We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitesand beach with daily dolphin sighting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent a week in this family-friendly hotel, where the kids could daily play at their amazing white sand beach with a thousand birds and whenever we went out with our friend's jetski, we saw wild dolphins swimming right next to us, something our kids will never forget. Very friendly staff, good priced hotel restaurant with great breakfast buffet. If you want to try something different in the evening, try going to Colombia Restaurant, right next to the Marriot which lays across the street from the Sandkey Sheraton. Reservations are needed, as it's a very popular place for locals as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the second time we visit this hotel. Mainly because of the service/staff and its location (beach front).
We went back to Sheraton Sand Key for my birthday and also to relax. We decided to upgrade this time to Club Level. The first day we thought it wasn't worth it, but after attending the cocktail happy hours and that magnificent view from the lounge made it worth while the upgrade.

Negatives:
- No small fridge: We usually like to keep cold bottle of water near by.
- No Drink Cart On the Beach: Apparently they shut it down during the low season, but, it is my opinion that people who visit this resort want a drink cart and want to feel pampered all the time. Also, the closest bar is quite a walk from the beach. I just think this would keep guests happy all year round.

Positives:
- Club level you get news paper every day plus the cocktail hours which can help with the relaxing setting you might be looking for. There are other amenities for club level, but these two made it worth while for us.
- Room Service: Top notch room service and great tasting food. We actually had dinner twice in our room, it was that good. Price wise it is not as expensive, but it does include an 18% tip. Some might not like this, but because we received such an excellent service we did not mind paying it. Expect to pay between $50-$60 US for a dinner for two (depending on your appetite).
- Beach: The sea water was a bit better than last time we were here, so I do have to comment about that. It is still not Caribbean clear sea water, but it is a great beach and I would return just because of the beach.

The hotel seems to be used a lot for weddings and business events, so do expect a lot of activities, though, for us they did not get in our way of relaxing. However, this hotel does seem like a hot business spot, I am guessing because it is not too far from Tampa, but you can still get away to a beautiful beach resort.
We returned to the Salt Rock Grill Restaurant and cannot complain. This time round we tried the Columbia restaurant just south of the resort and that was good as well (but Salt Rock Grill is still the best in our opinion).

The rooms could use a face lift and the club level does not mean you will get a bigger room. Yet, as I said in the other review, we did not come to this hotel to stay in our room all the time. The room is good enough to serve its purpose (to sleep and rest), though I would try and upgrade either the furniture or the wall paper.

The buffet breakfast goes on until 11:30, so that is a plus! I mean, think about it. If you are on vacation, you do not want to be rushing to have breakfast at 8AM or even 9AM, so I think this alone makes this Hotel great for relaxing.

In all we would still return to this Hotel mainly because of the staff. They are nice and very helpful. Though some at first glance can be intimidating, but if you smile at them they will smile back and be helpful.
Also, we are Latinos (and I think one of few on the property as guests) and yet they treated us very well which again gives this hotel even better ratings in our book.

Room Tip: -Try to reserve/pay for your lounge chair on the beach early, the best spots do fill up fast. - Buf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSK1160, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on our property. With all of the resort choices in the Clearwater Beach area we are truly grateful for your return visit! Your kind remarks regarding room service will be passed along to our director of food and beverage. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time of relaxation on the beach! Our apologies about your disappointment of no fridge. We can place one in your guestroom for a charge of $5 per day. We look very forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sand Key in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice room, the view wasn't fantastic however, they did not have any ocean view available. The bell service man was very helpful with tips for restaurants. There wasn't much of an option for lunch, only the pool snack bar. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSK1160, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your review on our property. We are pleased to hear that you had wonderful service from our bell staff and those kind words will be passed along to our guest services department. We look very forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Sand Key, and hope that for your next stay there will be an ocean view room available!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms were very small and the vanity is outside the bathroom. For a family of four, it was hard to move around. The pool was very small as well but otherwise the patio, chairs and tables were nice. The walk to the beach was pretty long, so long I ended up driving to the neighboring beaches. We did eat at the seafood buffet one weekend night and it was pretty reasonable and had nice service. I don't know if I would recommend this or not as the other hotels in the area doesn't seem much better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSK1160, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. We apologize that you were not more pleased during your stay with us. We do consider ourselves fortunate having ten acres of private beach, but find it regrettable that you did not enjoy that walk to the water’s edge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the seafood buffet in Rusty’s Bistro and that you enjoyed the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My fiance and I stayed last week for two nights. We both work in customer service and hospitality but I have to say both of us were completely blown away by the level of customer service and general all round friendiness of the staff. I'm very fussy about cleaniness and I'm always impossible to please but I have to say the room was spotless as well as the hotel common areas, pool area and beach front.

The beach is beautiful and yes it's a bit of a walk but honestly isn't that the beauty of it..you enjoy the stroll and your far enough away from the pool area that it's serene and close enough to go back to the pool bar for drinks.

If you do anything during your stay, please go eat at Rusty's. We ate breakfast and dinner there both days of our stay and we have to say we ate like kings, the food was AMAZING, the service staff were impeccible and the atmosphere is really clean and modern. I wish I could remember the names of our servers as they were all fantastic.

We love the resort so much we spoke with the events manager to find out information about maybe hosting our wedding there, it's a little pricey but honestly considering the quality of the food and the friendliness we might save that bit harder.

The only thing that was a very slight negative is that the security guard will ask you to leave the pool by 9.30pm. We found this a little weird, especially as nobody was in the pool, just a few scattered couples sitting around chatting.

Oh and the associate (sorry I'm terrible with names) who handles the towels at the poolside was very friendly, my fiance and I loved chatting with him and after his shift he even made a point of coming by to say goodbye to us. This is the an example of the friendiness you will find all over the resort.

We live in Orlando and we plan to make the resort a regular getaway for us. We've raving about the resort to our family and friends..and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eirelandogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have stayed at this property many times and it is always a good experience. We had a super view of the pool and Gulf. The beach at this place is GREAT. Pristine, huge and pretty much all your own. Rooms nice with a small table/chairs to put all your stuff on. The cleanliness is unparalleled. They are vacuuming the rooms and hallways every day, important when you drag sand into the building every day. The food is exceptional and the distance to Clearwater Beach is short, and you can take the Trolley. The 24 hour store was a plus. Free parking. Can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor, facing the pool or Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I visited the Shearton Sand Key for a conference. The conferencing facilities were great. The staff were all very friendly and the hotel was smart and stylish. The pool was good, although somewhat small.

There are a couple of shops in the hotel which sell snacks, coffee and beach accessories, plus souvenirs and postcards.

There are also 3 restaurants. I found these to be quite pricey although the food was nice and again the service was really good.

The only downside of the hotel is it's out of the main resort of Clearwater or Clearwater Beach, so there isn't much within walking distance nearby.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor, but I didn't encounter much noise or problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKandtheMadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 98 in Clearwater
1,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $198 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing