We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel ok - breakfast made me sick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel ok - breakfast made me sick”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms look Updated and are very large.

Hallways don't look vacuumed. Elevated had some drippings that looked like blood - it was still there the next morning. Wasn't a stain rather a drip/spill that was never cleaned. Bathroom was dated (grout peeling, had two shower heads - the hand held was filthy).

Tea water had black floaters in it and the orange juice (which comes out of a machine) had a fruit fly in it. Hostess wasn't too concerned about it. Very lackluster breakfast of processed cheese omelet. Got sick shortly after eating and was sick most of the day. Impaired business trip.

Could be very nice hotel with some slight modifications - maybe was just an off day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Kelly B,
Thank you for writing. It's unfortunate to hear that you did not have a satisfying stay. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. I have addressed your review and concerns with our staff. I want to assure you that we clean our juice machine daily and work diligently to maintain the highest safety standards for our food. Please feel free to contact me directly so we can discuss further. We value you as our guest and do hope you will give us another opportunity to make amends for another stay should you return to the Clearwater area. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    163
    69
    32
    14
See reviews for
199
121
32
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I must say that this was one of the nicest Hampton Inns in which I have ever stayed. Not because of the location or the view, but because the staff was fantastic! Friendly, helpful, accommodating, and going above and beyond to make for a pleasant stay at the hotel and in the area. Every staff member I encountered was welcoming, eager to assist, and made me feel right at home. The breakfast area, lobby, and furnishings were a step-up as well. My business trip was quite successful; perhaps, in part, due to restful nights' sleep followed by starting my days with fresh coffee, and a hearty breakfast. Thanks Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your positive feedback about your experience at Hampton Inn Clearwater. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you about our excellent service. We are eager to please and our dedicated team works hard to provide an pleasant stay for each guest. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your business trip, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very pleasant stay. Room was clean and just what we expected. Free wi-fi and close to airport for morning departure. Breakfast was available at 6am. Would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Robert C,
We appreciate your review and kind comments about our clean accommodations, friendly staff, and value added amenities. We're pleased to hear that we met your expectations for a pleasant stay, and we hope you'll visit us again soon at Hampton Inn Clearwater. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent three days, food and entertainment was close. value for money was good and the staff was very helpful at all levels. this an excellent place for business travelers and should be fine for the vacationers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rohan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Rohan K,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Clearwater. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience and share recommendations to future travelers. It's great to know our location was well suited for your business travels and offered many options for food and entertainment. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wonderful stay, easy to get to, quiet room, good breakfast (lots of bacon), very friendly staff. We will return. We stayed here as a family to visit the Clearwater area west coast beaches and just explore a new area. Could easily get to both Rays games and Buccaneers games. Looking forward to coming back to the west coast and exploring the area as a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Evan M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Evan M T,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback on your stay with us at Hampton Inn Clearwater. It's great to hear you and your family enjoyed a wonderful stay, and found our location perfectly suited for a weekend getaway. We hope you had a great time exploring the area and going to the Rays and Buccaneers games. Please plan to visit us again the next time your travels bring you and your family to Clearwater. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed. Room was fantastic and service from front desk (Jeff) superb. Extremely well done breakfast including waffles that our granddaughter and all of us loved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Kenneth M,
I'm pleased to hear about your great stay, and your appreciation of our staff at Hampton Inn Clearwater. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback with our team regarding their outstanding service. We're happy to have had you and your family as our guests, and we hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because at 4 am the following morning I was going to be a guardian on an Honor Flight for a WWII veteran. The hotel was recommended by the Honor Flight program. I am extremely happy with the service and staff and it appears all the people I spoke with were also very satisfied. Thank you for helping to make this special day for the veterans even more special. If I am ever on another Honor Flight, I will again stay at your hotel (even though I only live in South Tampa). The treatment I received and the convenience so early in the morning were well worth the cost of the room! Thank you .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Elena C,
We appreciate your review and kind comments about the excellent service you received from us at Hampton Inn Clearwater. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while in town to be a guardian on an Honor Flight for a WWII veteran. We appreciate the opportunity to be a part of your travels, and we’re glad you had an enjoyable stay. Please plan to stay with us again if you have the opportunity to return to Clearwater. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
10.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
9.6 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#13 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
Address: 4050 Ulmerton Rd, Clearwater, FL 33762-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater/St. Petersburg-Ulmerton Road, FL hotel is minutes away from St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport and a short drive to many businesses and attractions.Explore 35 miles of white-sand beaches, including Fort De Soto Park, Caladesi Island and Clearwater Beach. Visit St. Pete Pier, a recreational pier featuring dining, fishing and family events in cultural downtown St. Petersburg. Visit Pier 60 on Clearwater Beach for shopping, playgrounds and beautiful sunsets when you stay at this hotel in Clearwater/St. Petersburg.Attend sporting events at Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, or Philadelphia Phillies Spring Training at Bright House Field, just 8 miles from the hotel. Practice your swing at numerous golf courses in the area. If you prefer the arts, visit the Gulf Coast Museum of Art and Salvador Dali Museum, or appreciate nature at the Clearwater Marine Aquarium.Start your day with Hampton's free hot breakfast. Stay in touch with your family and the office with free high-speed internet access in your room or in our 24-hour business center. After a day at the beach or in meetings, relax in your clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Among Clearwater/St. Petersburg hotels, you’ll find our first-class service and accommodations are close to it all, but far above the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
Hampton Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing