but, could be upgraded to be more elegant instead of cafeteria style feeling. It was nice because it was all windows but, the view was not that great. I was surprised to see the both times we went up (once for breakfast and once for a few glasses of wine before dinner) that cartoons were on the TV which ruined the ambiance of a club level social. Our experience at breakfast was worse with VERY loud obnoxious guests that kept bumping out table without apologies and using offensive language. It was not large enough to accommodate the amount of people that were there and families with strollers made it even more crowded. The staff in the club were nice and polite, and the food and drinks were always fresh. I just didn't seem to enjoy the luxury of it due to the other issues.

I would like to say that we did enjoy our time just getting away from work and daily responsibilities for a few days but, would not return to this hotel due to the disappointments above. The pictures and description of the hotel is way better than what it really is, but Rusty's dinner was the best part of our trip. I would definitely return there for dinner when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Formytwogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I apologize that your stay did not meet all of your expectations. I am sure the rain put a damper on your beach vacation, and you are correct… the beach was matted down and the water stirred up due to the rain. I did speak to appropriate person in charge of The Club Lounge about the cartoons; it is against hotel policy to ever have cartoons on in the lounge. I was told there was one family who kept taking the remote and turning them on. It is not typical for the Club Lounge to be that crowded however, the Forth of July brings many families. Hopefully you will consider returning at a much quieter time as we actually have a very relaxing environment. We are aware how many options there are in the area for lodging and we greatly appreciate your loyalty as a Preferred SPG member. Thank you for recognizing our associates as they sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. We also appreciate the kind remarks regarding the cuisine in Rusty’s Bistro. We do have an award winning culinary staff, professional service and a relaxed atmosphere. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the comfort level of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.8 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#11 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $253 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, bedfinder AG, Booking.com, Starwood, HotelPower, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing