We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking for the best grouper sandwich”

Frenchy's Original Cafe
Ranked #20 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“looking for the best grouper sandwich”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We are big Dockside Dave's fans, but I always think we will find a grouper sandwich that rivals Dockside Dave's, but it's not Frenchy's. After a 75 minute 13 mile drive we were starving (Clearwater Beach traffic sucks) but the sandwich was average at best. Both my wife's cajun and my blackened were bland. I will say the sevice was great and the bartender (I think Samantha) did a great job. Back to Dockside Dave's next time we want grouper.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank R-Knee626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    260
    103
    46
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Where Frenchy's began”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a little restaurant that owns a fishing fleet. The fleet provides for the other Frenchy's restaurants, but this one gets its share of super fresh fish right fron the Gulf. You don't dress up for Frenchy's -- the local folks love this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florida207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were recommended to go to Frenchy's Original by a local. Went on a Monday and had the crab and corn soup in a bread bowl, big disappointment, no visible crab at all. Should have had the burger, it was the special of the day and appears what everybody was ordering. Next time was the Grouper sandwich and it was way over cooked. Friday is the shrimp special day, which we had and again it was grossly over cooked, think shrimp jerky.That was it for us, three strikes and your out. Seafood shouldn't be over cooked the way Frenchy's does it. Service was good but we did'nt like those farty little glasses that they serve the beer in. Better restaurants in the area are the Brown Boxer and Cooters.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Would Make Jimmy Buffet Proud”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Staying in Clearwater, I was jonesing for the type of authentic, laid back beach-type joint that serves good food in a fun atmosphere. Frenchy's Original hits the spot. Located just off of the main street in Clearwater Beach, it's got a small dining room, a bar and some outdoor patio seating. It's not big but it has a lot of charm. Seafood dishes are well priced and very tasty. It offers an excellent Cuban sandwich as well. My 10 year old son was also enthralled with the fried oreos, so try those.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnEGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beach casual, good food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hole in the wall. Kind of funky, friendly staff, nice portions, no pretense. Jeans, shorts, clean, sweaty, sun burnt, doesn't matter, walk on in, or sit at tables along the side walk outside. Fun on a budget.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Original Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Original Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing