We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food....bad service!”

Frenchy's Original Cafe
Ranked #19 of 690 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food....bad service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went to all 3 frenchys locations and the service here was the worst! We had the same waitress twice and she was just not friendly! However, the food here was so fresh and the fried oreos are so yummy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    259
    100
    44
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best grouper sandwich on Clearwater beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is been around since 1981 and they know how to make a great Cajun, grilled or fried. The original cafe is small but Mr French has four more restaurant in town and they all are serve fresh seafood. New item fried Oreos nothing fishy here real good. Enjoy :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob5by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went because we saw an ad in the magazine in the airplane on the way down and it was close to our hotel. The sandwich as ordinary, the bun was way too basic and the rum punch was weak

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best crabcakes on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you're into all types of fresh seafood, GO HERE! You can walk up to the restaurant right off the beach in your bathing suit too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grouper sandwiches in my belly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in town for my best friends birthday and stopped to eat here on our way out of town because we heard it was so great! We were not disappointed! The restaurant is super small but there was plenty of room at the bar for the five of us. The bartenders were so friendly and were joking with us and kept us laughing the whole time! The grouper sandwich was fantastic!!!! I got the original and my friend got the cajun. The gumbo was also really really good! I also got a bloody mary which was awesome! So good and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniV1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Original Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Original Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing