We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fantastic Fun and Friendly”
Review of Silver Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Sands Motel
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We only stayed one night unique hotel soo clean and fresh old style Clearwater at it's best. I would not hesitate in recommending this motel. When you have a great reputation to live up to sometimes it's difficult to, but this hotel is everything and more that you would expect from previous great reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 88 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

We found the owners to be very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in room 7 which had a kitchen in it as well. The price we paid was great in comparison to what other motels around the area charge and having a fridge, microwave and stove make everything easier. Great reviews and a great price makes this place the best bang for your buck. The sheets were clean, as was the rest of the unit. It took us about a 3-5 minute walk to get to the beach. It's not very far at all and you don't have to pay the premium most beachfront motels charge. Overall had a fantastic stay. Just two notes I want to make for other travelers, the pool is more like a hot tub in size so keep that in mind. Also to get WiFi internet we had to be on the front porch outside of the room. This may because our room was the furthest one from the office but just something to consider. There was chairs outside so we did not find it to be a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wakeboarder999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This motel is owned and operated by Jack and Anna. They are the perfect hosts. They are friendly, accommodating, and make you feel at home. The rooms are sparkling clean and provide microwave, stove, refrigerator, eating area, dishes, utensils, nice size TV, comfy bed, free internet access, in-room safe, plenty of closet space, and a nice size pool with jets. The motel is just a block from the beach, so it's location is perfect. The area is quiet for being so close to the beach and in the evenings, the guests visit with each other in the patio/pool area. It's also very centrally located near beach restaurants. Pier 60 has street entertainment and crafts every day before and after sunset and is an easy walk from the motel. The motel is small with only 8 rooms and that makes it very quiet and unique from the big chains. Parking is provided free.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunlover534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is a great value motel which is well located in Clearwater. 

We booked the "large efficiency" room which was well-sized, highly comfortable, spotlessly clean and air-conditioned.
It had two double-beds, a separate walk-in shower and the towels were changed daily. There was also a fixed security box in one of the cabinets which was very useful.
Free Wi-Fi was available.
The motel has a significant level of repeat customers which is always a good sign.
Overall, I would recommend it highly.     

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Silver Sands for long weekend in March after ending a business meeting in Tampa. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet; even though the motel was fully-booked during our stay. The owners were very friendly and hard working. They organized a pot-luck dinner for all the guests that included a fabulous barbeque.
We will definately return to this motel at our next opportunity. The positive reviews by other contributors tell the whole story.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inds_flames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Silver Sands Motel is a great place to stay. Me and my boyfriend came to Florida from Michigan in March. We tried so hard to find a nice hotel / with a kitchenet for a decent price to not cut into our budget. Everything we found had horrible reviews, then came this. After being so tired of looking we decided to go with it. Being a motel I was a little worried. When we arrived I was more than pleased. This place is so nice and clean. You have your own apartment with a bed or 2, bathroom and kitchen. Everything looked pretty new and was really clean. The owners are really nice and restock your room with fresh towels and toilet paper everyday. The motel is only a couple blocks from beautiful Clearwater Beach and only a short walk from the main strip. If you are a spring breaker this in not the place for you, nor will they let you stay here. It is a quiet and peaceful area and motel. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The reviews are spot on! The motel grounds and room were clean, well-kept, and very quiet. The beds were comfortable enough, the kitchen was updated, organized and well equipped. Towels, while not luxurious, were changed daily. The pool was too cold to use, but it looked very clean. The beautiful beach was a short two blocks away with many restaurants within walking distance and beach chairs are available to borrow. For those on a budget, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank efayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.3 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#52 of 98 in Clearwater
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
0.0 mi away
Amber Tides Motel
Amber Tides Motel
#31 of 98 in Clearwater
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Motel

Address: 415 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#34 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $111 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy vintage motel is 2 minutes away from Clearwater Beach. Clean, comfy rooms with the modern touch - flats screens and complimentary wifi. Along with full kitchens per unit. Propane grills and beach chairs for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing