We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than what I imagined, very satisfied during my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way better than what I imagined, very satisfied during my stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend over the New Year weekend for a little out of town getaway.

This older hotel was very well kept, fresh paint and the pool deck appeared updated as well. We did not swim, but the pool looked very clean and a few other guests seemed to enjoy it. Coin laundry, ice machine, and a couple vending machines were also available on site.

The view was nice, although it is not beachfront, it is right across the street and you can see the beach from the west facing rooms.

Our room in general was well kept and very clean on our arrival. It was decorated very nicely. We like our room cold so it was nice to have a easy to use climate control which was relatively quiet and chilled the room pretty quickly. Plenty of lighting choices to create whatever brightness you prefer. Rooms also have wireless internet access.

The bedroom area had a cable TV and phone. The bed was really comfortable along with the pillows. There was also a detached closet with hangars. Our room had a window on the opposite side of the hotel and it was nice to keep an eye on my vehicle.

The bathroom was small, but was clean and was modern. One thing I thought was cool was the body wash/shampoo dispensers attached to the wall of the shower/bathtub area. The sink area is outside the actual bathroom and had a soap dispenser. Plenty of body and hand towels.

Our room had a kitchenette complete with mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, sink, plates, silverware and plenty of storage. There was even a TV and couch in the kitchenette area, which was nice when my girlfriend wanted to watch shows I couldn't stand. There was also a small table with two chairs in front of the window in the Kitchenette area.

Outside, were also two chairs and a table in front of our room. It was sort of like a semi private balcony due to the wall that extends out a couple feet between each room. Other guests that walked by were all polite and said hello.

Although we did not have breakfast at the hotel, there was a small continental breakfast available every morning in the lobby with coffee, pastries, and juices.

Location was awesome. There are plenty of restaurants and beach shops within walking distance. Other than a trip to the mall a few miles away, we did not have to worry about driving or parking whatsoever. There is even a Walgreens down the street in case you forgot to pack something. The beach is directly across the street and Pier 60 is less than a 5 minute walk.

On a New Year weekend, it was much quieter than I expected and everything winded down around midnight, which is the hotel's noise curfew.

The staff was nice at check in and check out, and the maids cleaned up the room very nicely while we were out. Our rate was very fair considering the time of year, quality of service, and the amenities we received.

The best way I can describe this hotel compared to larger franchises is the difference between a home cooked meal and a TV dinner. This hotel was very unique and made us feel welcome. I will definitely return here during the summer or anytime I plan a trip to Clearwater beach.

I speak so highly of this place because I am a believer of small establishments that provide better service than the bigger chain hotels.

My only regret was not staying a couple extra days!

Room Tip: It is not a beachfront hotel, but is directly across the street. This is a L shaped hotel. If you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    408
    131
    42
    38
See reviews for
433
329
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed over the Christmas Holiday 2011. Friendly helpful staff- Bud, Ashley, Kimberly, Jessica and Mike- thank you for your hospitality. Small, intimate 60's motel vibe currently having an exterior remodel (nice). Rooms clean and functional- close to everything on the beach.
Great experience- so glad we tried this instead of the "chain hotels"

Room Tip: Room 429- nice view and no walk by traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, General Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Thank you for spending the holiday with us. It was our pleasure serving you. I hope you can come again after our remodel is finished. It is going to look fantastic! I would also like to thank you for complimenting the staff and I will reward them for their efforts. It is our goal to provide you with a quality vacation experience at a value price. Have a wonderful new year! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Nice location, friendly staff. Mortified first morning to find mold around bathtub, since both my wife and I are allergic to mold. Result, we couldn't shower! Spoke desk staff and were told would have matter rectified. But later same day found nothing done to remove mold. Again spoke evening shift desk clerk who pesonally came to room with cleaning materials and tried to remove it, but didn't work. She made written reprt to manager, but nothing done by late aternoon of third day. Spoke personally to facility manager who reported he had plumber on the premises. I had to suggest that grouting at tub surface be removed and replaced with fresh grout, which he found to be a brilliant idea. He had it done. We left ten days later, showered and refreshed by our vacation but with a bad taste in our mouth for Pelican Point. Sorry, but we won't be staying there again. Housekeeping staff seemed disinterested. We noticed that if no tip was not left for the housekeeping staff each day, the bed was only thrown together, instead of being re-made.That tip really made a world of difference.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professoreugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, General Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
This is a difficult review to respond to since the guest stayed here 11 months ago. Since February 2011 we have remodeled the entire building and replaced the majority of the staff. I am confident that any issues that were present a year ago have all been properly addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed with my wife and kids for 3 days for the 4th of July weekend 2011. Clean room, great service, friendly staff, pool for the family, close to restaurants and right in front of the beach. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luism12lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed in this hotel the week before Thanksgiving, which is a great time to visit Clearwater. This hotel was OK for the price. The pool was not heated, which was a big disappointed due to the ocean water being to cold to swim in. Our room was clean but a bit small for 2 people. The noise level is definitely a turn off, the doors to the rooms are very heavy and open and shut very loudly which makes it difficult to sleep when other visitors to the hotel are coming and going. All in all we probably will not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannynlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, General Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. At the time of your visit we were preparing for major remodeling. This included work on the pool floor. Our pool is heated but due to the construction the heater was not functioning. We are also addressing the doors and installing a brand new locking system. The next time you are in Clearwater Beach you will see a brand new resort that is completely different including new exterior colors and landscaping. We will also continue to referbish our interiors for your comfort. I am sorry that you did not get the benefit of the completed project and hope that you would consider us again after we finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The location is great, close enough to walk to everything. The trip to Clearwater was a birthday gift for a long time friend. We did a 4 day girls only trip (Yes, the guys stayed home) and not really knowing the area, made several trips to the front desk asking where we should go and what we should do. Jessica was wonderful. Always smiling and full of all the right answers. The only complaint we had was when we arrived, I dropped a bottle of water on the kitchen floor. I grabbed one of the bathroom towels to clean it up. Being that the towel was white, we saw exactly how dirty it was. It creeped us out a bit so we decided to wash all of the floors. Other then that, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely go back again. Carrie R

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanPointeMgmt, General Manager at Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
We are glad that you had a great time in Clearwater. I have rewarded the front desk associate for her performance and I thank you for including her in the review. I also passed along your concern about the floor to my housekeeping supervisor. Thank you for staying at Pelican Pointe and bring the boys next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Ideal location, directly across the street from the beach and within walking distance to Pier 60, restauraunts and night life. The rooms are clean and spacious and offer a fridge and microwave. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Housekeeping was very accomodating. This is a great deal for the money. I highly recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KVG1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#16 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.4 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort

Property: Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Address: 445 Gulf View Blvd., Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing