We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatest vacation ever!”
Review of Sands Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Point Motel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Dearborn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greatest vacation ever!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is our second year staying here. The owners, Stella and Edward are the best. They were always there and ready to give us what we need to make our stay the best experience. My husband Dany and I have had 2 different rooms and they were both very clean and stocked with everything you need for a short or long stay. You can buy food and they have everything for you to prepare it.Even a B-B-Q for your grilling pleasure. The rooms are beautiful and they were very clean and inviting.There is a large pool with plenty of space to lounge around and shuffle board for fun in the sun. They take great pride in their place and it shows with all the hard work they do daily to maintain the grounds, rooms and the friendships they have built with all who stay there.And it shows as we have met people from all over the world who come to stay at their "little Paradise". We definitely plan to go back next year and visit our friends. I was sad to leave. ( and they are in walking distance to the pier , great restaurants and the ocean :)...Thanks you Stella and Ed for another wonderful vacation!..Dan and Judi :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mstymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    26
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
65
64
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Sands Point Motel while in Clearwater Beach, Florida. The motel was very clean and had great character - similar to something you might see in Europe. There was a decent size pool with tables and chairs and also a grill to cook out for lunch/dinner. Its not huge, only 12 rooms, making it more intimate. The owners were very friendly and happy to help. The motel is basically one street over from the beach and a block or two to the boardwalk. There is also a trolley that you can get on for a small fee and get from one area of Clearwater Beach to another.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatieL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

With a lot of motels and hotels to choose from we found a small motel one street away from
the beach that is fantastic. This 10 room motel is operated by down to earth owners
that are on the premises daily to make sure everything is clean and everyone is comfortable.
The prices are reasonalble for our stay in March during the peak season. This being our
second stay in 2 years we found fellow vacationers from last year. As we found out, the
Sands Point Motel has customers that have been returning for over 7 years and stay
from one to two months at a time. Seemed like everyone was on a first name basis,
hanging around the pool and playing shuffleboard. Only negative was having to leave.
But you can't go back unless you leave. Our reservations are made for 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frank_s_bucksaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over the holidays. Yes, the motel is small, close to the beach, clean and of good value. The owners are very friendly and their hard work and pride in the motel is apparent.

The downsides, we reserved a king room which was changed to two full beds upon arrival. We were told the room was larger and had a kitchen, but we didn't necessarily need the bigger room or kitchen and would have preferred the bigger bed that apparently wasn't available. We were told it was a booking error. In a 12 +/- room motel one wonders how that happens? We found the full beds in our room to be "very" firm for us. The vertical blinds on the windows didn't seal very well and allowed a lot of light in until the exterior walkway lights went off around midnight.

As other members have mentioned, room service is minimal. They provided clean towels and emptied trash daily. We found this adequate for us but if you expect more (can't make your own bed), you may want to look elsewhere.

The biggest downside is that the motel is more or less in a man made canyon with several taller buildings toward the front of it. This generates/traps a fair amount of noise as the street is fairly busy until midnight or so and starts again around 6:00 AM. The single pane windows allow considerably more road noise and wind noise into the room than I cared for. The other issue is that we experienced unusually cool weather during our stay (mother natures fault not theirs). Several evenings got down into the high thirties and low forties (downright frigid for Florida). The motel has no built in/permanent heat sources in the rooms. They did distribute some small portable electric heaters but ours struggled to take the nip out of the air in our room. My wife also commented that the shear curtains in the bathrooms provided little to no privacy over the clear windows (no privacy glass).

Overall this is a clean budget friendly facility on the quaint side but not quite the tropical oasis other members have described.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gary8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here just after Christmas and the property is very nice, as well as the rooms. Fairly clean with the only con being a small ant problem. It seemed to be the perfect, affordable get away until we tried to communicate with management, who speak VERY POOR English. We tried three times to explain that we were having a few friends over and were making sure they could park in the motel parking. I'm not sure if we ever got an answer. The next morning they proceeded to tell us we were too noisy and that "no more friends tonight." (No one from management informed us that we were being too loud that night). They also harassed our guests once more when we were not around. Overall: nice property, seemingly nice management if you don't need to communicate with them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalinaAnna, Manager at Sands Point Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
We understand why you may have been unhappy with your stay however, your noise levels were very loud late at night. We had many guests complain about the noise and how they were unable to sleep. Also, you gave your keys to your guests and allowed them to come in and out of the room while you were not on the property. Guests are allowed, however they were being very disruptive to everyone else on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Have been staying at this lovely small motel since Ed and Stella have owned it. It is very clean and comfortably equipped to make your holiday a pleasure. Just returned from spending a holiday here in November and we're looking forward to returning again in March. The property is very well kept, with a shuffleboard and bar-b-que for guests' use. The pool is always sparkling. There are a variety of different room configurations to suit anyone's taste. Anyone who writes negative comments must be the jealous competition, as we have been going here for nine years with no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetgimbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed December first and second 2011. We had a lovely, lovely, lovely room! We could stay there a week! It was just so homey and bright and well cared for with a full kitchen with table, 2 full-sized beds, a TV, and the tiling was exquisite!!!!!! We had never stayed there before. You should have seen the surprised look on our faces when we saw our room! The owners just made you feel like you were at home; it was just delightful. While you are there don't miss eating at the Beachcomber Restaurant! Thank you, thank you for a wonderful stay at your unique little patch of Heaven in Clearwater, FL!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty1535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#48 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Tides Motel
Amber Tides Motel
#27 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Point Motel

Property: Sands Point Motel
Address: 433 Coronado Dr, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767-2506
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Point Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Family-Owned and operated, friendly motel, is located on the corner of Coronado Drive & Hamden. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and is nearby stores, resturaunts and Peir 60. Mini-golfing, parasailing, jetskiing, fishing and much more is all located nearby. Visit Clearwater Beach Marina and spend an afternoon on the high seas fishing or take in one of the relaxing nightly sunset cruises featuring fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sands Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Point Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing