We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, but..........”
Review of Royal North Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal North Beach
Ranked #47 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Royal North Beach is a nice hotel, located a bit away from the heart of Clearwater Beach. The premises are modest and clean. We were staying at One Bedroom Luxury Suite (family of Four: 2 adults and kids ages 6 & 8) for 4 days and 3 nights. The suite was spacious enough, clean and in a good shape. The AC system was certainly outdated and not efficient to cool down properly our suite. The beach is located right across the street from the hotel, and is within easy and short distance. Because it is away from the central part and the pier, there is no life guard on duty and there are no services at all at this very section of the beach. Our rate tat he Royal North Beach was $160 per weekend day and $140 per weekday. Our fiends who came with us, also family of Four (kids ages 6 and 10) decided to stay at Sandpearl Resort, several blocks away from Royal North Beach. Their flat rate for Family Suite was $214 per night. After visiting them at Sandpearl Resort, I am convinced that iit is worth spending apx. $50 extra per day to be at much better hotel, centrally located, with wonderful pool, private beach (with all convenient services), and very good and quality restaurants on premises. There is a substantial difference in all aspects (location, services, quality of rooms, availability of restaurants, bars, spa, fitness club, large swimming pool, etc) between Royal North Beach and Sandpearl Resort which more than justifies the difference in price per day. The difference in price is not substantial. To be fair to the staff of Royal North Beach; they were nice and accommodating. It is certainly hard for them to compete on the price point levels with much newer, nicer and modern hotels available in their immediate area.

Room Tip: We have stayed at room 208; recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanuszRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSarno, General Manager at Royal North Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and staff. We try very hard to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay here with us.

We agree that it is difficult for any small resort to compete with large four and five star hotels -- however, when comparing rates, one must always consider the total cost of the stay rather than just the nightly rate. Most large hotels and resorts charge a daily parking fee ($25) as well as a daily amenities or resort fee (18%). If you consider these fees, the difference in price is closer to $125.00 per night as we charge no other fees. ALL fees are included in our nightly rate. The only other cost when you stay at the Royal North Beach is tax.

We hope your family and friends will return to Clearwater Beach many times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place is OK. cross the street from the beach. The rooms are OK.
The staff are the best thing in this property. They are very helpful.
They offer you beach towels, chairs, coolers, kids toys etc.
The area is less crowded and the beach is nicer than other places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dralanir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great location, across the street from lovely beach access. The North beach is less crowded with tourists and very near to residential area. The sand is white and soft, waves are very gentle, water was very warm! Bed was a little uncomfortable and hot water hard to come by, when washing dishes. We left dirty or wet towels out each morning and they were replaced with clean ones. Wireless worked wonderfully. They have plenty of sunscreen, beach buggies, umbrellas, pool toys, dish washing liquid, paper towels, laundry detergent, etc. for you to use. Pool was immaculate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This resort is horrible. It is not even 2 stars resort. It is small, dirty with old furniture. When we moved to unit it had very old leather like ottoman with holes in it. After 3 weeks when we moved out they charged us for this ottoman. Ofcourse, they needed money to replace it, so they left it for us to live and after our moved out they said we damaged it more and charged us 200$. Don't believe good reviews about this dirty resort. We check prices for clearwater resort and royal beach resort isn't cheap. You can find cheaper. All linens in north royal beach resort were old with holes. Do you think It is luxury resort as they claim it? Two air conditions in the wall not central aircondition. They are so noisy... We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kindrat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

...as the title says, we've been there twice, going back this winter. Best value for money, clean, safe, all the amenities you need. Only thing keeping this from having the 5 stars is that it's not right on the beach and bathroom could use a little updating to match the modern kitchen...but then we would have to pay more wouldn't we?

Great value, great place. Feels good to be a regular.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haliduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The room was nicely furnished, clean, and we had clean towels everyday. However, the a/c in the bedroom wouldn't get very cold. The tv's were small and the remotes for the were held together with duct tape. You had to let the water run forever and a day for it to get hot, and the water pressure in the kitchen sink was barely more than a trickle. The worst thing was the parking situation. It is street parking, and the general public uses it for beach parking. Several times I had to drive around for upwards of an hour just to get a spot within 3 blocks of the hotel.
The manager was very nice and answered all of our questions. We ended up having to pay $10 to park at a motel on another street, but she did reimburse us when we brought the ticket back.
We were more satisfied with RNB than the place we stayed a last year, but will probably end up spending a little more for a condo with private parking next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattJ765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here for a week with my two kids and husband. The staff supplied everything for the beach! They even had a beach buggy to carry it in! The pool was immaculate. A few days we had lunch/dinner by it. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It was very quiet there and we slept great the whole week. We took the trolley or just walked to everything. We met alot of other nice families there. Definately a great vacation.

Room Tip: Room 208 you can see the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
1.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#52 of 98 in Clearwater
459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal North Beach

Address: 657 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-1523
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $113 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms, full kitchens, pillowtop cover on pull out couches for the kids! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Royal North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal North Beach Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing