We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish”

Frenchy's Original Cafe
Ranked #20 of 696 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fish”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stopped for lunch, patio was full, sat inside. Ate sea food chowder which was outstanding. My wife and I shared a grouper sandwich which they cut in half and served on two plates. Great meal and great service

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jrsvphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    261
    104
    47
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“GROUPER !”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

So with all the hype about this place and the grouper, we had to try. I was excited to first see they had Cracked conch, I love it and get it wherever I can but being from the north it's hard to come by . The last i've had it was from the Bahamas so my standards are pretty high..haha. for me the greese was a bit to much and the breading wasn't light..was ok..nothing to rave about, I maybe would order again to give it another try.
I had the original grouper and must say that was pretty good. the slaw dont even get but to each is own..i'll just tell you this and its up to you. the slaw is a bit sweet and no mayo..not my type but i understand thats a different way for slaw, just not my liking.... Enjoy the grouper ! Oh and yeas we had some drinks, I cant recall but we we did have two different types and they were really good. I would order any mix drink, i'm sure they'll be just as good

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sit Outside with Your Dog”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love that our little dog can be with us as we have a cold beer and a FRIED Grouper sandwich. Life's more fun with our four-legged friends!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ORIGINAL FRENCHY'S”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was the first, and still is the best of Frenchy's. I have had many wonderful evenings enjoying some of the best food on the beach. It is small, and not located right on the beach, but across the street. My family comes over from England, and this is the place for many get togethers. I live in Clearwater, and this is by far my favorite place on the beach for food and fun.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flafreethinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“grouper heaven”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Frenchy's is always a great place to mix and mingle, get a grouper sandwich and watch a beautiful sunset when in clearwater. sure it's a tourist spot and we had to wait almost an hour for a table at sunset but you have to expect that during phillies spring training. it never disappoints.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frenchy's Original Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing