We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3485 Ulmerton Road, Clearwater, FL 33762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
“Outstanding Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife and I frequent the area multiple times every year. Being our first stay here, we did not know what to expect. We were greeted promptly and professionally, and no request seemed to be an issue. The staff went out of their way to make us feel warm and welcome. The entire facility was nearly spotless, and, the breakfast is well-above average.

We find ourselves in Hotels for more than 50 nights per year for more than the past decade, and I have to say: the facility manager, David, is the best I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    80
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
106
60
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Having been to Tampa two straight years, the SpringHill has quickly become our go to place to stay. It’s a very short and easy drive from the airport. It’s approximately 10 minutes or so, and you get to cross the cool bridge over old Tampa Bay, which is always a great welcome to the Tampa-St. Petersburg area!

The hotel itself has the newer SpringHill design. The lobby looks new and is very clean. The rooms are a good size for a family of four to spread out a little bit, particularly with the sofabed put into play. My only real complaint about the room design is that it’s very tough to use the bathroom without waking everyone else up.

The exercise room was pretty good, with a treadmill, elliptical and water cooler. The pool area was in the back of the hotel, which I kind of liked because it gave it a feeling of calm and privacy away from the busy roads in front.

The free breakfast was very good. It had a lot of choices, and they rotated the various hot items so you didn’t get the same meal twice in a row. The breakfast area was comfortable, and a nearby conference room served as an overflow room if needed. I’m not sure any hotel with free breakfast ever has a big enough dining area, so it’s not fair to criticize it for that.

The location really is perfect. Along with the proximity to and ease to get to and from the airport, it is central to Tampa and Clearwater. Any trips to Busch Gardens or the beaches are easily done. The first time we stayed, there was massive construction on Ulmerton Road, which made it a challenge to get through. This year, they’ve progressed nicely and I’d imagine it should be completed very soon.

Tampa has proved to be our “gateway to Florida” as of late since the airfare from Detroit seems to be the least expensive. As such, we expect to continue to stay at this SpringHill each time we’re in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family and I arrived late at night at the St. Pete airport and wanted a close place to stay for the night. It is about a mile from the airport. The staff was very friendly at check-in. The room was clean. The beds were not very comfortable, but were fine for one night. The free breakfast was nothing special.....the cereal was very stale........I think the free breakfasts at the HILTON hotels ie. homewood suites are better. There are a lot of restaurants close....you could easily walk to Bob Evans or Chik Fil A from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 589funmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here since hotel was built on our way to Indian Rocks Beach each year. This hotel is the best of any we have stayed at in all our travels. I wish we could clone this hotel to each city we stay at throughout the year. It is super clean, modern, great breakfast, and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. I had the opportunity to talk to manager today, who was giving out small rubber ducks to kids, wow you won't find that many places. I now know why this place is so nice...it all starts at the top and he sets a great example. Great job Springhill Suites Clearwater...once again you make our stay perfect!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MOAngusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for a night after spending a wonderful day at Fort De Soto Park beach. Living in Orlando, we didn't want to go back home on the same day. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and before leaving in the morning we had an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace03162014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I usually don't write hotel reviews, as most stays are unremarkable. The hotel is typical of the Springhill brand, comfortable with the right amenities. However what especially stands out at this location is guest services as delivered by the front desk, c/o Guest Services Representative Chris R. A very friendly welcome was received after a long trip, extra assistance with driving navigation for an early meeting, and all around exceptional guest interaction. All hotel check ins should be this good!. This is a great business stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Clean hotel, nice and comfortable rooms, great breakfast buffet and very friendly staff. My kids also appreciated the complimentary chocolate-chip cookies at the reception desk when we came back from dinner in the evening. Value-for-money, this hotel is a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
8.3 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Property: SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
Address: 3485 Ulmerton Road, Clearwater, FL 33762
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**!!NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS AND COMMON AREAS. LOBBY AND MEETING ROOM UPGRADES. LOBBY HAS PLENTY OF ELECTRICAL OUTLET FOR YOUR ELECTRONICS!!**. If you're looking for a great hotel in Clearwater, Florida, you'll find that the SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater is perfect for business or pleasure. Our all-suite Clearwater hotel is near St. Petersburg-Clearwater Airport and Bright House Networks Field - the Phillies' spring training home. We're close to Carillon Parkway and key offices for Cardinal Health, Franklin Templeton, and Regions Bank. Pinellas Park, St. Petersburg Pier, Tropicana Field, Tampa Airport - and soft white beaches - are just a short drive away. Our studio suites are 25% larger than average hotel rooms; our Clearwater suites offer free Wi-Fi, over 50 HDTV channels, mini-refrigerators, microwaves, and plush beds. Wake to our complimentary NEW hot breakfast buffet including fresh meats and cheeses, sweet bread and fresh fruit. Unwind in our sparkling pool, whirlpool, or fitness center. Grab a late-night snack in our on-site convenience mart. Planning a meeting? Let us know ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott St. Petersburg/Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Springhill Suites Clearwater
Clearwater Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing