We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you're looking for sun, sand and relaxation”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 10, 2009

The Sandpearl Resort is a gem within a gem of a town. It's hard to describe the ideological change that a luxury resort like this brings to the small town atmosphere of Clearwater Beach, but it offers the discerning visitor a wide variety of options for food, entertainment, and leisure activities. You get the best of everything...from luxury service and facilities to local flare that can answer any craving you might have...be it entertainment or food.

The Sandpearl's size is perfectly suited for those who want that total resort package...not having to leave the property during their entire stay, while fitting into the small town feeling of Clearwater Beach. Keep in mind this is not Miami Beach, but it is the perfect small town on one of the most spectacular beaches in Florida.

There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, we recommend Frenchy's Stowaway, Crabby Bills, and of course the on-site places (Tate's and Caretta on the Gulf). If you want it...you can find it in Clearwater Beach...Thai to Irish bangers. The entertainment is also just as varied. The Sandpearl along with just about every local restaurant has live music Friday thru Sunday afternoons til well into the night. The genre ranges from the usual Caribbean/Jimmy Buffet tunes, to blues and rock-n-roll just to name a few.

We rented a one bedroom suite, gulf view on the 7th floor. Beautifully decorated, full kitchen, large whirlpool bath and extra large walk in shower. The resort itself is breathtaking. The pool area is surrounded by exotic plants and palm trees. The pool area has a zero grade entry, great for kids. The beach is cleaned every morning leaving a pristine white sandy landscape.

We enjoyed the pool, the fitness center, playing tennis at the courts a stone's throw away, the local restaurants and Pier 60.

The entire staff was genuinely friendly and courteous. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

We recommend the Sandpearl for couples and families who want to relax, enjoy the sun coast of Florida.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,210 - 2,216 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

This hotel was very nice, but I think the $15 resort fee daily & the $16 valet parking fee daily is a little much. The staff was nice,hotel is quiet,not for anyone that is rowdy. Our room was kept clean, nice view of the marina across the street. I'm not sure if I would book again,but the pool,exercise room, jacuzzi were first rate. My husband & I are in are early 50's & this was okay for us. The business center was nice to use while we were there with 2 computers with high speed internet.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurashearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Sandpearl where my husband had a business meeting. The hotel is relatively new and lovely. You're handed a glass of champagne at check-in, a great way to begin a stay. The room was spacious with a fine view of the Gulf and bay as long as you stood back from the sliding doors to the verandah. Out on the verandah, there was a not so fine view of the loading dock and dumpsters. There was also a lot of noise, presumably from the exhaust system of the restaurant. There were even more complaints from folks who had rooms facing the street, so room location is an important consideration when staying here. The other thing I found curious for such an upscale hotel was the room servicing. Some days the room was cleaned promptly in the morning, other days it didn't get made up until late afternoon. The beach in front (back?) of the hotel is gorgeous. It was great for walking or just sitting. The weather was too cool to try swimming. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of several restaurants and a CVS, a nice plus.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shir Hayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We were delighted with our stay at the Sandpearl. The staff are welcoming and courteous; our room (one bedroom suite) had the largest bath our girls had ever seen; and the pool was ideal for young children. We will return; and we are recommending the Sandpearl to all our friends up north.

We recommend the Clear Sky Cafe next door - not as lively as Frenchy's but very friendly service and decent food.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThirdWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

First off, we were supposed to stay at the Sheraton Sandkey. That didn't meet our needs and we had our travel agent find another resort...she found "Heaven", the Sandpearl! The staff was incredible. The pool was fabulous and so were the rooms. I can't say anything bad at this hotel. I would live here if I could! The bellmen were great with the doors, the car and great to look at :) We had flag service at the pool for drinks and food. Just a great place. I don't want to ever leave. #1 hotel in my book. I've been to a lot of places in the country and out...this is fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sktss_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Sandpearl Resort is pricey but in excellent condition, has very personable staff and possibly the top restaurant in the area.

We took a 1 bedroom apartment that included a kitchen and dining room table that we didn't use but was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was quite large with two sinks and a hot tub. The bedroom had plenty of space and lots of closets. The living room had a comfortable sofa and wide screen TV. There was a strong sound of wind blowing under the hall door but wasn't heard from the bedroom.

For a resort, the facilities were limited. The pool was lagoon style, not good for lap swimming, and there is a spa and gym. The beach is wide and good for swimming. There isn't much else to do nearby and nearby restaurants were barely adequate for people used to fine food.

The hotel restaurants were reasonably priced with good food, especially the Caretta, their main restaurant, that is very good for a hotel. It could be a great romantic restaurant with great table spacing if it wasn't for a large active bar attached.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barely alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

My husband and I travel a great deal for both buisness and pleasure. My husband had a 2 day buisness meeting which was held at the Sandpearl. We decided to go several days earlier and have a mini vacation. First of all we have stayed at Ritz Carltons that did not have the standards of the Sandpearl. From the time we checked in we felt as though we got personal service. Everyone was friendly,professional and helpful. We are already planning to have the the meetimg there again next year We could not find a flaw or critisism. . The rooms are clean,spacious and comfortable. The dining room menu could be better by having a little more variety but over all it was good. Our guests could not believe how perfect everything was.
As for the spa, best massages we have ever had! We do get massages a regular basis too.
Staying at the Sandpearl was an experience we plan to have again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jiminysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 98 in Clearwater
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $237 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing