We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is WOW!”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 21, 2009

What an amazing place to stay. Fantastic service, polite staff, phenomenal food and drinks and gorgeous amenities. My husband, myself and our 15th month son stayed in a junior suite overlooking the gulf for one weekend and we were blown away. The room was impeccable and clean. The people were friendly and honest and the service was top notch. The private cabana service was worth it, if you can grab one. We were so impressed that we will stay every time we visit our family in Clearwater! Thank you Sandpearl!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carabear526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,175 - 2,181 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2009

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are attentive, friendly and have a sense of humor. The hotel was clean, and the grounds well kept. We went for 3 nights, just to recharge our batteries, and the stay did the job!

However, when booking, we were not advised of the resort charge, or the valet only parking. This adds an extra $30+ to the nightly rate. We did ask for the resort tax to be dropped, as we had not been informed of this at the time of booking. It was dropped. The spa is an additional fee, and 18% gratuity is automatically added to the bill. I normally leave 20% gratuity, but if they want to short change themselves then that's fine with me.

But, I would have expected to have been able to use the facilities in the spa, at no extra charge, and just paid for any treatments I had. Not so, if you want to use the spa facilities, you have to pay an extra $25. Even though I paid $130 for a massage, my husband could not join me in the hot tub without paying the $25!

So, the nightly rate for a stay at this hotel resort and spa, only allows you access to the pool and fitness centre. No breakfast was included.

Would I go back? Yes, without hesitation. I am now aware of all the extra charges, and can budget accordingly.

A note to the guy in the lobby acting the big I am to his friends letting them know what he is going to put in his E-mail to the hotel chain. If all you have to complain about is the CD playing on the baby grand, it is time you got a life! Nobody really cares, it's just background music to fill the void and make it pleasant for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FHRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I was put up at the Sandpearl as part of a recruiting thing, so I can't really comment on value.

What I can say is that it occupies a very wide and beautiful stretch of Clearwater Beach, so location is fabulous. Also, the place was recently redone and the lobby is outstanding. The pool was a perfect temperature and I love how it was designed.

Rooms were lovely, but again aesthetics ruled over comfort. The couches were not comfortable, so my boyfriend and I ended up lounging in bed when we were in the room (I'm not really complaining! But still...). Also, the beds weren't very comfortable. They weren't bad per se, but I felt a little relieved to leave the place and return to a much more comfortable bed. Given the price of the room (we were put up in a Mandalay suite), I would expect a better bed, one that would at least compete with those found in the Westin or HIlton hotels.

Room service was prompt and generally good. The valet was slower than what I consider standard.

I read previous reviews that compared this place to the Ritz or Four Seasons. I disagree without hesitation. It's a great place, but I have a feeling that I would have felt upset if I had actually paid for the place. As the place was comped, I was merely occasionally annoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mica178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This is a fantastic property - right on a quiet stretch of beautiful Clearwater Beach - great rooms - lovely pool which we thought was very safe for our 5 and 7 year olds - poolside food good although service was sometimes slow but always friiendly - main restaurant was fantastic both for breakfast and evening meal - would highly recommend this hotel for all travellers and was a real tonic following the exertions (though enjoyable) of Orlando.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THET4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My husband, myself and our 3 year old stayed at the Sandpearl May 2008. Everything about the hotel was wonderful. We had a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. The beach was combed every morning making for a wonderful smooth beach with no rocks! Wonderful beach for collecting seashells early in the morning. Our meals were very good. Pricy hotel but worth it in my opinion. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhivegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My girlfriend and I take a girl's trip around the same time every year. We always do a lot of research, because we want total relaxation and some nightlife as well. Some trips have been better for this then others. The Sandpearl was amazing and met all of our requirements. Great spa. Great service. Great drinks. Great beach. Great pool. Great time. Loved the fact that almost all the restaurants in Clearwater have live entertainment at night. That was so fun. Eat breakfast next door. I can't remember the name of it, but breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We went there for a conference and and had reserved a regular Bay view room. For some reason, as I was traveling with spouse and recent high school garduate son, I upgraded our room to a Junior Suite. What a difference. Slightly larger room with a balcony. Great amenities with a staff who were very polite and answered every question or request. Great restaurant on site with a super bar. Pricey, yes, but worth every penny. Other places to eat bracket the hotel (Frenchy's and Cityscape), both very good and reasonable. Great beach frontage and a manicured beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $235 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing