We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited this property for a work meeting. The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are top notch. I didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool and beach area but our conference room overlooked the area and boy was I missing out. They have a beautiful resort style pool and the beach looked very nice. We ordered lunch from Caretta and it was delicious. This isn't your typical beach hotel/motel. This is high class. I hope to return sometime soon for a getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollFace73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Sandpearl Resort. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an opportunity to enjoy the beautiful pool and beach area during your visit. Contact me at the resort the next time you plan to visit the area on vacation and I would be happy to assist you with your reservation. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
There are newer reviews for Sandpearl Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,475 - 1,481 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Sandpearl was a very nice resort location in Clearwater. Great beach access and also wonderful pool area with hot-tubs. While the individual room where I stayed was relatively standard, the bathroom was larger than most hotels. Lindsay at the front desk was very helpful after there had been an error with our reservations. She worked with us, even to the extent of calling other hotels, to make sure that we were able to find a room for our three night stay. We ended up likely paying a higher rate due to our reservation snafu, however, we had a room on a night when there may not have been many options in the area. Thanks Lindsay! There are several restaurants within walking distance, along with other amenities.

Room Tip: The Gulf View rooms are surely better, but likely more expensive, also. Although, having a sitting...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim5ft11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of The Sandpearl Resort. I apologize for the error on your reservation, but I am glad to hear that Lindsey was able to resolve the issue. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Sandpearl hotel is not cheap - we paid almost $500 a night for a three-night stay - but you expect to pay more for a "Luxury Resort Hotel." You are paying for the location, the atmosphere, the amenities, the easy access to fine finding, the pool, the spa, etc. The location was great - right on the Gulf with a beautiful white beach. But that is where I stopped being impressed because it is also RIGHT across the street from a bar with a very loud outdoor patio complete with band and crowds. On both Friday and Sunday nights we could not sleep until after the bar closed, sometime after 2 a.m. That was just one of the unpleasant surprises. Another was the $25 "Amenity Charge" that no one told us about until we checked out. When I inquired about the charge, I was told that it was for coffee, water and internet. Really?! First of all, when I signed up for the internet, it said it was "free." Guess not. Second, when I left a note for Housekeeping TWICE asking for ONLY regular coffee, not decaf and not green tea, my requests were ignored. And Housekeeping failed to leave new shampoo, body gel and conditioner despite near-empty bottles on the shelf. Television choices were limited - no Food Channel, no HGTV, ONE HBO channel, no MLB network (in a spring training town). At their fine dining restaurant, "Caretta on the Gulf," there is NO separation between the dining room and the bar, which has live music. Not a good thing. AND we had to return one of our meals because the steak was tough. No coffee in the lobby, by the way, although you could pay fie bucks for a Starbucks. No apples. No cookies. No "special treatment." The Sandpearl did not live up to its billing or its reviews at Hotels.com where I booked or here at tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room on the Mandalay Street side of the hotel unless you plan on being out until 2 a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank your for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort on Clearwater Beach. I was happy to hear that you like the location of our resort.

Please accept my apologies for the issues you had with the music from the restaurant across the street. We have been actively involved with the ownership of that restaurant to monitor their noise level but it sounds like that night it was too loud. I am very sorry for that. I am also sorry for the housekeeing issues you experienced while with us. I will share those comments with our Executive Housekeeper. Regarding your dinner at Caretta's, we normally get only rave reviews from the food served but it appears that your steak was not to your liking. Again, I am very sorry.

If you would like to speak in person regarding your stay please do not hesitate to contact me at the resort.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Me and my wife had a fab time. Well we wasn't husband and wife when we visited but. Got engaged at the sand pearl after taking a 3 day break from the kids in Orlando.

On arrival no one could have been more helpful. The concierge was phenomenal, recommending a quality Japanese on the docks.

Would I return, yes
Would I recommend yes

Awesome place, awesome location......... Visiting is a must!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakfrost666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

I think a congratulations is in order, so congratulations on your engagement and marriage! What an honor it is to be a part of that memory. Thank you for writing a review of the resort as we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from Clearwater Beach, Florida....stayed at the Sandpearl Resort. Best location, cleanest, friendly staff, first rate. We did not rent a car...requested car service for a day into Tampa to International Plaza for shopping. Cheaper than rent car week of Spring Break. As well as Free Rides would pick up at hotel and take us anywhere in Clearwater for tip only. Walked to dinner most nights....whole area nice and clean compared to other beach towns! Great cheap breakfast/lunch right next door at restaurant.

Room Tip: View of the Gulf room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flychix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with such positive feedback from your recent experience here at The Sandpearl Resort. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the resort as well as the area surrounding the resort throughout your vacation. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early March. From the time we arrived until our departure, the service at the hotel was fast friendly and efficient - from valet service, to check-in to concierge and pool service. The lobby area was very pretty right down to the grand player piano with a key stuck in middle C! The rooms were a nice size and very clean. The bathroom was well -designed with hair dryer but a rather small tub. A $25 resort fee is charged to every room and includes wireless internet, beach towels, bottled water etc.

The outdoor pool is heated to 82F and there are several hot tubs available as well. We had a late lunch one day at the Grill next to the pool and the both the food and service were very good. The huge expanse of a really great sandy beach is just beyond the pool area although the ocean water was only about 59F. It is also an easy walk along the main street - Mandalay, in front of the hotel, to the T-shirt and souvenir shops and several restaurants and coffee shops. However, a car is really needed to travel in the area.

One of the highlights of the area is the Dali Museum and Gallery in St. Petersburg - well worth a visit. It's about a half hour drive from the hotel. If you happen to be in town in February - March, the Phillies play the Grapefruit League in nearby Clearwater and it's always fun to take in a ball game in a small stadium.

The hotel was good location if you like the beach and good service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allyurwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Sandpearl Resort. I always love to hear about great service provided throughout the entire resort, and I couldn't agree more about The Dali Museum and Gallery in St. Petersburg, what a special place. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I am very picky when it comes to hotels and resorts. We do not mind paying higher rates for upscale service and accommodations, as long as we get our moneys worth. I do feel the Sand pearl is the best in the Clearwater Beach area. It is located near shopping (basic boardwalk shops) and restaurants. The rooms are nicely appointed. The bathrooms are great. We also loved the high ceilings and tall doors. Nice touch. We stayed in a two bedroom gulf suite at 1400ish a night. Spring training is going, so the rates reflect it. The staff gets the job done, but can make you feel like a cattle rushing you along. Our bell, Gene,was awesome. The staff needs to follow his lead. I will go agsin, but wait for a better deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lov2travv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that we were able to pleasantly surprise you during your visit to The Sandpearl Resort. It is always great to hear guests say that The Sandpearl is the best resort in Clearwater Beach. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit. If there is anything I can do to assist you with a future reservation please do not hesitate to contact the resort and ask for me.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#20 of 98 in Clearwater
4,728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $241 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing