We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Perfect Visit”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always A Perfect Visit”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Can't say enough about this beautiful resort. Beautiful views & exceptionally nice staff, & I mean the entire staff. Even though the hotel was almost full we were still upgraded to a gulf view which was wonderful for us because in my opinion the view is one of the main reasons to stay there. This was my 4th visit & I will happily be returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvinthegulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Luvinthegulf,
Wow! I am so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the Sandpearl resort. Thank you for your continued business and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    507
    185
    72
    51
See reviews for
996
763
17
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was beautiful and for the most part, staff were great. We were not aware of the 18% gratuity added to all of the bills even thought we asked our server on the beach. Thus, we over-tipped. The manager was informed and took care of that issue promptly. The Caretta's was very unorganized as far as seating was concerned; definitely not a four star as expected. The beach and amenities were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear DianeMack,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thought about your most recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you found the resort to be beautiful and the staff great. I do apologize for any confusion with the billing and I am glad that our pool manager was able to correct it promptly. I apologize for your experience with seating at Caretta on the Gulf and will share your feedback with our food and beverage team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the Clearwater Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a very nice location. I like that it is close to the strip of shops & many restaurants - all walking distance. Beach sand is like no other. Like white powder- amazing. Staff is friendly. Tate's island grille is casually nice for day time & on the beach. Reasonable for hotel & beach food. Our package included free breakfast & the buffet was fantastic. (Could have ordered entree from menu, but buffet had made to order omelet, waffles, & all the normal items). Fitness center is nice & overlooks pool & beach. Pool chairs are free, umbrella beach chairs seem to have a rental fee. We did change rooms THREE times. Our first room (coast view) looked at rooftops & dumpsters & partial beach, next room (paying another $25) looked straight at others balconies & building- when on balcony it was nice to the side, third room was further out & much butter. (At this time hotel was only at 40% capacity). a few more "cons"- pool us NOT heated. Due to this- it's quite empty. Even the kids preferred the hot tub. (There is also an adult only hot tub). Lastly, beach bonfire ends early- like 7pm!!! (We thought it would go until bar closed!!). It is a beautiful resort & beautiful beach & great location. Same as all others- resort fee & parking is ridiculous... But required.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear JessFarrell,
I am so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be so friendly; the entire staff takes great pride in assisting our guest to help make their stay memorable. I am glad you enjoyed our bountiful breakfast buffet. Our room rates vary depending on the room type and view, and I am glad that you ended up in a room to your liking. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at the Sandpearl from Sept 27 to Oct 1 in room 440 - gulf front. From the time you pull up to the hotel until the time you leave it is perfect! This was our 4th stay in 5 years. The room was very nice and was cleaned everyday. The toiletries and waters were stocked each day. I didn't notice any problems in the room as others have but I'm there for the beach and only sleep in the room and don't really look for problems! Staff is very friendly as always. Pool area was kept clean and never had a problem getting a cocktail. I saw a few people smoking at the pool but a manager was very quick to to take care of this. For as busy as the hotel was we always had a chair at the pool and clean dry towels.

Usually at this time of year it is much quieter but the powerboat races were going on and the hotel was fully booked. We did enjoy a room upgrade with our IPrefer card and a very good rate with the powerboat race special. We have booked a flight for the end of January and hope to get a good room rate then.

We just love our stay at this hotel. Valet parking is great - we call from the room and they have our car ready for us by the time we get to the lobby. I think as long as you realize there is a resort fee and a valet fee added to your room total then you are not surprised by it. We'll be staying here again in January - no question about it!

Room Tip: Sign up for the IPrefer card and if an upgrade is available you will get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Sandybeach1968,
Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful experiences you had while staying with us here at the Sandpearl Resort. I am so glad you found your room to be just perfect and the service we provided to be top notch. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you're looking for a stunning beachfront resort, consider the Sandpearl. There is something very special about this property and I cannot wait to return. Located directly on Clearwater Beach, the Sandpearl has everything from fine dining to casual pool fare and an amazing spa. My room was directly oceanfront and just lovely in every way. I didn't know what to expect upon arrival but being an iPrefer member, I received a complimentary glass of champagne which was unexpected and a nice touch. Had a great lunch at the restaurant poolside and breakfast the next morning was delish. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I can't wait to go back and experience the spa and discover more about this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a little more, go for a oceanfront room, and enjoy watching the sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanseaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Nansea6,
WOW, it sounds like you really enjoyed the resort and its amenities. I am so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just completed a two night stay as part of a destination wedding event and enjoyed our stay. First the Pros...
1.The Hotel was very nice and the location, right on the beach, was perfect.
2.You are within walking distance of several restaurants and shops including a CVS just a block away for any last minute items you might need. You really do not need a car if you are staying here especially since parking is $20/day.
3.Rooms were spacious and come with a Keurig coffee maker, a variety of coffees and teas and two free bottles of water per day.
4. They do have a nice Fitness center with Elliptical, treadmills, bikes, circuit training and free weights. The room is a bit cramped but pretty well equipped
Now the cons...
1.Our reservation, as well as at least one other member, of our group did not receive our requested room types. We had confirmed a King Room but on arrival all they had left was a double Queen room. No explanation or offer to upgrade to another room type, Just take it or leave it.
2. The outdoor pool was not heated...we visited in mid October and while the pool areas was very nice the for sunbathing, the water temperature was way too cold.
3. Very limited number of free beach chair rental...most are designated for umbrella rental at $30 per day. Get to the beach early to snag a free chair (altho without an umbrella)
4. More of a tip than a con....As is typical in a 4 diamond resort...No Free breakfast. On site restaurants are pricy...for breakfast try the restaurant next door..."Clear Sky Beachside Cafe" very reasonable prices and a very good breakfast. They also had live entertainment at breakfast time...at l;east on the weekend! They do serve Lunch and dinner but we only tried them at breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce45069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Sandpearl Resort. I am glad that you were happy with the hotel, location, rooms and fitness center.

In your review you had concerns with several things. You mentioned not being able to get the room type that you requested. We do our absolute best to grant all requested room types but sometimes with contracted groups specific room types are not available. I am very sorry for this inconvenience. We would normally happily upgrade however due to high occupancy that is not always possible.

You also mentioned the heating of the pool. Our pool is indeed heated but we did experience an issue with our pool during your stay. As part of our LEED Certification our pool is Geo-Thermal and unfortunately takes a bit longer to repair when problems occur. Luckily this rarely happens and the pool is currenlty at 82 degrees.

We should have plenty of chairs on the beach that we do not charge for. If we did not put more chairs out on the beach please accept my sincere apology as we should have. I will follow up with our Beach and Pool Manager.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay. If there is anything that I can help you with please do not hesitate to let me know.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The SandPearl is a great hotel, and it stands alone as the best hotel in Clearwater. It has a Great Pool and is on a Great Beach. Perfect location in the center of Clearwater. It is a pricey hotel, but I think you get your money's worth, especially if you stay in one of the suites.

Room Tip: do not stay on the north side of north wing as it overlooks all the A/C units. It didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Jeff M,
Thank you I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time here at the Sandpearl Resort and enjoyed the location and amenities. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#13 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#16 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing