We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average motel”
Review of Gulfway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulfway Inn
Ranked #66 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Below average motel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this motel as we wanted something cheaper than the hotels on the beachfront. We knew that it was a cheaper type motel and our expectations were set accordingly. We got there and got into the office to check in... it smelt really bad and the guy behind the counter (the owner i suspect) was not that friendly and had really bad English which made the check in process tedious. We then went to our room and it smelt musty like if it had not been aerated for months. We had a small kitchen as we wanted to cook some meals while there. We opened the kitchen cupboards and found 2 plates, 2 forks, 2 knives and 2 bowls of different sizes. There was no dishwashing liquid so who knows how we were meant to clean our dirty dishes and who knows if they were clean in the first place as the previous customer would have had the same problem.
The beds seemed clean and we slept well on them. The air con was fairly old and noisy but this didn't disturb us.
Breakfast was included in the price as stated on the booking website... well, i don't call this a breakfast. It was made up of packaged danish pastry (very average) and a coffee. There was no room to have breakfast in. In other words, don't tell your customers you'll get breakfast if it consists of 1 very average item
All in all, not a great experience and there are far better motels for the same price.

Room Tip: try another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    11
    11
    8
See reviews for
22
16
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tournan-en-Brie, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for only one night. When we entered the room, its smell hit us, a very strong smell of cleaning product. It is almost like if someone went sick in that room, or smoked (when it was a non-smoking one), and they tried to hide the smell with a lot of cleaning product.
I had a really hard time to sleep, and even opening all the windows didn't do anything. I woke up with a strong head-ache, and was really disappointed.
Other than that, the room was big and comfy, and even if the bathroom was a bit small, it was ok!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Efw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

i again stayed here for a couple of days for a swim meet at the nearby long center pool and i had a great time here. loved my clean, comfortable room and nice soft bed, where i slept well. loved the heated swim pool and jacuzzi, so nice, very clean and well maintained. the staff was very helpful making sure everything was fine. i highly recommend this motel. wish i was still there now.

Room Tip: non smoking rooms are the best both 1rst and 2nd floor rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night, by myself, and found the motel adequate and clean. However, I doubt that I would bring my family there. The office stinks of curry or some strange incense from some faraway land. The room was clean and had no such odors, but it is somewhat old and worn. As a single traveler, I have absolutely no complaints. Had a good night's sleep and hot shower, which is all I require. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: After smelling the office, I asked to see (and smell) my non-smoking room before committing. I defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed two nights here on a business trip with my dad accompanying me. While I was away, dad watched the Phillies practice which was just over a mile walk away. The room was clean, but there was some evidence of past renters taking advantage such as the room being marked "No Smoking" but the nightstand having cigarette burns, but the room smelled fresh and clean. The staff was very helpful. The area is great, too. There is a Publix next door as well as a small restaurant, and ice cream shop and across the street are a couple of fast food places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1211WPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is our second year to stay at The Gulf Way Inn and we couldn't be happier. The owner (Victor) is very accomadating and friendly, clean rooms, beautiful pool. We will definately be back next year, we stay for six weeks.
Lloyd & Sandy W
Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Although the owners were friendly, my girlfriend and I did not enjoy our stay. The suite was big enough. But everything from the pillows to the cabinets even the mattress was stained. The beds were very firm. The pillows were too used. The "free wifi and breakfast" was a joke as well. None of our devices could pick up the signal for more than a few seconds. The free breakfast was acrually just a box of Walmart pastries. All in all it was not enjoyable and wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#69 of 98 in Clearwater
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 98 in Clearwater
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#31 of 98 in Clearwater
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulfway Inn

Property: Gulfway Inn
Address: 2275 Gulf To Bay Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33765-4002 (Formerly Americas Best Value Gulfway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gulfway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Gulfway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulfway Inn Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing