We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cozy with beautiful pool/garden”
Review of Amber Tides Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amber Tides Motel
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We were in the area for just a few days and wanted a place that was convenient to nearby towns-- Dunedin, Tarpon Springs-- and also on the beautiful beaches for which Clearwater is known. Amber Tides is an easy 5 minute walk to the beach. Ulli makes beach umbrellas and chairs available to guests at no cost, the motel has wi-fi, and the pool and garden area are beautiful and well-maintained (see photos). The room we stayed in would be functional for longer stays, including a full kitchen with appliances, pots & pans, and flatware. The motel shows its age, but holds up very nicely among the motels in the area-- it's a step between a motel and a small residential hotel with a very good value. If we ever come back to the area we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklynkingfishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 311 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2009

At one time, Florida had many little motels like this. Quaint, cozy, mom and pop joints. I remember them from my first visit to Florida - Spring Break - Daytona Beach-1970. But, it seems like they're (unfortunately) a dying breed. Many of the remaining ones have become rather shabby over the years (if they're still in operation).
Here's what might be your last chance to experience a Florida motel like they used to be.
In my opinion, the Amber tides is far more comfortable, secure, private, and non-intrusive, while providing the kind of personal attention I've never experienced in the high priced, high rise hotels.
The rooms are all eclectically decorated. Some interesting pieces. But, all clean and functional. We had a small efficiency with an apartment size fridge, stove, oven, microwave, little kitchen table, and a good supply of pots, pans, silverware, plates, and the like. The bedding was clean and neat. The pool was great. With only 11 units in all, the pool is never crowded. As the pics show, a few little private nooks for grilling and eating (it was breakfast for us every morning out by the pool). Need a chair for the beach, Ulli has a few of them, and a couple of unbrella's for your use (no charge of course - what do you think this is...the Hilton?). Check out his tandem bike. My wife and I had a nice time riding up and down the main strip, and going down to the marina where all the fishing boats take off from.
The Amber Tides is TOTALLY run by - Ulli. He checks you in, he vacuums the pool (although I did catch his son helping one morning), he takes care of the grounds, he answers your email, provides you with clean towels (just put them out on the chair by your door), and if anything is wrong, he seems to really give a damn. And, he takes care of the problem - quickly! On our next trip to Clearwater beach, I'm not even going to check out all of what might be available, or who is running a special, or what hotels are directly on the beach (Amber Tides is a 3 block, 7 minute walk to the beach).
Then again....don't go here! I don't want it to be all booked up the next time my wife and I decide to get away from April in Buffalo, NY.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sobrietycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Well pulling up it didnt look like much but walking inside it was lovely. They have a beautiful pool area. And Ulli the manager is very nice. The room was super clean! And it stayed that way. No bugs or anything. Ulli let our daughters rent this 2 rider bicycle for $10 a hour it was great! Its only a short walk from the beach and the peir which has great activities to do at night. There were alot of restaurants around the motel. And you really dont need a car to get around just use the trolley. Very good vacation will go back! So it might not look like much but it is!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyofthenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Very clean motel with friendly service. This motel is managed and serviced by the owner who does an excellent job. Good access to the beach in about 5 mins by walk. Pool area is outstanding and there are multiple areas for grilling and dining. Excellent value for money. Dont expect it to be a luxury motel because it isn't. However, if you want to enjoy the beach and good clean comfort, this is the best motel in the area. The beach front motels are very expensive and not quite as charming.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayak1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We selected Amber Tides because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and I must say, I was not disappointed.

Amber Tides is set in a U shape around the pool in a tropical garden. The place looks like nothing from the street side but is very nice once you enter through one of the gates. Set around the pool are tables and gasfired grills for you to use.
The room we had was spacious and very clean with a full kitchen. The kitchen appliances and utensils have seen their better days but was fully functional. If you plan to do some serious cooking while staying at Amber Tides, do bring a good kitchen knife. The one provided was a joke,

The motel is old and it shows along the edges but it is lovingly kept up by it's owner Ulli.
The owner is constantly on his toes to make sure you have a pleasant stay.

The motel is set two blocks from the south side of famous beach so with a short walk you are in the middle of everything.

Yes, I have to say that Amber Tides is good value for the money.
I can definately think of using Amber Tides again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalelSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

I and my girlfriend stayed at Aber Ties for two weeks and we enjoyed every single day! We chose this hotel based on reviews and it was exactly as it was described. Ulli is a great host. He is very flexible and always there to assist.
Although Amber Tides requires some renovation and refurnishing, for the price you pay, is still a very nice and quite motel. Its property is full of different types of trees and other vegetation. Clear water has a lost to offer for these who don't like to stay at the beach or beside the pool all day. I definitely recommend this place if you are looking for quite gate away or family vacation. TIP: If you are flying to Florida I sagest you rent a car right from the airport so you are not depended on transport in Clearwater. Car rental was very expensive in Clearwater as high as $55 a day for economy class; whereas, at the airport we paid $15 a day.
P.S. Ulli: thank you for renting me your fishing gear!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zenmyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

What a lot of bang for the buck. So reasonably priced and clean. Umbrellas and beach chairs are free for your use. Full kitchen. But it was the pool area that was so perfect for us. We stayed Jan 23-27, and while it was warm during the day, in the 70s, the Gulf was too cold to swim in. Having the perfectly warmed pool surrounded with the most awesome landscaping just made our trip. The last hour of every evening our kids splashed around enjoying themselves. The Motel is so small you quickly get to know the other guests and it feels like a neighborhood to you vice a face in the crowd. 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minute Walking distance from Pier 60 and all the boat and dolphin tours. Many of the top trip advisor restaurants are also within walking distance. Free parking. We plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spontaneoustrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
1.2 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Silver Sands Motel
Silver Sands Motel
#48 of 98 in Clearwater
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tides Motel

Address: 420 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $117 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Tides Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back under German Management, Ulli & Michelle. Our Motel is located two blocks from Clearwater South Beach, less then 5 minutes walk to the Beach, Restaurants, Bars and Shopping. If you like the Key West feel you will love staying at our quaintly accomodated property with the tropically landscaped pool area. We have grills and sitting areas nestled in the palms for that island feel. All our rooms are non-smoking. We do allow smoking outside of the rooms and around the courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Tides Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tides Hotel Clearwater
Amber Tides Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing