We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort with tennis courts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice resort with tennis courts”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I and two adult sons stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend after a graduation/reunion in Sarasota. We had a complicated, split reservation, which Brandon, the desk clerk, sorted out quickly. He was also helpful on some other requests. We had rooms on the sixth floor. My wife and I overlooked the pool and the gulf and my sons the inland waterway. The pool side was very noisy and I would select the inland waterway side if I stayed again.

The hotel has three decent tennis courts which are not heavily used. We got a lot of playing time. The beach is about a 200 yard walk over sand and was not that crowded. The pool, on the other hand, was a zoo and we never tried it.

The casual tavern is easy to eat in and had a pool table.

I would recommend this hotel if you like the beach and tennis and you don't want the whole tennis resort experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for recognizing our associates; they sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. I was pleased to hear Brandon was helpful and efficient. I will pass your comment on to him. It sounds as if you enjoyed the location also. If ever in the area again I hope you will consider coming back to the Sheraton Sand Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    950
    337
    124
    48
See reviews for
920
752
49
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is my 10th stay at this hotel for an annual convention. The overall experience was good but mixed.

Rooms- This is the first year I was on the first floor and what a mistake. Very noisy with the crowd from the lobby and elevators. The only good thing about the location was not having to wait an eternity for the elevators. Quality of the room is slightly above average. Noise from adjacent rooms was very bad.

Pool and beach- Plenty of room at the pool and we see the same pool attendants year after year. Beach is a long walk from the hotel. This beach is great for shell hunters- not so much for barefoot walkers but typical of the area. Hotel does have rental umbrellas and chairs and they do provide a cart that has refreshments for sale that comes down to the beach. Outstanding sunsets over the Gulf.

Restaurant- See a separate review of Rusty's. It is great for breakfast buffet.

Meeting facilities- This year was a big disappointment. Not sure if it was the fault of the hotel or the convention staff's requests of the hotel. The first day's meeting rooms were undersized for the attendance. Staff did bring in extra chairs but still was standing room only. The second day another room was set up to have two large sections of chairs separated by a central column. The problem was the rather small projection screen could only be seen by one column of seats. The other half of the room could barely see the screen. In previous years had a great central screen for the entire room, so they really missed the boat this year.

Staff- Hotel staff retention is great. We see the same staff year after year. We have very good service from the attentive staff. This includes the wait staff at the hospitality suites and meeting dinners.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the first floor if you want a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilmtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Your pervious conventions must have been a success for you to return that many times. We hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future. Yes, we do have many associates with longevity. All of our associates really enjoy working with people and it shows. We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared your comments with the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently returned to Sheraton on Sand Key after many years and were reminded of just how unique this property is. In an area that is otherwise bustling and a little intense, the Sheraton Sand Key has plenty of beach, a lot of rooms actually seeing the beach, a nice pool and is just plain low key and pleasant. Sunset is wonderful, drinks were good, Not sure what else to add,

We'll go back again soon.

Room Tip: There were a lot of interesting writeups on rooms and check in. Our experience was a good one, room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Health-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I appreciate your feed back; yes we do actually have a very relaxing environment. I am very pleased that the location was the same as you remember. The views are beautiful and the sun sets are breathtaking. We will be looking forward to your next visit and hope it is sooner then the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights and I was very impressed with the friendliness and customer service of all the staff in the hotel. We wanted a fridge in our room when we checked in as we had a toddler and we wanted to keep some milk in the fridge for him. Within minutes of us checking in and walking into the room, they delivered the fridge to us.
Our rental car ended up having a flat battery one morning because we had left the headlights on (oops). The rental car agency wanted to charge us $50 to come out and jump the car. My husband talked to the hotel staff and they found a staff member who could jump the car for us for free. So I was so happy that we were able to save some money!
The rooms were always clean and the housekeeping staff was always very prompt in serving all of our requests.
The view from the room was awesome, the pool staff were always smiling and the concierge desk gave us some great tips on where to eat and things to do.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as the lower rooms will be noisy from the pool crowd. If possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisaShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very proud of our associates they genuinely care. They love to do everything they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay and they enjoy being part of that positive experience. I am pleased to hear that you were helped with your car. We do hope someday in the future you will return to our smiling faces and beautiful views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth uk.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel ...honeymoon/10 year & now 24th anniversary. We love it and despite what other people say in their reviews this hotel delivers everything that we want.
A big thank you for our room upgrades, champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries a lovely thought and much appreciated.
Rusty's restaurant was fantastic, the food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast buffet great value.
The pool area was relaxing and not too busy. Plenty of sunbeds and space to move around.
The rooms on the 7th floor overlooked the pool and gulf and we were able to sit and watch the sunset. Decor and quality of bed and linen was fantastic, very clean and lots of space to relax.
We enjoyed our short stay and will definitely return in the future, nothing anybody says about this hotel will change our view.
So thank you to all who made us feel special.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn3198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
You are special! Thank you for letting us share in those “special life events” with you. We were pleased that you enjoyed your special amenities. Rusty’s Bistro is so lucky to have an award winning culinary staff and professional servers; they are always honored to hear their efforts were mentioned by our guests. We will look for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel. We used the "club room" and were pleasantly surprised at the value/great service/good food this provided. The employees of the club room were very friendly and helpful with questions about what to see, where to eat/shop. The employees at the towel/pool area were very friendly, as well. I felt good that we had chosen this hotel based on safety, cleanliness and just friendly/helpful employees. Someone is doing a good job at training the staff to ensure customers are satisfied!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamilton54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here at the Sheraton Sand Key. Our associates are trained. It is just not the training; they truly care and it comes from the heart. We hope you will return for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just got back after a weeks stay here. From the moment we drove into the car park until the moment we drove away, our stay here was wonderful!

It was my wifes birthday and they left chocolate coated strawberrys and sparkling wine in our room which was a pleasent suprise on arrival. We had a massive and very comfortable king size bed with a Gulf view (which we paid $40 per night upgrade) the room was clean and modern and has lovely HD flat screen TV. The bathroom was small, but was not a problem, most importantly it was very clean and maids came everyday to change bedding & towels. We also was given complimentry wi-fi during our stay

Just like most reviews on here the staff are just so friendly and helpful and I must make a special mention to David who was one of the deck/pool attendents, what a charming guy, very funny and so helpful Thank You David! (Cheers!!)

Now these are just observations and NOT complaints and have been mentioned in other reviews

Yes the corradors are a bit noisy, and the room walsl are a bit thin and yes we did hear next door rooms nocturnal activities on our first night!!! .. was not really a problem

Yes you do have to walk about 200 yards across sand to get to the ocean, but again was not a problem for us

Yes the pool is on the small side, but was very cool and refreshing

Overall, we really enjoyed our week SSK Resort and would recommend to anyone

Thank you to all the Management & Associates for making it such a special trip!

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a Gulf View, worth it just to see the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreySunshineFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am so very pleased that your gift to your wife was all that you both anticipated. Thank you for recognizing the staff - as I say often, they truly care. I will pass on your comments to David.
We appreciate your review and will look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.0 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing