We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STANDARD AND CLOSE TO BEACH”
Review of Beachview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachview Hotel
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed March 21, 2011

One major perk I will give the hotel is it's location. It is located right on the beach, and in a prime location on the strip. It's located about a 5 minute walk (if even that) from Shephards, located directly next to two great restaurants Crabbys as well as Frenchys! (both with great happy hour specials) It is about a 2 minute walk to Pier 60 and the beach is located directly in front of you. The location makes the hotel what it is. Other than that the hotel is very standard, it's very outdated (even though they are advertising they are "NEWLY renovated". Which is a lie, the furniture, carpet, anything, and everything is the original condition when the hotel was first built (which was a very long time ago) If that can hint you anything. Although it's outdated for the fantastic price it was very clean, the bathroom was very small but really clean. We didn't have any maintenance/cleanliness problems like other reviews have mentioned. If you are looking for a budget friendly hotel right on the beach I would recommend the hotel. It's not a 5-star but for having somewhere to sleep between your time at the beach and enjoying the surrounding attractions it's a bargain. The pool was clean, it is also located on a splendid sun-deck where you can catch the sun perfectly! The hotel adds on a per day parking fee as well as a safe fee whether or not you use it. (since we didn't use it and still got charged). I don't see this hotel so much as a hotel you would want to stay at for a long period of time anything over 2+ days, but anything less is perfect. A steal of a price for it's location!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlaneFun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

Managers are idiots. Did not get room service the entire 3 days we were there. They also charge you ridiculous rates for parking. Everyone staying there was trashy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamparaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachviewInn325, General Manager at Beachview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Housekeeping services rooms daily and change linens twice weekly for long term guests unless a "Do Not Disturb" sign is hanging on the door. Guest parking is $5.00 p/night as explained when booking a reservation and also noted on our website. We do our best to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay while abiding by our hotel policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

After reading the reviews I was afraid of what we would find since the reviews are either good or stories of a nightmare... I'm glad to say we had an enjoyable time and loved the view from our suite as well as the location of the hotel. If you are looking for clean rooms with friendly and helpful staff, I would recommend that you give them a try! I will go back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biker52863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

i stayed for one night single room just after labor day. i sure it wasn't full, i was placed on top floor over looking nothing but more houses. the tv was in a tv stand and faced the wall and not the bed only got around 5 or 6 channels and two spanish channels. the bathroom was small and you had to go past the toliet to shut the door, not very lighting. no locks on the window, shower leaked and sprayed water on the wall, very hard to turn water on. This just for the room, ( I will say the staff was very nice to me )

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill-hopewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The reviews we had seen were frightening. In all reality, they were all untrue.
the hotel is old, but clean and decently appointed. We were not disappointed at all. the room was nice, the staff was pleasant, the continental breakfast adequate, and the rates were great. Not a 5-Star hotel, but you aren't paying for one. The location is great, We were able to walk everywhere from there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

i dont know what some people think they should get everything for nothing, but my stay was wonderfull the staff is just soooo nice and the rooms are in very nice shape it looks like its an older place but well takin care of this is the place to stay. forget those big price hotels they are not worth it my wife does alot of research and we enjoyed are stay
keep up the good work beachview

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twogood56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We had such a terrible experience at this hotel I cannot and would not ever recommend anyone stay at this hotel. We booked this hotel because they were advertising they were a newly renovated hotel not only online but on a sign posted in front of the hotel as well. That is a gross overstatement. We arrived on Friday evening we found the air conditioner not working well enough to cool the room, the tile surrounding the tub in the bathroom covered in black mold, Kitchenette sink, stove and frig from the 60's and not working. The room had not been renovated as far as we could tell. Saturday morning the air conditioner still not working well but a littler cooler than the night before. We went out for a few hours to come back and find housekeeping had left our door open. Upon entering the room discovered the air conditioner had leaked and completely soaked the carpet. When the maintenance man arrived to check it out we were in the middle of trying to change and get out to an evening engagement. He proceeded to remove the airconditioner unit from the wall which left us trying to finish getting ready in an even hotter room and leave with a gaping hole in the wall. Thankfully when we came back after dinner the air conditioner had been placed back in the wall. On Sunday the bathroom ceiling began leaking. So much so that we could not use the bathroom at all. Again we notified front desk and a maintenance man was sent to take care of it. He mentioned that he had been working on a leak in the room above us. The ceiling in the bathroom was made of clear plastic squares and we could see the water was collecting there and when it got heavy enough would pour thru around the edges. Again we were trying to change and get out the door for a dinner reservation. We could not shower, use the toilet or sink due to the water "raining down" from the above restroom. We were not able to shower or use the bathroom to get ready for dinner. We had to leave the room with the maintenance man still working on the problem. When we came back around 10:30 that evening there was still a minor leak but at least we could use the toilet without being showered upon by water from above. By Monday morning our bathroom was completely flooded and completely unusable. We had to go down to the main floor and use the restroom by the managers office. When I went to report the problem to the front desk and to also mention that we had nothing but problems with our room from the time we arrived all the gentleman at the desk could say was there was nothing he could do about it. We would have to call and talk to the person in charge because they were not there at that time. We began loading up and I went in again to the front desk because no one had come to check on the bathroom problem (which by this time and magnified to full blown water just pouring in) and suggested that he call someone to come and take care of it because the bathroom was continuing to flood. When we actually went in to officially check out the same gentleman who told us there was nothing he could do offered to take $50 off the bill. We did call and speak to the lady they told us was in charge only to be told all she could do was relay the details of our stay to the owner and call me back. Which after 24 hours I had to call her back only to be told all the owner was willing to do was offer us a discount on our next stay. Which is laughable because there is no way we would ever consider staying at this hotel ever again and would not ever recommend anyone else stay there either. What's really disconcerting is knowing the owner of this hotel was not reputable enough to do anything to compensate or make amends for the absolutely unacceptable conditions we put up with at his hotel. We did find out after that fact that we could have stayed at the Hyatt for the same number of nights for the same price as this dive. Next time I will do more checking. Do yourself a favor and save yourself a nightmare and stay at another hotel when visiting Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank btrfli62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Hotel

Address: 325 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2445 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $155 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beachview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing