We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th family vacation”
Review of Beachview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachview Hotel
Ranked #49 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed July 7, 2013

There were 2 adults and two middle school age children on our trip to the beachview inn. Lordes made our reservations easily over the phone and was so sweet and professional. We stayed in room 305 and it was roomy enough for us all with a great little kitchenette. Lordes made sure to give us whatever good deals they had and even though we called back several times she was still very patient. Very hard to book last minute is clearwater on a holiday because it is so popular. We did not do the breakfast but heard a lot of funny stories about the service there. The pool was great, elevator was broken and that was rough with luggage and kids. Beach is right across the street and mcdonalds is almost next door! woo hoo! The only complaint I had was house keeping, The lady that was on our floor was very rude and although I walked to her to ask for more towels and told her my room number she treated me as though I were stealing or something. It was odd to say the least. I would think that they have a roster of all rooms with the amount of occupants to leave towels for but you only get 2 towels per room no matter what. second day we got no coffee left in room or toilet paper. Last day we got 4 towels and toilet paper. I would definitely stay here again with my family. I felt safe, slept very well and already miss clearwater. Thank you Lordes for making our first family vaca in years so much fun. You Rock!

Room Tip: room 305 faces the pool and the ocean. Great view and you can see the kids in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilkimmy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were lucky to end up getting a room on the 4th of July when all other hotels were full. First of all, the elevators were broken (don't know for how long, but they were broken the whole time we were there). So, we had to drag our huge cooler, suitcases, and 2 kids up and down slippery wet stairs in the rain. The room was clean and the beds looked updated, but it was VERY SMALL. There was barely enough room for the 2 double beds let alone the tv armoire, chair, and table they squished in there. The bathroom was barely accessible. The door only opened half way due to the rounded shower rod, so it was extremely cramped to get in and out with the toilet in the way. There was no hot or even warm water whatsoever, so we had to all take showers in cold water. There were also only two bath towels. I called down to ask them to send up more, and Melissa told me that we had to come down and get them because no one could bring them up. So, we had to get our clothes back on to go downstairs to get towels. When we checked in, we made it clear that there were four of us staying in the room. If they only supply two towels per room, why didn't Melissa give us more towels during check in? There are no vents in the bathroom, so you must open the window in order to vent which is right at the walkway where people walking and driving by can see inside (very uncomfortable). While you're sleeping, you can hear everything outside like the windows are opened. People talking outside sound like they're inside your room, and you can hear the people above you everytime they go to the bathroom. They offer "continental breakfast" which is not very good, but better than nothing I guess. They have bagels, english muffins, sliced wheat bread, assorted cereals, danish, muffins, mini doughnuts, and oatmeal. Everything is seperately packaged and not fresh. Not even a waffle maker or fresh fruit like bananas, apples, or oranges. The milk is in the refrigerator (cartons like in elementary school). They offer apple and orange juice in cartons which was frozen and undrinkable. You're not allowed to take anything back to your room with you. We weren't even told about the complimentary breakfast at check in. We saw a sign about it and had to ask. Negatives: poor customer service, old, run down place with very small rooms, priced too high for the quality. Positives: it's right across from the beach, it has a pool, and it's a great central location to everything on the strip. We would consider staying there again, but it definitely wouldn't be our first choice.

Room Tip: Maybe a top floor room facing the ocean would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eanda1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was a little skeptical at first considering its only a two star hotel but it exceeded my expectations. Now of course if you're looking for super fancy this isn't it. But if you're looking for a nice weekend getaway with a great beach view & convenient location it's great! The hotel is directly across from the beach meaning you never have to move your car. There is reserved parking for hotel guest. Restaurants and shopping stores all located just a walk away. Staying here with kids was great due to the location and distance to the beach and pier. Right in the heart of Clearwater beach. The view was incredible. The room was clean & beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank joce85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel is a bit old and rundown. I am guessing it would be a great place if you are in college and on spring break, It was right across the street from the beach and they have a pool on the second floor. The hotel also has continental breakfast. We didn’t use the breakfast – McDonalds was next door. Our suite slept 6. 2 beds and a pull out couch. The hotel has outside entry to the room and we found this to be very noisy – sounded like some of the neighbors fit a minimum of 6 in the room – if not more. The bedroom is in the back of the room, along the walk way. It would have made more sense to put the sleeping area in the front because of the noise. I also believe this is a smoking hotel. Never thought to ask – because I assume everything is non-smoking these days.
The girl working the front desk during the day was very sweet, nice and helpful. The woman that came in as she was leaving was an odd one. She yelled at my husband, as he checked in later, that there better be no drugs or partying in the room. ODD thing to say to a 40 year old man who was checking in to meet his wife and daughter.
I am not a huge fan of Clearwater beach to begin with. There are so many nicer beaches in the area and would prefer to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karnoldnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Get the 5th floor view to the beach. Very close to the ocean and everything you need: shopping, dining, gas, etc. Good price, clean room w/ comfy beds. Breakfast is packaged sweets & they act like nazi's if you try to leave with a muffin, but I can't complain about anything else.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthPaw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As Tampa reseidents we have stayed at many places up and down the beaches from St. Pete to Clearwater. We have stayed both at upscale hotels and the more modest retro, 60's and 70's style older motels. In general we not had a real bad experience at any of the places we have stayed. We finally decided to try the Beachview Inn because of the location and price. We got the upper floor Gulf front King suite (those are recently renovated). The view was great! The location of the hotel can't be beat, directly in the middle of Clearwater Beach. We had no problems. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a refrigerator, two TV's, Gulf front balcony, etc. The pool was pretty good. Bathroom is small, but typical of older hotels. It was clean and adequate. The only complaint we have is the elevator is so slow. Most of the time we took the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. The front desk help was polite. The room was properly cleaned each day. When we reported that we only had decaf coffee the front desk gave us several packets of caffeinated coffee. Everything here was fine for us and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to get upper level suites. Those are the recently renocated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Couples_Memory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were in Clearwater for our 5th Anniversary vow renewal. We stayed one night at the Beachview. Our room was wonderful. All the amenities. and a beautiful ocean view! Very clean, spacious, friendly staff. would recommend and will defienely stay there again when in clearwater. my only complaint was with the free breakfast. some friends of ours were staying there as well, and went to partake of the breakfast. she wanted to take her cup of coffee with her and was informed that if she took the "styrofoam" cup out of the room that there would be $10.00 charged to her room....are you kidding me? the woman was very rude! other than that the rooms were fine.

Room Tip: i would say either the oceanview or not...even out of the front door of our room we had a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niteangel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 98 in Clearwater
1,294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#37 of 98 in Clearwater
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Hotel

Address: 325 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2445 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $160 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing