We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
67
82
48
26
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
82
48
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanclearwater beachphillies spring trainingyogurti highly recommend this hotelking bedstayed here for nightslocation was perfectdunedinpropertieschannels
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 250 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

On our first night we didn't have enough towels. My husband went to the desk and asked for a few extras and they told him they were all out and didn't know why! Pretty disappointing to a family trying to shower before walking down the aisle for a wedding! The next morning my husband witnessed a maid sitting in the hall crying next to her cart. He said she was there much of the morning. On top of that, our room key kept failing! We had to get a new one several times. We were also unhappy that there was no snack vending or small store. The staff was nice though, and they were able to check us in a bit early.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank TheOhioTraveling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Dear TheOhioTraveling4,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. I would like to apologize for the lack of towels in your room and any shortfalls you have noticed during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We booked a reservation here due to evacuation from Key West for Hurricane Irma. We arrived in the wee hours of 7 Sep 17. The night clerk, Efrain, was very accommodating and helpful.
While the room itself was clean and serviceable enough at first sight it smelled musty and stale. Once we lost power, the whole place had a distinctly funky odor. On a positive note, the bed was extremely comfortable and I LOVED the pillows. The housekeeping staff was very sweet.
Do not be fooled by the photos on the website. This hotel is worn and rundown. The furniture in the lobby area has tears at the seams and the rugs are dirty. On 10 Sep Irma passed through and we lost power. The hotel had a generator but it would only power the lobby area. It was extremely hot and airless in the room since the windows do not open. So me, along with others, spent the night in the lobby for the next 3 nights sleeping in chairs or on sofas. Once the storm had passed, staff opened the two lobby doors so we’d get some cross breezes, but it was still hot and sticky. Leaves and other detritus blew inside and no one made any effort to sweep them up or otherwise clean the area which I did think strange as one of the maids had told me that the manager had opened the hotel to the employees who felt that their own homes were not safe; they were free to stay in the hotel until the storm passed. I know they couldn’t vacuum or do laundry, but sweeping/tidying the lobby area would have been nice. However, the lobby/reception staff were overworked and making the best with what they had.
On two back-to-back days, my keycard would not swipe and staff had to reprogram it to work.
We toughed it out until 13 Sep when my husband found a room for us in Orlando and we made the move to air conditioning and hot showers.
During our stay, I have to say, the STAFF was great. Efrain, Josh, Nigel and the lady that took care of the breakfasts each morning (I forget her name—Brenda maybe?) went above and beyond their pay grades trying to mitigate the circumstances and keep guests comfortable to the best of their ability. Which was a lot more than I could say about the hotel manager, Joe Appiah. Efrain worked extra shifts (and probably some others did too) and was told that he would not get overtime pay. The breakfast lady went out of her way to keep food stocked and even went somewhere else that had power to cook eggs and bacon and brought it over when we had no power. I have no idea what the other reviewers who said she was rude were talking about. Joe Appiah has to be the absolute worst manager ever. I saw him the morning after we checked in and after that…nothing until the day we checked out. Not once after Hurricane Irma hit did he even deign to show up on the premises, much less interact with the guests and see to their needs. The poor staff was trying to figure out how to serve breakfasts to guests with no power to the kitchen. That should never have been a burden they were forced to bear. The manager should have been there trying to give assistance and come up with at least temporary solutions to a bad situation. He must have gotten word that guests were upset because, suddenly, on the morning of 13 Sep, he was there, glad-handing and smiling like he was running for political office.
The vending machines seemed to always be out of order or empty. There was one ice machine.
The morning of 13 Sep we were packed and ready to leave when Josh came around. Most guests had checked out by now and the staff was going from room to room to see who was still there. We were on the 3rd floor (no elevator now) and both my husband and I have bad knees and back problems. Josh stopped what he was doing, grabbed Nigel, and together they carried down all our stuff to our vehicles for us. I cannot tell you how much stress that took from us.
The storm made it a bad situation. The staff made the best with what they had to work with. Joe Appiah flunks out totally in the hospitality industry. I feel sorry for people who have to work under him.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookie611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Hi Pookie611,

Thanks for your recent overnight, your feedback is appreciated. I'm sorry to hear that the accommodations provided did not meet your expectations. I also regret to learn about the inconvenience caused by our overall upkeep and the unusual odor as described in your review. Additionally, it's sad to learn that you were further letdown by the cleanliness of our lobby and the visibility of one of our Managers at that time. This is not the impression we'd like to leave any of our guests and your feedback is shared with the management to ensure that similar situations are handled in the best possible way. On a lighter note, I'm glad that our efficient staff were efficient and tried to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. Despite these shortfalls, I hope you find your way back to us when your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your next experience better than the previous.

Kind Regards,

Jillian I
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We booked a room for two nights with this hotel on the morning of 9/12 for a stay from 9/13-9/14. We got a confirmation email and all seemed to be well. On 9/13, we drove back to Clearwater from Atlanta, GA, arriving at the hotel at approximately 9:30pm. When we arrived, we found out that the hotel was out of power and our reservation had been cancelled. We were left with no rooms available except for one on Clearwater Beach that charged about $300/night after taxes.

Now, the loss of power was completely out of their hands (hurricane Irma). However, the website still processed the reservation, and at no point at anytime either on 9/12 or 9/13 were we contacted about the lack of power. Had we been contacted, we could have tried to find an alternative hotel (there were many hotels with rooms available when we searched the morning of 9/12 at comparable prices).

I find it extremely unprofessional that no one at the hotel called corporate and asked them to handle reservations and communicating with their guests. Instead, we were left to think that we had a room waiting for us, only to get to town and have to scramble to find alternative lodging.

This hotel's lack of communication cost us an additional $200 from the difference in rates. When we reached out to Holiday Inn to complain about the experience, we were told that we should contact FEMA and file a claim for "lost income." (They didn't even contact us - we had to call corporate to ask about an update for our complaint in order to get the response.)

This will never again be our first choice of lodging, despite it being one of the closest hotels to our home. We will instead be having our friends and relatives stay at a hotel that employees a more professional and proactive level of customer service.

Room Tip: avoid completely
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayCLW-DOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

We apologize for the inconvenience you suffered during our power outage due to Hurricane Irma. It was and continues to be our priority to communicate with our guests throughout the entire reservation process and hotel stay. Given these unique circumstances we were not able to follow up with many of our upcoming guests. We were assured by local authorities, our power would be restored promptly. As you know, this was not the outcome. During our power outage, we were unable to access vital guest information, such as arrivals or any records in order to contact. We also experienced a loss of phone lines, and internet service, which made it very difficult and near to impossible to communicate with IHG corporate office. Our concern was then focused on our evacuated guests and to provided them with the best service we had available to us. Due to our efforts during the storm, as well as the recovery, we have received many accolades, thanks and appreciation, from guests. We realize you were in a very difficult position. We want you know it was not deliberate. It was a learning experience for us moving forward, how to handle any future natural disasters. We hope you are able to offer us another opportunity to show our wonderful customer in everyday operations, as well as in the face of adversity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

In general this is a very good hotel specially for business trips. It is located 5 minutes from the brigde that communicates with Tampa. There are several restaurants around it (pizza, italian, fast food). The room is good, big and clean, TV sometimes doesn't allow to change channel but it's not critical. However WiFi is a nigthmare, it works with login session and sometimes that get blocked by the browsers on the cellphones so you're likely to use the internet in an intermitant fashion.

Breakfast is good but it's pretty much the same every day, so if you stay for long term it can be boring. for entretainment it has a pool and that's it. Lucky the beach is 15 minutes by car away. It's a good hotel for business trips, not so much for pleasure trips

Room Tip: Rooms located towards main street may be noisy
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannie_G31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayCLW-DOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you very much for your review Dannie_G31. We are happy you have shared our convenient location. We are in the process of upgrading our hotel and leisure activities. Our WiFi has been upgraded, since your stay as well. The upgrade enables fast internet and seem-less cellphone coverage. We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We were there Sept. 9th til Sept.11th because of evacuation in our area due to hurricane Irma. WE had over 10 in our group plus dogs and a fish. The staff was so accommodating to our needs during this time even on limited staff. We .lost power on Sunday night. We assumed there would be no hot breakfast in the morning, but lo and behold the Sales Manager and her family managed to grill us eggs, sausage and bacon. But what was realllllyyyy upsetting was the fact that there were those people that expected and demanded in front of other guests things that were beyond the control of the Hotel during hurricane Irma. The staff stayed very professional and In my opinion they went well above and beyond in their service during the hurricane. They could have just as well as stayed home and we would of had no where to go for shelter. So thank you to all the staff that survived Hurricane Irma 2017 with us.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandlbarnes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews