We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but hidden charges”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but hidden charges”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in Clearwater, but wouldn't return to The Sandpearl. The resort itself was nice; good facilities and comfortable rooms. The problem was hidden costs. There was $25 per room per day resort tax and $25 per umbrella per day for use with the sun loungers on the beach. This was the general theme for use of most of the hotel and wasn't obvious when I booked.

The overall service was mixed. One day we were banned from the pool and beach so aerial photos could be taken, and checkout was automatic and charged to my card without discussion or any personal touch.

I think a hotel of this quality (and cost) could do better.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickybEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    507
    185
    72
    51
See reviews for
996
763
17
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We just got married there 4/15/11 and it was the best experience ever. They were so accomedating and took care of absolutely everything. The rooms, lobby, pool, spa, lounge, grille and everything else is absolutely beautiful. Our families couldn't stop raving about our wedding. The service was great and staff was so friendly. View was amazing! We just stayed in a standard king sized balcony room and it was gorgeous I can only imagin what the suites look like. I couldn't imagin giving this place a less then perfect score. We definately hope to be back in the future! Thanks Sandpearl!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKlecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear KKlecker,

Congratulations! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed celebrating your wedding here at the Sandpearl Resort. I am glad you enjoyed your room and found our staff to be friendly. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel was immaculate, located on the beach. On arrival the staff were very pleasant, helpful. Our room was on the side, could not fault the cleanliness. Although we booked for a balcony, you could open the door, but no room to sit outside as it was just a narrow ledge. The location was very busy, with shops, restuarants and bars. We were booked there for 9 nights, but unfortunately only stayed the one, as the nightlife from the bars outside kept us awake until 3am. My husband went down into the reception at around 2.30am and the receptionist informed him that this went on every night of the week. We understand that some people enjoy this and thats what they go on holiday for. But for us it was too noisy and not my type of holiday at all. Being that this is a high quality hotel we were surprised that the double glazing didn't block out the noise. We spoke to the receptionist in the morning and were informed we could move our room to a front Gulf facing but at an extra 80 dollars a night, which was far more than we had budgeted for and for another 8 nights would be an extra 640 dollars plus taxes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I have been visiting Clearwater since I was a child and thought it would be the perfect place to go for great beaches, great food and great accommodations for a long weekend. I did a bunch of research and found this place. We were greeted by great employees who were more than pleasant. Upon check in we were asked if we wanted champagne, what a nice surprise. At the time of our trip there was the oil crisis in the Gulf happening and the staff was very quick to reassure us that the water and seafood was safe. Our room was gorgeous and very spacious. The balconies were nice and offered a view of Clearwater Beach. The pool was large and there was always a surplus of beach chairs. Drinks/food poolside were tasty. The resort is located near the end of "the strip" but it is within walking distance to so many restaurants and shopping areas. There is an amazing breakfast place located just across the street of the resort. We went to celebrate our birthdays and we left engaged. The Sandpearl will always have a special place in our hearts. Next time we come to Clearwater the Sandpearl will be our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packrats0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Packrats0828,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and created some very special memories here at the Sandpearl. Congratulation on your engagement… please contact us if you are interested in having a wedding here, we offer some fabulous event space. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Or to be fair to the locals, a great casual beach town with one expensive hotel. If you have to go to Clearwater Beach or surrounding area, the Sandpearl is the best place to stay. Hyatt, which would have been my second choice, looked ridiculous with first 6 or so floors for parking, Then pool on 8th floor. They must live in the elevators there.
Sandpearl is a nice enough hotel but you typically find hotels like this in towns with many fine dining choices and at least one store where someone over 25 years old can find a pair of pants. Most Clearwater beach stores are for T-shirts with tacky sayings and flip flops (Sandpearl tries with it's own store but is small with the typical Tommy Bahama and Vera Bradley).
Restarants were not easy to come by but we did find a few surprises. Concierge at Sandpearl kept making the excuse "real estate is expensive here so don't mind the looks of the place, they put their effort in their food". Well looks equate to atmosphere and atmosphere is important in a restaurant. A few local dives add charactor to a town and can be fun, but when 75% of the places are dumpy with the same menu of grouper sandwiches it is boring. Clear Sky Cafe(right next door) that others have mentioned was very good for breakfast but we did not go there for lunch or dinner but I am sure it would be just as good. Looks like lots of locals depend on that place. The frequently recommended Island Way grill is a very large restaurant and we had to sit inside which was very loud. Had a tasteless lobster tail. I would not go back unless I could sit outside. Out of desperation tried Bob Heilman's Beachcomber. Building looks a little out of place on the street and inside is a bit of a time warp but had the second best dinner of our week there. I say a time warp because it is a restaurant of a couple of decades ago;
full dinner with relish tray, soup (good lobster bisque), salad, entree (had good prime rib) with a side, plus desert. Turned out to be a really good value and with really good service. The biggest surprise and best dinner of the week was at Al and Stellas. Walked by the place all week but had no desire to go in there (it is a few doors down from the dirtiest, grossest ice cream store I had ever been in... 'serious cookie working cow' I believe was the name) but we ran out of choices and went in there our last night. Had a very pleasant waitress and very good, very fresh Italian food. Was our best meal of the week maybe because of the food or maybe because it was such a surprise to get such a good meal after having low expectations.
So, hotel is nice enough and if you pick carefully you can eat well at least for 3 or 4 nights. We did not eat in the hotel, except for one lunch, because as others have mentioned it was very overrpriced.
Hotel staff is very nice and efficient with exception of housekeeping which came VERY late in the day. So late in fact they combined our cleaning with turn down service. This created problems in that we tried to stay out of the room all day waiting for maids and then caused us to have very late dinners after finally getting into the room to shower and dress.
The highlight of Clearwater Beach is the BEACH. Beautiful white sand, very wide beach. Water was calm and relatively warm and while not perfectly clear I could see almost to the bottom.
We had a nice enough time, but because room prices are comparitvely high I would not go back to the Sandpearl.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michigantraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Michigantraveler3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Clearwater Beach and the Sandpearl Resort. I am so glad you enjoyed your our accommodations. I apologize that you did not find the area and the local restaurants favorable. We hope you and your family were able to enjoy time spent together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This resort was superb!! Great location, comfortable rooms, beautiful beach are all assets, however, the biggest asset is the customer service. Every employee we encountered was helpful, friendly and eager to please. I can't say enough positive things about the staff. They were able to provide outstanding service without being pretentious. Shout out to Kyle at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boardthedogandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Boardthedogandgo,

We are so please that you had such a wonderful time at our resort. Our staff works very hard to make sure our guest expectations are exceeded and it sound as though we were able to provide you and your family with some wonderful memories. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas tx
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I traveled to Sandpearl Resort with my husband and 11 month old for five nights. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We are fairly low maintenance but had a wonderful time. The view was spectacular and the pool and beach were very nice. There was plenty of space to hang out on the beach with out being so close to the other patrons. We didn't have a hard time finding a lounger poolside either. There were plenty of activities at the resort but there were not any for toddlers (but I knew that when we booked). I did see other children there having fun with the staff. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the resort because my spouse couldn't stomach the prices. The meals worked out though because there are a few really close restaurants. Every meal we ate at the Clearwater Beach Cafe across the street was delicious and my 11 month old LOVED the spanish guitar player that is there on Sunday nights. We also purchased some snacks from the CVS across the street. We walked down the strip and hung out at Pier 60 two nights. We generally spend beach vacations at all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean so this was different for us but we absolutely had a ball and we intend to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacayonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Vacayonbeach,


We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the Sandpearl Resort. There are some great restaurants just within walking distance of the resort! We are glad you chose the Sandpearl resort for your vacation and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#13 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#16 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing