We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$290
$269
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Hotel Clearwater Beach Resort(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
$159
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Cabana Clearwater Beach(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$386
$289
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
107
30
17
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
30
17
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclearwater beachquaint hotellocation is excellentpleasure of stayingchain hotelminute walksmall kitchenetteshort stayspent two nightsqueen bedwithin walking distancecomfortable roomsfamily vacationwould stay here againbars and restaurantslounge chairsa great stay
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 166 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

You get what you pay for im young and this motel is just crazy old dirty besides that its right next to the beach the owners are verry helpfull they will drive you to places if you pay them middle of attraction yea they always have polish people staying there and are always drunk but come on there european people and love to drink ure on vacation ure going to drink lol besides that its an ok place if ure not picky

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurkaedis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Was looking for an inexpensive hotel for 3 teens and 2 adults for a few days before our spring break 2012 cruise. We were worried when we first drove up to The Gem at night. Looked a bit sketchy, then also felt as if the owner was trying to put us in a room with double beds vs the queens we reserved. Once we were straight on that we were taken to an extremely small 1 bedroom with kitchen and pull out couch. Were a little concerned with safety at first. But once the morning came we realized the location was amazing, and the other residents were mostly families like us just looking for a good deal. Unit was very clean, although worn, bare essentials in the kitchen. Nothing fancy. Small pool... a little beat but clean and refreshing. Once we checked out high prices of the larger hotels right next door we were even happier with the Gem! We remember our frugal stay at The Gem fondly

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coopriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stay at this motel at least twice a year and just love it!! It has quaint Florida charm, a block away from the beach and is very clean! The owners are always very helpful and friendly. We always look forwaed to our stay here and have always had a wonderful time! We highly recommend the Gem Tower!

Room Tip: Rooms around pool area are awesome!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We just love this place. My wife and I always stay here whenever we visit the area. I’ve been to this motel about 15 times onver the last 20 years (every year in the last 5 years).

The prices are very reasonable and you are only a couple minutes of lazy walk to the beach. The motel is very clean and tidy. Yes, it could use some updating, but on the flip side, it has an old charm and good price. The rooms are very clean, and I believe all have a fridge – at least the ones we have stayed in. Some of the rooms have a small kitchen section with a small stove, sink, basic dishes and cutlery in the cupboards, and a small table with chairs. The pool is on the smaller side, but is clean. We don’t use it much because we come there mainly for the ocean and the beach.
We prefer smaller hotels because of the more intimate atmosphere and you often get to deal directly with the owner. Teresa is very friendly and accommodating (check in/out, extra towels, parking, word of advice on local events, etc.).

The “boardwalk” (fancy paved sidewalk) and evening entertainment is right on the beach, so you are right there. You can have drinks at the local bars and just walk back to the motel. There are a few bars and the pier comes to life every evening with dozens of vendors with souvenirs, arts & crafts, street performers. (Look for Steve - the weird looking guy with strange lights and cart pretending to communicate with aliens :) - he is a local “staple”.

If you can, bring your joggers, rollerblades, or bikes. For shorted distance you can go by the beach – the paved fancy sidewalk. For medium distances, you can use the paved bike path along 60 that goes from Clearwater Beach to Clearwater. And if you are really into biking, you can bike along 699 down to the different beaches.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mailiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stupidly made the mistake of travelling to the beach without reservations with my boyfriend. We figured somewhere would have vacancy. After searching the ideal, nice, fancy hotels at the beach- they were all booked- we traveled a few streets back to the smaller motels. We pulled into the Gem Tower after reading the "Vacancy" sign, and at this point I was desperate. We walked into the office and was greeted by a woman, we asked if she had a room, she said yes how many. We said 2. She told us it was a basic room, we said that's fine. I asked how much she said $89. (Like I said I was desperate, so I said okay). She acted a little surprised we agreed to that rate. And once we got into the room we found out why. We looked online at their website and realized we were paying DOUBLE what the normal rate is during this time period (because we walked in). Online of course it says those rates are for advanced reservations. I expected to pay a little more than normal because we walked in, on a Saturday night on a weekend in mid-summer, but double is a little unfair. With takes and everything I paid $115!!! (In addition to that, they also hold a $20 refundable key deposit). And check out is at 10AM!! It stormed that night and the storm made the cable go in and out during the storm. The room is VERY small. Pretty clean but very old and worn, needs some TLC. Only soap is provided in the bathroom and one towel per person. No hairdryer, no iron. There was a small fridge but it didn't work. There was WIFI though (free). The pool was small but refreshing and clean. The sheets seemed clean and bed was average (not best/not worst). And we luckily were able to get an extra hour to check out (11am) for free. For $45 it would have been a bargain! For even $65 I would have been alright with that, but $89 plus taxes etc... for a $115 total just was outrageous! All in all... make advance reservations to get the rate that the room is actually worth!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews