We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth of July Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fourth of July Getaway”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for our holiday getaway because we are Starwood members and the reviews and photos of this hotel. I have both positive and negative thoughts to share. I will start with the positives: The staff is great, always made us feel welcome. The elevators were quick and efficient. Our room had a balcony, small, but, we had one to see the fireworks. The room was average but the bed was great! Always love the Sheraton bedding and pillows! The shampoo, soap etc was good quality. Housekeeping was wonderful, always polite. Rusty's restaurant was delicious. We ate dinner there both nights and really enjoyed the food, atmosphere with piano playing, and the staff. We also grabbed a bite at the patio snack bar which was nice, and the mainstay tavern. The air conditioning was always kept very cold inside, which coming in from outside after getting poured on was not always a great thing. The trolly access was great because we hired a driver for airport transfer and did not rent a car. That was cheap too, $9.00 for both of us for an all days pass. Quite a large area of beach access(although it rained both days we were there so we tried to get out to the water between the downpours!) We made the best of the days we were there. Now to the negatives or suggestions for improvement: The pool is very small, very small. There was many children staying at the property and when they were all in the pool, it was crowded. A larger pool would be a great upgrade. (maybe utilizing the sand outlet that leads to the beach) The sand outlet to the beach, which after the rain was pretty flooded could possibly be used for a nice outdoor bar with Live music. The pool bar was small, not in a very great location and closed very early. There was no place to get a nice drink or glass of wine after dinner to sit outside unless you were by the pool with alot of kids, and got your drink from inside and brought it out. Because it rained, everyone seemed to be inside at the tavern or restaurant with no windows or view, with their kids... That was a big disappointment for us traveling without children. We did not want to sit inside on our vacation to the Sunshine State. The beach is VERY shelly and matted down sand. I am not sure if the rain had anything to do with it but, really couldn't walk without flip-flops or shoes and I expected the water to be "clear" water... was difficult to take the walk to the water in that kind of sand. I feel, all hotels now should offer free Wi-Fi, I did not want to pay $9.95 for 1 days access. For the room price, there should be a complimentary breakfast daily. I would also recommend a coffee and tea station offered in the lobby (free of charge) for guests especially on chilly rainy days and nights. We did not rent a car for our stay but, it seemed that the lot was always full and people kept driving around the lot looking for spots and getting out with beach chairs, coolers etc... I assume they were not guests of the hotel but noticed there were guards at the driveway checking cars as they came in. My last disappointment was the Starwood preferred club level amenities. We upgraded our first night to include the club for $40.00. The room on the 9th floor for club members was nice but, could be upgraded to be more elegant instead of cafeteria style feeling. It was nice because it was all windows but, the view was not that great. I was surprised to see the both times we went up (once for breakfast and once for a few glasses of wine before dinner) that cartoons were on the TV which ruined the ambiance of a club level social. Our experience at breakfast was worse with VERY loud obnoxious guests that kept bumping out table without apologies and using offensive language. It was not large enough to accommodate the amount of people that were there and families with strollers made it even more crowded. The staff in the club were nice and polite, and the food and drinks were always fresh. I just didn't seem to enjoy the luxury of it due to the other issues.

I would like to say that we did enjoy our time just getting away from work and daily responsibilities for a few days but, would not return to this hotel due to the disappointments above. The pictures and description of the hotel is way better than what it really is, but Rusty's dinner was the best part of our trip. I would definitely return there for dinner when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Formytwogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I apologize that your stay did not meet all of your expectations. I am sure the rain put a damper on your beach vacation, and you are correct… the beach was matted down and the water stirred up due to the rain. I did speak to appropriate person in charge of The Club Lounge about the cartoons; it is against hotel policy to ever have cartoons on in the lounge. I was told there was one family who kept taking the remote and turning them on. It is not typical for the Club Lounge to be that crowded however, the Forth of July brings many families. Hopefully you will consider returning at a much quieter time as we actually have a very relaxing environment. We are aware how many options there are in the area for lodging and we greatly appreciate your loyalty as a Preferred SPG member. Thank you for recognizing our associates as they sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. We also appreciate the kind remarks regarding the cuisine in Rusty’s Bistro. We do have an award winning culinary staff, professional service and a relaxed atmosphere. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the comfort level of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    978
    342
    128
    52
See reviews for
960
768
51
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Hotel right on beautiful beach. Pool is quite small for huge hotel. Lots of restaurants to eat in the hotel and walking distance. Used suite award to get suite room. Older hotel - nice spacious suite room with bar fridge. Free parking and no resort fees. Got government rate of $93.00. Great price for hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It is very satisfying to hear that your expectations were fulfilled during your stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed the location. The beaches are beautiful; I do hope you got a chance to see a great sunset. Please come back when you can stay longer…there really is a lot to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

No free wi-fi?! Wow.
Bathrooms ridiculously tiny, shower heads mount for really really short people. Food mediocre. Pool small. Pool bar opens late and closes way too early so there's no fun here after 7. The service is great, though. I know the redesign would be challenging but this hotel would gain in attractiveness if it offered free wi-fi and nice poolside coctail service after dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saroo72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We feel as though we have the best of both worlds. We have a very tranquil environment here on Sand Key, however, just over the bridge is Clearwater Beach. Clearwater Beach does have much to do and was recently voted Florida’s # one beach town for 2013. I understand your feeling on the Wi Fi. You will find at many resorts these charges are included in a nightly resort fee. We have opted not to do that, and only charge for usage should the guest so choose. Our associates are all about extending excellent service. We hope you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Two stars for a friendly staff (guard, bellman, and one of the ladies at the front desk) and clean hotel, but that's about it. The rooms are tiny, the walls are paper thin, and the beach is a pretty long walk away if you are carrying more than a towel. The money they spent on marketing was a good investment because the pictures are gorgeous, but the reality is that it is an older hotel with a small, crowded pool that desperately needs a refresh. We requested a mini-fridge (medical purposes) for our room when we made our reservation, but one was not available at check in, so they said they would provide a cooler and ice until a fridge was available. Then, they said they did not have any coolers and we would be put on a waiting list. We checked out after about two hours and found alternate lodging.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmesyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are pleased you recognized our associates as they sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. I am disappointed that you had to leave after only being here for two hours; we apologize for the inconveniences. I have shared your issues with not having the refrigerator you reserved to the appropriate department manager. It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. For not meeting our goals and your expectations I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Sheraton Sand Key was one of the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was exceptional, but the staff and service was second to none. Everyone was pleasant and accommodating too! We stayed in Room 819 with a straight view of the Gulf and it was gorgeous. The beach is immaculate and the pool area beautiful! We loved every thing about this hotel and will return here for sure!

Room Tip: I would think you would have a better view on the upper floors. We were on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ja3lenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It is very satisfying to hear that your expectations were fulfilled during your stay. Our associates truly care and do their best to ensure that you enjoy your time with us. It is nice to hear you appreciate that our main concern is you. We hope you will be planning another beach get away with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The rooms here are spacious and comfortable for a family of four. Get a gulf view; it's worth it!
The hotel is in a perfect location with access to a beautiful quiet beach. We saw dolphins every day, and there was a sea turtle nest roped off right there. The inside dining options are good, but the poolside cafe and bar are disappointing. The pool bar makes the weakest drinks I have ever had ( and I am a light weight). Don't waste your money there. The poolside cafe closed before six pm so there was no place to eat without getting dried off and changed which was frustrating. It was easy to take the trolley into town for dinner or to go to the aquarium. In fact we never used are car once we arrived which was nice.
The front desk staff was fantastic. The offered advice on local places to eat and were super friendly. Most of the pool staff was also fantastic except for the grumpy guy who was at the pool each morning. He seemed to dislike all the children and spent his time looking for things to give people a hard time for. It was really unsettling to see an employee behave this way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravelanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Seeing the dolphins is a treat and is supposed to bring good luck. It can be paradise here; the views are breathtaking and the beach has such a calming effect. We are pleased that you enjoyed your interaction with most of the associates. I have addressed the associate at the pool and your suggestions with the appropriate manager. I passed on your food and beverage issues also. I do hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed June 22 - 29, 2013. We had a view overlooking the tennis courts with the gulf in the far background. Our room was nice and clean and was well maintained. There was no microwave and the refrigerator was $5 dollar a day charge, plus tax. The bedding and pillows were nice. Bathroom and area was small but adequate and clean. The pool was also small and although there were allot of people at the hotel, the pool never seemed crowded. Also, pool chairs were always available. The walk to the beach was kind of a long one but it was ok with us, we like exercise :). Also, the pool staff had buckets and toys to borrow for the beach. We also enjoyed the beverage and snack cart at the beach. Umbrellas and loungers are also available at the beach for $25 a day. We rented them for one but mostly brought our own beach chairs. Deb at the beach cart was very friendly, in fact all of the staff was very friendly and helpful and the room service was fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing