We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for you if you mind noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for you if you mind noise”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff couldn't have been more friendly, and the room itself was cheerful, nicely maintained, good sized, and I liked the decor.

The biggest issue for me was noise: there is a large construction project going on right across the street, and they start early and work Saturdays. Add to that little sound insulation so that you can hear the people speaking in the room next door, the TV, motorcycles on the main drag, and sometimes drunk guests yelling, and it was too much for me. I agreed to stay two nights and cancelled the remaining three, and they were very accomodating about this.

I am not sure what the hotel can do about this, I don't know how you would soundproof the units and they can't control the construction noise.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are two units (123 and 124) that are on the path from the office to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anngoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Ann Goggin,

We apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory due to the noise. As for the street noise, and construction across the street that is beyond our control. We are working on our rooms, and hoping to eliminate the noise between rooms. On a better note we are pleased that you found our staff friendly, and our rooms pleasant and well maintained. Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience here was not overall a good one, but we invite you again to give us another try on your next vacation. We at Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC., greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    416
    135
    42
    38
See reviews for
443
330
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Checked into a poolside room and a large group checked in above us. Expressed our concern about the noise they might cause right away to the front desk and was assured if the noise got out of control it would be addressed. From 2:40 AM- 4 AM it was louder than words can describe. Front desk is closed overnight, but apparently there is a security guard that is there somewhere but that didn't seem to help at all. Reported it to the front desk in the morning and asked for a move or room for us or for the loud group. That was not accommodated. The front desk advised the guard would be parked outside that area of the Pelican that next night. It was so loud at 3 AM (when the bars close) that people from the other building were outside screaming out their windows that they were going to call the police in an attempt quiet the rowdy guests down. Again went to the front desk in the morning, and was assured it would not happen again. It never got better. On check out, they said- "we hope you return", and I advised it was doubtful because of their lack of control for the noise. They didn't even offer a discount. They require payment in full upon check on so you have no recourse. There is no chance to sleep late after you have been up with the noise from 2:30 AM- 4 AM because the major construction right across the way starts very early. They claim to be a family friendly resort but unless your family does not mind being up for most of the night I would steer clear of this place. Would not stay here again no matter what.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Sunshine 181,

We apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory due to the noise at the hotel. It appears that during your stay we definitely failed when it comes to controlling the noise. While we try to emphasize to our guests making reservations for March that it is the Spring Break season, we agree that we can make more of an effort to control the noise. My staff and I have reviewed your comments and have taken appropriate actions to resolve the issue. In addition, we are re-evaluating our security processes to ensure that type of issue does not occur in the future. Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience here was not a good one, and management invites you personally to give us another try. We, at Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC., greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Mu husband and I stayed at Pelican Point for two weeks after booking on the internet. I am always apprehensive about internet bookings because the hotels/resorts usually aren't as nice as they say they are. Pelican Point was! Our room was fine, the bed was comfortable and the kitchen was nicely equipped, even a cork screw. The front office was friendly and answered any questions with a smile. While we didn't need maintenance, those gentlemen were seen assisting guests with minor problems promptly. The pool was clean and heated. The housekeeping staff was also accommodating as far as coming back if we needed a later time. Pelican Point is within walking distance of the Pier, restaurants, and shops. There was a lot of noise from the condos being built across the street, but that is progress. Oh, the staff also does a cook out every other Friday for the guests which is a nice touch. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Marie T.,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay. It is pleasing to us that you remarked about the perfect location of our hotel plus the cleanliness of our rooms, and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees, and owners. We know how uneasy anyone can be booking online, and we are pleased that we met your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay, and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again. From the staff at Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC, we want to thank you again for staying at the Pelican Pointe Resort and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The employees were real nice. We were in unit 228. The beds were full size. Beds were very uncomfortable. The one bed made a loud noise every time you moved. Woke me up every time I turned over in the night. The futon in the kitchen area was the only seating & it was terrible. This unit needs some kind of comfortable seating. I brought in an outside chair off the balcony to sit in when watching tv. Also would have liked something to cook on. I am diabetic & I have to eat something before taking medication. Would have been nice to be able to make & egg. Would not recommend this unit to anyone that I know.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Helanator,

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately sometimes we may fall short of every expectation. The rooms are equipped with a microwave, and it is disappointing to see that our recent refurbishments did not meet your expectations. We will look into the bedding issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our rooms. Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience here was not overall a good one, but we invite you again to give us another try on your next vacation. We at Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC., greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The unit we were in was poolside so it was very nice. Price is affordable. The noise is irritating though. On top of LOTS of traffic, there is a new hotel being built across the street. They are in the process of doing the ground work ( drilling piles and such). It starts at 7:30 am till 5:00 pm. If you are gone all day it's no big deal, if not you won't be sitting poolside listening to the ocean.
The only problem we had was that I booked a room that could technically hold 6 ppl, but put that there were 3 occupants. They moved us to a smaller rm. I was not impressed. Was not offered a discount or anything. Both rooms( booked and used) were poolside so I sucked it up. Very clean though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairiegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Prairiegirl72,

We at the Pelican Pointe Resort stride to please our guest, and sometimes we may fall short. We apologize that your stay with us was not perfect due to the noise, and room size. We keep everyone in the room type they have booked, and never down grade anyone. On the other hand some rooms are not in a location that is desired, but we try our best to accommodate everyone. On a better note we are pleased that you found our rooms pleasant, and well maintained. Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience here was not overall a good one, but we invite you again to give us another try on your next vacation. We at Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC., greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Good rooms nice pool and great people! Great value and good location just across from the beach. My flight got cancelled and they moved incoming reservations so I didn't have to move rooms. Close to everything food bars baeach

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank chuckb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear chuckb007,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay. It is pleasing to us that you remarked about our hotel and its location, and our friendly and helpful staff. We have passed this on to our employees, and owners. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay, and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again. From the staff at Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC, we want to thank you again for staying at the Pelican Pointe Resort and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I would certainly recommend the Pelican Pointe as a place to stay in Clearwater Beach. We stayed 4 nights and have no complaints. Very good location. Reasonable price, free parking, very helpful front desk personnel, very good cleaning staff, large & comfortable room and bath. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2014lor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear 2014lor,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay. It is pleasing to us that you remarked about our hotel and its cleanliness, and the staff along with the location and price. We have passed this on to our employees, and owners. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay, and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again. From the staff at Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC, we want to thank you again for staying at the Pelican Pointe Resort and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort

Property: Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Address: 445 Gulf View Blvd., Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing