We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - great location - great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Blue Bell, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location - great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed here for a company meeting. Great location right on the beach and on Clearwaters main drag.

Great restaurants and night life within walking distance.

The beachside is spectacular. The hotel has parties right on the beach,

The pool area, right off the beach, is fantastic.

The rooms are great. You either get a gulf/beach view or a bay view.

The rooms are nicely appointed - very modern and nautical.

Sleep is very restful as room areas are very quiet.

If my travels take me back to Clearwater Beach, I will DEFINITELY stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Kwteck,

Thank you for your response. It sounds like you have a great time staying here for your company meeting. We hope you are able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    501
    182
    72
    47
See reviews for
982
746
16
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st. petersburg, fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed at the Sandpearl for one night with our two year old son. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite that included a full kitchen, living area, master bedroom, and large bathroom. There were also two balconies. Wonderful! We requested a crib ahead of time and it was in the room upon arrival. Everything was spotless and very luxurious. We ate at the beachside restaurant, Tate's. They accomodated us with a high chair for our son. Wonderful view of the beach and sunset. Can't say enough about this hotel. Most likely the best that we have stayed at, including Four Seasons and The Ritz Carlton at various locations.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear K020,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are please you and your family enjoyed the resort and found it to be very luxurious. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

I travel 40+ weeks a year on business and have stayed at many 4 diamond hotels and would rate this hotel as excellent - brought my wife and 2 teenage kids for a weekend stay for fun
- Service is excellent & staff is friendly (gives off the high end feel without the stuffiness)
- Rooms are modern and very clean
- Other areas of the hotel (lobby, pool, etc...) are also very nice
- Hotel is right on a beautiful beach
- Local area has a nice "local" beach feel to it and found the restaurants to be pretty good

Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rams19881993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Rams19881993,

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay here at the Sandpearl. It sounds as though you found our resort atmosphere to be casual elegance. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I was here with my husband for a business meeting and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations and service. We were welcomed with glasses of champagne - a very nice touch. Our room overlooked the pool and the beach. I did notice that rooms facing the opposite direction did not have nearly as good a view, so it's worth inquiring about room location when booking. The room was extremely spacious and comfortable. The wide, white sand beach is right there. It's great for walking, sitting, sunning. We didn't try the water for swimming, but it looked good. There's a great little restaurant next door, Clear Sky Cafe, that I would highly recommend. The only down side is the cost - very expensive. And then they add a resort fee and a parking fee. Seems to me where they're already charging so much, they ought to include the resort fee in the price. But that's JMHO.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shir Hayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Shir Hayam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are please you found your room to be spacious and comfortable. Our resort fee is added to the cost of the room but does include a number of items; your wired and wireless internet access, pool and beach towels, two bottles of water daily, in room coffee, access to our business and fitness center, nightly shoe shine, unlimited local calls, a complimentary pass to the Clearwater Marine Aquarium, and complimentary bicycle rental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

We have stayed at the Sandpearl twice now, and will never go back. The first time we went, I reserved a "gulf front" room through American Express Travel Service and received a confirmation from the hotel confirming a "gulf view" room. I contacted the hotel and they insisted that our reservation came through a discount website, and that all reservations that are made through "Orbitz" are limited to a gulf view. Not true. Not even close. I contacted Amex concierge who was able to secure a new reservation with a "gulf front" room, and a letter from the hotel manager conifrming the same. We also requested early check-in and this was confirmed.

We arrived at the hotel at 1 pm, greeted by the ditzy woman with the champagne, handed over to a sweaty, obnoxious 20-something man who told us a little too forcefully that no early check-in would be available, and could not check-in until well past 4 pm. When we did get to our room, it was not "gulf front," at all but rather it faced the opposite wing of the hotel. Also, there were separate beds, not the king we had been guaranteed through Amex travel and in the letter from the hotel manager. I called the desk, got the same obnoxious 20-something who expressed complete surprise that we did not understand that a "gulf-front" includes the rooms that face the opposite bank of hotel rooms, and offered us the same $50 a night upgrade for a "real" gulf-front room that it appears this hotel offers every guest who refuses to accept the standard bait and switch this hotel provides on a routine basis. Also, the staff member actually told us with a straight face that we were given separate beds because "the hotel" was under the impression that we were brother and sister. Yes, apparently they thought this would be an acceptable explanation to a guest.

The replacement room was lovely enough that we did stay a second time in a Sandpaearl suite later in the summer. However, the house staff is so slippery, rude and unhelpful that we decided never to return. We took a 3rd trip to Tampa in the fall and stayed at a different property. We will never return to the Sandpearl under this management.

The valets were exceptional. The house staff - from the front desk to the restaurant to the tightly wound man behind the coffee counter- are a complete joke.

If you have the means, go elsewhere and get the level of service you deserve.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelteam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Sandpearl in April 2010. We appreciate the feedback and will share your comments with the team. Additionally, if you would feel it appropriate, please contact me directly so that we can discuss the stay personally.

We pride ourselves on the great resort in which we work and feel as though it is a great value for the experience in which our guests receive. Obvisously there were issues that occured during your last stay that prevented us from meeting your expectations. I would love to have you experience the Sandpearl again as it has been a year since your last visit with us.

Again, thank you for feedback.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a long weekend way (without kids) at the SandPearl. We researched a lot of resorts along Fl. Gulf Coast and I am so happy we went with the SandPearl, despite having spent time in the Clearwater area.
The beach is so breathtaking. Clearwater is full of people, which is a definite minus for me, but staying at the SandPearl relieved any of it. It's a little oasis.
We had high expectations and they were all met and or exceeded.
The staff were all very well trained. We had many interactions with them throughout our stay-- front desk, concierge, valet, restaurant service, pool/beach waiters, etc. EVERYBODY was extremely friendly and amenable.
The resort is beautiful and you definitely feel like you're somewhere special, but we never felt deprived of anything.
For instance it was a busy weekend and the weather was perfect but we were still able to always get a great table or spot at the beach or various restaurants withought having to wait.
We were completely on vacation time and having various food and drinks options available at all times, plus pools and jacuzzis open very late, etc. made it all the more enjoyable.
Sometimes we'd get drinks on the beach or at Caretta's outside, other times we'd bring our own bottle of wine to the beach and grab glasses at the bar outside. Nothing was a problem.
I also had a service at the spa and was very very happy with the whole experience.
I can't recommend it enough. We will definitely return, probably with our kids next because it seemed like the perfect resort to bring kids but also be able to relax and enjoy yourself.
Love the SandPearl! Although next year we'll likely splurge for an oceanfront room.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eliza46111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Eliza46111,
We are so glad you and your husband had such a wonderful time at our resort. It sounds like you were truly able to relax and all your needs and wants were taken care of. We look forward to your return visit with the rest of your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

After reading several negative reviews of the Sandpearl, I would like to offer my personal experiences...I've stayed or visited the Sandpearl over 20 times since it opened. I am not an employee nor am I affiliated with the hotel. I have never witnessed anything but professional outstanding customer service from Sandpearl staff. I know GM Stuart Arp personally and have never seen any display of disregard for guests as stated in some reviews. With the economy the way it is and the fierce competition between Clearwater Beach hotels, I find it ridiculous that any Manager worth his salt would jeopardize his property's reputation by not rectifying any issue brought to their attention. I've lived in this area for over 25 years and have visited many properties, and will attest the Sandpearl is the best hotel in Clearwater Beach...I have also witnessed Tate Island Grill Manager Elshan Gezel's committment to excellence in ensuring all guests are treated like royalty..
All the staff at the hotel are courteous and proffessional and I have never witnessed any other behavior...

I will continue to frequent the Sandpearl and will rest assured that any inconveniences encountered during my stay will be quickly rectified once management is aware of it..

Keep up the good work guys....You are the still best in Clearwater Beach........

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xchf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Gmanmm,

Thank you very much for your positive response. The staff here at the Sandpearl certainly strives to provide our guest with superior customer service. Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of the Sandpearl Resort, and again we appreciate your confidence in our resort and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#25 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#15 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing