We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Columbia

Columbia
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 689 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Waterfront dining at its finest! Family-owned & operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm & award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine & wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," & fresh seafood specialties. Sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Don't miss our world-famous Original 1905(R) Salad, named "One of America's Top 10 Best Salads" by USA Today -- The only restaurant in Florida to be named. Whether you choose a table looking out onto the radiant blue waters of the Intracoastal Waterway from the Mediterranean dining room, or experience the casual atmosphere from our outdoor deck on the water, you can enjoy the cuisine that has consistently been voted Tampa Bay's Favorite. Casual attire is fine, but we don't allow sleeveless shirts on men. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Food expensive and overcooked. Foreign object in food. We waited so long to be served or even have our order taken we contemplated leaving. I wish we had left. 60 dollars wasted as we ate nothing and turned down take out boxes. The only time i did not tip. Our waiter was called Greg and the manager did not sort out our concerns.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jellycat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We stress to our employees that we MUST provide a great experience for everyone who chooses to spend their time and money with us, and I am sorry that we got it wrong on your visit. We thank you for your comments so we can share them with our managers and our staff to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    447
    164
    50
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Down
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better (and cheaper) alternatives nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wasn't overly impressed. Go to the other end of the strip mall and eat at Backwaters instead. Better value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adlennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere special for our anniversary, so we decided to try Columbia. We had been to Sand Key before, but never went here because it was in a “strip mall”. Still, Trip Advisor reviews were very good, and since the weather called for heavy rain, we decided to stay local and take a chance, and were glad that we did. We did make a reservation and requested a “quiet” table. Good thing, because the place is HUGE, has some large-party tables, and could get noisy. I started the night with their mango Daiquiri ($8.95). It was huge, tasted great, but did not have a lot of alcohol in it. We ordered the 3 tapas sampler ($25.99) with Pincho Mixta (grilled pork, chicken, chorizo & onions on a skewer), the Cakes de Cangrejo (2 grilled crab cakes drizzled with a passion fruit alioli sauce), and Champiñones Rellenos (Mushrooms stuffed w/ baby spinach, artichoke hearts, garlic & cheese). OMG – they were all awesome! For entrees, I ordered Crab Cakes ($25) and my husband ordered the Grouper Bilbao ($26). They were both accompanied by baked potato, grilled veggies and individual loaves of crusty bread. Everything was excellent. Our server, Nabil, was busy, yet attentive, as he made time to converse with us, yet still served all his tables efficiently and effectively. Total cost for the evening, including tax, was $91.92.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best Tapas in Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel next door and ate at Columbia about 9 times. The cheese and tomato tapas, the chuicken tapas and the chorizo tapas are divine, and their paella....well, amazing. Great location and staff too. A MUST visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJ99London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kent, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Columbia never fails to impress. The dinner started out just perfect with a terrific waitress, Brooke. She made our dinner a special one. We were out for our last night on vacation. We were a family of four, the kids are 12 and 14. Brooke was attentive to the kids as well as the adults. The meals were outstanding as always. We have never had a dish that we would not have again. I can't get my son past the Cuban sandwich, and I admit it is delicious.
Our dinner and experience was fantastic. Columbia is one of our favorite restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G8trtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing