We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap Hotel, Great Location, Awful Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clearwater Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel, Great Location, Awful Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Hi there, if you are looking for a cheap stay near Clearwater beach this is definitely a good choice. However it is very basic and does have its flaws: We were a family of 7 coming over to Florida for a 2 week holiday and travelled to Clearwater for me and my husband to get married, so we chose this hotel as it was convenient and cheap for a one night stay.

1: I requested a key for the safe in my room as we were going to the beach and didnt want to leave all our valuables in our bag, but the key didnt work in the safe so we bundled all our stuff into one of the other safes in our group.

2: I laughed when i saw their breakfast room. because there were 7 people in our group and im not sure that there was even enough seating for us. it was so small i couldnt believe it

3: The most important point. I was disgusted at the service I received from one of the staff. I had originally though great this will be good, we got checked in early which I was very pleased about. However that all changed later on. My wedding was at 7:30 in the evening on Sandkey beach. We got a taxi back from the beach, but myself, my husband and my neice and nephew arrived first as the others had to make a stop of at the all night chemist, unfortunately i had forgotten to get my key from my sister. There was a huge thunder and lightening storm going on and the kids were terrified. so we are all standing there in full wedding gear watching the lightening and rain. I went to the reception and asked could they give me a spare key. He argued with me over the name and address on the room for 10 minutes only to find out he was looking at the wrong room. He had kept asking for my identification, bearing in mind im standing in a full on wedding dress where could i store id and why would i need it?? he kept on you need id, im doing this for your own security he said. so i walked out to the bench crying with the kids already in tears just wanting to get into my bed. 10 minutes later the guy came out and said he had found my booking and the copy of my passport. it was at that point i realised, what on earth was the point in taking photo id if he was just going to turn down helping me. In the end i got up to the room took of my wedding dress and put on my pj's i was too annoyed to even go out and celebrate what should have been the happiest night for us!

My advice would actually be to spend a little extra and go to a better hotel. There is no way I would stay in a hotel like that again. I understand it was a cheap hotel £50 per room and what can you expect, but i paid £30 to stay in a premier inn back home near the airport and it was fantastic, the staff were super friendly and the rooms were really comfortable.

Just think twice before staying here, especially if your staying more than one night. I was only too glad to be going after one night.

As a customer relations agent for a travel company i will also be posting this review on their website too

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyLyndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    166
    122
    34
    50
See reviews for
135
186
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a short weekend trip at the end of April. Last year on another trip to Clearwater we stayed several miles from the beach and spent a lot of the trip driving. This time we wanted to stay somewhere that we could park the car and walk to everything. Well, you can definitely do that at the Clearwater Beach Days Inn. It is located on the bay side of Clearwater Beach but the beach access is right across the street. Also it is a short walk to the Pier (where most of the action is), the marina, and most of the shops and restaurants of Clearwater Beach. There is a new pedestrian park-like walkway along the beach that runs about half of the way from the Pier to the hotel.
The hotel itself is very nice - I wouldn't say excellent. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. We had booked a room for one night then we found out we would be able to stay a second night and had to make a seperate reservation for that. They allowed us to check in for both nights at the same time and stay in the same room with no difficulties. We got a room on the first floor on the bay side - you could see the bay from our room even from the first floor. The pool is right on the bay and it had a nice sun deck, but the pool itself was hazy and freezing cold. I couldn't even get in and my husband only got in for a minute. The room was very small but clean and it had a coffee pot, microwave, and refrigerator. There was a good free breakfast with lots of choices but check the dates on the milk if you have cereal - it was all expired by over a week when we were there.
There are several other hotels in the area but we were glad we chose the Days Inn. We may have had to walk a little bit farther but it definitely wouldn't have been worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backstagecheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick,NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Hotel is within walking distance from everything. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. Just wish they had king size beds available.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dendi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

This motel is very decent. It's clean , breakfast is served every morning, close to Sheppard's bar/buffet. It's not directly on the beach but it's right across the street. It can be loud but for the price ($70) I was quite satisfied with my stay and not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

I called to make reservations by phone and was led to believe the motel was on the sandy beach with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Instead it was on one of the busiest intersections on Clearwater Beach and the noise was crazy loud with hot rod cars and sirens making it impossible to have a good night's sleep. The motel staff did help us get a room on the back side of the building the next day with a peek a boo view of the little marina which they called a harbor. It was disappointing but all we could find in our price range at about 75.oo a night. After we got there we found other places that had vacancies in better locations. They did have a nice breakfast room with pretty good food. Maid service did a good job. The pool looked fine but it was too cold to want to try it.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ValerieM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erial, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

Not a bad place to stay but other places close by offer more for the same price. This hotel offers queen size bed with wireless internet in the office lobby. For the same price and very close by you get a king bed with wireless in your room. We stayed here Feb 8th which is a quiet time in the area and I can't give any idea of what it's like during "tourist" season.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jas45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

I booked my trip through Travelocity and paid approximately $65/night. I read several reviews before booking, but was still apprehensive because of the low rate. I was relieved when we arrived and found a decent hotel with clean rooms and a friendly and helpful staff.

The location is perfect for exploring this small city. You could find a hotel right on the beach, but for the money, this Days was perfect. The pool area is nice and has plenty of room for lounging. The continental breakfast includes bagels, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, and coffee. Wifi is available in the small dining area.

I would recommend Gondolier Pizza, Sea Wake, and Shepard's Tiki Bar, as we visited these establishments several times.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#50 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Beach Hotel

Property: Clearwater Beach Hotel
Address: 504 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2533
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clearwater Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clearwater Beach Hotel is situated on the southern end of Clearwater Beach overlooking the Clearwater Harbor. Just across the street is the Gulf of Mexico. We are only one block away from the sugar sand, the sparkling waters and spectacular sunsets at Clearwater Beach.Our outdoor courtyard lined with tropical flora is ideal for small weddings and receptions, while the heated pool allows our guests to relax and unwind with beautiful views of the harbor. All our newly-renovated guest rooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board; complimentary cable channels and free high-speed internet access. Clearwater Beach Hotel is 100% non smoking and we are conveniently located close to places of interest such as the Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Pier 60. Other nearby activities include, boat tours with dolphin sightings, parasailing, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, bicycle rentals, and mini golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Clearwater Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing