We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, it was close to the beach...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well, it was close to the beach...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Although this hotel is very close to the beach, they neglect little things. There were a number of issues including having to ask for towels and also for sheets for the pullout. We had to switch rooms because the toilet didn't work. These should be "given." The front desk staff is excellent, but they are constantly having to make up for shortcomings in the maintenance and housekeeping staff. The good news is that the free continental breakfast is managed by the front desk people. P.S. The Clearwater Beach is beautiful but best enjoyed on a weekday as the weekends are extremely crowded.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anappleaday10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    401
    131
    42
    38
See reviews for
424
321
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angola IN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Pelican Pointe has a great location - not too close to the action so it's quiet at night, but close enough you're only a block or two away from loads of great places to eat and play. Nice little pool, super clean rooms with efficiency kitchen - sink, microwave, mini fridge, silverware and dishes. Breakfast available in the mornings. If you arrive after hours, know that you'll need a code to access your key from a lock box outside the office. I will definitely bring the family back here. All the upgrades along Clearwater Beach extend right down to the hotel, so it's really easy to get around and you're just yards from the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrilliantChrysalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, USA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Our extended family stayed here for destination wedding on the beach then reception on Calipso Queen Boat (fun!). Being June it is HOT and our room was on 4th floor and due to architecture and misplaced a/c unit our room (which needed 2 units!) it was warmer than what we enjoy. Front office did all they could to make us comfy as they could (we did not request room change) by giving us a fan and asking about our comfort several times. Other family members who were located on floors 1-3 did not have this problem so I do recommend if you are there in summer to get a room on level 2 or 3 and sacrifice the view for comfort.

The property is very clean. Beautiful pool. Great cleaning staff who will clean daily if you request (we did not but other family members did w/ no issues). Night staff person patroled pool and enforced quiet after 11pm (yeah, we were the noisy ones!) Our room was very pretty and comfortable. Had fridge and sink, microwave and a few dishes, etc. Ironing board, blow dryer, etc however, each room is owned by a private person so you may want to ask if you room has what you need - everyone in family seemed pleased w/ what theirs had.

Location to restaurants and beach is EXCELLENT. If you want shopping besides surf shops you will need to drive. Plenty of restaurants and night life w/in walking distance. Hotel office made very good recommendations.

If you plan to arrive after 6pm your key is locked in a box w/ other people's keys. Luckily we had family there to retrieve code for us as we were unavailable by phone and forgot to get code in our lengthly day traveling there. This will be something you want to pay attention to as some of our family members ended up staying elsewhere $$ that first night b/c they didn't get their code! I am not sure if they requested/received a refund for that first night.

I would stay at this hotel again as long as my room had better a/c. One of the best prices in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imotherothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Great Hotel. Location and price were great. Nice pool. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great staff very polite and respectful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyepes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had a good experience at the Pelican Pointe Hotel in Clearwater Beach, Florida. The staff were all very nice and helpful. I traveled with 2 teenage boys. The room was perfect for our needs. We used the kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator, dishes/silverware. The location was perfect. We were just steps from the beach, all restaurants and activities located in Clearwater Beach. The city was safe and had police officers patroling at night which put a mom of teenagers at ease. The hotel had plenty of parking, floats available for use at the pool, beach and pool towels, as well as daily towel service in the hotel. The daily continental breakfast was a good light start to our days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momandtwoboys38954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Great place to stay for a few days. We have 2 young kids and room right by pool. Very convenient! The beach was wonderful! They staff was very friendly! Scott in the office was great! We will go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allaboutbabies7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

stayed here 9th - 23rd june.our problems started as soon as we arrived.having had to drive from sanford airport we arrived at reception at 18:15 and found it locked.we had no idea of this before travelling.there was a out of hours contact number on the door wich we could not connect with.by pure chance we came across some sub contract workers who were doing some work and one of them contacted the receptionist and got the code to the lock box.we got to the room and the first thing we noticed were the towells were dirty .brown smudge marks on at least 3 of them.the main problem with this property is that your on your own outside of office hours.most hotels i have stopped at close the pool at a certain time but here there were guests screaming and shouting at the pool till 3 in the morning.usually i would call reception and ask them to have a word but not here.no security at all after 6 in the evening.the free breakfast is adequate to start the day .it opens at 8 and most days that is when the coffee is started.take your own down,it will save you a wait.they have a self serve laundry on site but on 3 occasions the reception were reluctant to break a dollar into quarters.be prepared for that.you have to ask for everything whereas other places i have stayed you get coffee filters and towels on a daily basis.if you don,t put a sign on the door you will get nothing for the duration of your stay.we had towells bought to our room at 10 o,clock 1 night because they had run out and we had to wait.from the fourth floor the pool looked very dirty so we never used it.it seems like every door in the hotel does not close correctly.ours had to be pulled very firmly to make it lock.seems like other inconsiderate guests just resort to slamming it so there is constant banging from this.i was looking forward to my stay here from reading the reviews on here before travelling.i have used trip advisor in the past and it as allways helped me choose the right hotel,but failed on this occasion.stayed at the hilton about a mile up the road last year and the difference is clear to tell.unfortunately i would not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewkingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#15 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.4 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort

Property: Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Address: 445 Gulf View Blvd., Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing