We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat.”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a treat.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 4 nights here back in April 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing few days. Staff were very helpful, champagne on arrival and a great beach for children.
The location was perfect as we could walk pretty much everywhere with our children, including the small Marine Aquarium twice to see Winter the Dolphin. Our room was clean, beds comfortable, and we had a nice view.
Breakfast was definitely the best part of the day, great service, wonderful choice of food and the best waffles and pancakes to enjoy sitting outside enjoying the view and listening to the sea.
Would definitely like to go back again as our family had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaffronWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us at The Sandpearl Resort back in 2011. I encourage you to return and experience some of the improvements we have made since then, I think you will really enjoy it. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    512
    188
    72
    52
See reviews for
1,008
768
17
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at The Sandpearl for a week in July. Lets state the obvious this is a very nice property with excellent service. We experienced great care from The Sandpearl staff and overall I rate it as very good. The pool and beach are the main attractions and they are the primary reason to stay here in my opinion. The décor and grounds are beautiful and well maintained and you can see attention was paid to the overall care and design. I believe it is one of the top properties on the beach. We had never been to Clearwater Beach and found The Sandpearl to be in a very convenient location and were able to walk or use local taxis for everywhere we went in the Clearwater area. Our party included my wife and I and our 15 and 19 year old daughters, We had a Gulf facing Junior Suite on the 5th floor. Gulf views are beautiful and certainly improve the stay. We enjoyed waking to the gulf view and watching some of the evening thunderstorms from the balcony. At the Sandpearl you get what you pay for but you certainly pay for it. Dining options are good but expensive and may not be suitable for your children or teens. We did eat at Tate Island Grill most every day. The convenience factor combined with the lounge chair service make this a no brainer. We also ate at Caretta's one night and the meal was delicious the service was great (thank Lance) and the views spectacular. It is an expensive option and we dined off property for the majority of our meals. The Sky View Café is right next door and is a great breakfast option. There are many good choices for dinner and Bernie and the other concierges can help with some ideas. The Spa is nice but the prices are high. We like to treat the girls to some spa services toward the end of the week but the Sandpearl's prices made it hard to go beyond a mani/pedi. Again the Spa service was excellent and Jennifer was very helpful. We did not see the need to rent umbrellas after the first day as the lounges by the pool have shade and that is where we spent most of the time. When we were by the Gulf there are also free lounges sans an umbrella you can use. I did not think the daily resort fee was justified and felt that was a bit of a gouge by the hotel given the room rates and lack of anything that the fee added to our experience. We were surprised that the rooms were not as quiet as we hoped. The young family next door voices woke us the first day at 7:00am. This is a family resort and many family's travel here together so that was the atmosphere we were looking for. If you are looking for a lively night life this is not the spot. You are paying for the atmosphere, service and the pool if that is not a big priority then less expensive options are available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank griffina15317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am delighted to hear that you received great care from our staff and will be sure to pass on your kind words to Bernie and Jennifer. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Clearwater is a busy family resort on a wonderful beach and Sandpearl has one of the best locations on the strip. Squeezed between 2 great dinner restaurants on one side and "the best breakfast on the beach" on the other you will have plenty of cheap eating options. Staff are very attentive and the guys on the beach will fix you up with a parasol for a small fee. Yes the carpet is a bit grubby but the decor is generally good with interesting artwork everywhere. The lobby is relaxed with a piano playing itself in the corner. Our family had a great time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lRlSHR0VER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time spent with us here on the beautiful Clearwater Beach. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I recently spent a week at the Sandpearl and here's my take on the resort:

Pros: 1.) Very nice beach with white sand and lovely warm, calm Gulf Waters.
2.) Resort employees were always polite and willing to help.
3.) Lobby is nicely appointed as were the rooms.
4.) Decent food options on resort premises, albeit expensive.
5.) Housekeeping did a great job every day!!

Cons: *1.) The biggest downfall of this hotel is that there is a serious lack of security. While we were there multiple families' belongings were stolen from the beach while people were swimming in the Gulf. Granted, one should not leave valuables on the beach unattended, but these people had their coolers taken as well.

If the hotel wants to bill itself as a "Five Star" hotel, then it had better provide "Five Star" security as well. The town of Clearwater boasts an above average crime rate for the state of Florida and for the US in general. Google it. It's a fact. Pier 60, which is within walking distance of the resort, is home to many vagrants who are free to roam the beach at will. The Sandpearl's umbrellas are very far from the water making it difficult to keep close watch on one's belongings while in the water. The resort's "Five Star" reputation makes it a "Five Star" target for criminals as well.

There is no security at all at the gates from the beach onto the pool deck. There is no wrist banding of guests to ensure that the pool /beach facilities are used only by guests, except very sporadically on the weekends. There is no signage warning resort guests that the beach is a public beach and that they should keep close watch on their things. There is no lifeguard within earshot of the resort. There is no security presence that was evident at all until the families whose items were stolen had to make out police reports. Apparently on Clearwater Beach theft of property is quite common.

2.) "Five Star" resorts should not have stains all over the hallway carpeting. You can even see stains on the carpeting that heads from the reception desk into the main office. I would give the hallways 3 stars. It looks like nothing a good steam cleaning can't fix.

In conclusion, I think the Sandpearl is a very nice resort in a not so nice town. As such, the resort should make some changes to ensure its guests are safe, and guests should be aware of the fact that they aren't in the best of neighboorhoods. The beach is naturally beautiful and the hotel is also very nice so you can have a nice time there but you must be on your guard!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NJTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write you review of your time with us. I am glad that you were happy with your stay. I was happy to hear that you were pleased with the aspects you mentioned in your review.

In your review you mentioned safety around our beach and in the local area. As a long time resident of Clearwater I have to disagree with your evaluation. While we did have an isolated incident one weekend several weeks ago with guests belongings being taken from our beach, that is the first time of such an offense that I am aware of. Additionally, we do have security guards on our pool deck on Friday's through Sunday's to patrol the area but they are there to make sure that the people on the pool deck are registered guests.

Clearwater is a very "Family Friendly" town. We have a very involved Police Department that does a great job of serving our residences and visitors. The overall guest experience is a priority for the Police Department and safety and security is a top priority.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you would like to speak personally regarding your experience please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We met a group of friends here for a long weekend. From check in to check out everything was exceptional. The entire staff was friendly and engaged. The surroundings were beautiful and the beach was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lons g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review of The Sandpearl Resort and Spa. Its great to hear that our staff was friendly and engaging throughout your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I were at the Sandpearl June 7-9 for a weekend long corporate event. We didn't have a concern in the world the whole weekend...until we checked out of our room and stored our belongings with the Bell Stand. Unfortunately for the Sandpearl, there is a thief with access to the area where luggage is stored, and my very nice $400 golf rangefinder was taken from my luggage. There is a security camera in the storage area but the Director of Security was unable to identify the culprit responsible.

Note to Self: Put your belongings in my car if its close.

Note to Sandpearl: put another camera in the luggage storage area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TampaGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I have spoken to our Director of Security regarding the incident you mentioned. As he stated he reviewed all video footage from our security cameras and was not able to see anyone in the Bell Closet around your luggage. The camera in the bell closet covers the entire room however we were not able to determine any foul play. I know how disappointing this is when an item comes up missing. Please accept my apology for this issue.

Again, thank you for the review.

Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I simply love this hotel. Gorgeous beach. Courteous staff. They give you a glass of champagne on arrival and will do anything to help make your stay better. Try the spa- I really enjoyed it!!!! Great location where you can walk to literally any place. If you do not stay here you are missing out!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizLeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of The Sandpearl Resort and on the beautiful Clearwater Beach. It is always great to hear that our staff did anything they could to make your stay better. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 98 in Clearwater
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,583 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing