We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Motel”
Review of Amber Tides Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Tides Motel
Ranked #28 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Small Motel”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in this motel last summer. Decent rooms, clean beds and bathrom. Kitchen with all what you need (how much time do you spend cooking beeing on vacation ?). Excellent swimming pool AND the most important the motel is very close to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyHorwacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    78
    16
    20
    11
See reviews for
92
117
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Home
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place suited me perfectly.

The Amber Tides is a smaller older style Florida motel located a few blocks from Pier 60. The location is in a somewhat quieter spot…no drunks wandering out of bars and such…but within easy walking distance of the full Clearwater Beach experience.

Some of the positive attributes…

Clean rooms.
Self contained units with fridge, stove, microwave, LCD TV.
Excellent water pressure, with hot water that is actually hot!
Free Wi-Fi with good reception.
Wonderful pool surrounded and partially shaded by plants and trees.
Good rates.

A special thanks to Ulli for providing such a friendly and relaxing environment…

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caladesi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at numerous "old Florida" motels, so our expectations regarding Amber Tides was moderated by what we knew would be older accommodations compensated by proximity to beach activities. On the good side, the location to the beach is excellent. The pool area is comfortable and private, with decent seating options. The landscaping is lush which will either make you feel claustrophobic or sheltered, depending on your perspective. The manager was very nice. On the negative side, we knew the rooms and furniture would be old, but I just can't tolerate bedding that feels worn. Sheets were a cotton/poly blend that felt cheap, the bedspread seemed very old--my spouse wouldn't use it. The room itself was dark, with dark paint on the headboard wall, lighting was poor. We won't stay here again, but if your budget is tight and your expectations are not high, then you'll be happy here for what it does offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunkieFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I would pretty much echo the sentiments of most of the other reviewers. An older property, and yes, the rooms look dated, but they were clean, functional and we wanted for nothing. We were in Room 6 which is like a small one bedroom apartment. The countertops were brand new, the cupboards old, but fresh painted and clean. All the appliances worked and there were more than enough dishes and utensils. At first glance, the mid-60's pink tile in the bathroom looked grey in spots, but closer inspection showed that it was clean, just worn. Otherwise, the shower worked great and everything else in the bathroom was good. Really, how much time do you spend in a bathroom anyway? Ulli was a great host, made it a point to make sure we were looked after. If you are used to the large marble coated impersonal chain hotels, then this place is not for you. If you are adventurous, easy-going and want to get to know some of the other people around you, then this is definitely the spot for you. By the second day of our stay we knew most of the people in the other rooms by first name. The pool area with its' little hidden seating areas was fantastic and we made good use of the BBQ's that were provided on site. Also a great spot for kids, the pool was great, lot's of pool toys on site and easy access from every room. Literally a 3 to 5 minute walk to the beach, a Jolly Trolley stop right around the corner and plenty of bars and restaurants within a short walk, yet the property itself is on the quiet side of the island, so little traffic. And I will admit, I was a little unsure at first of all the large trees and plants around the building, but quickly realized that it created a perfect little oasis with very little traffic noise and a lot of privacy. Stay at properties like this one while you still can. Clearwater Beach is changing, and I'm not convinced it is all for the better. Pretty soon all you'll have is $300 a night ugly condo's and chain hotels. Properties like this one are worth their weight in gold, in my opinion.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms on the north-east end of the building that do not face the pool. Perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

All the reviews I read before booking were spot on. The owner Ulli was the best, always helpful and friendly. My fiance and I stayed in room 4, my dad & uncle were room 2 and my dad's friend and wife were in room 8. Everything is within walking distance including Pier 60. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and everything you need is right there. I highly recommend staying here,

Room Tip: All the rooms we seen (2, 4 & 8) were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trudy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The street is very quiet considering how close it is to the beach and unless your looking, all you might see is a richly landscaped patch with all manor of tropical vegetation and huge psalms.

Our room was decorated with flare and though some items were a little old, we had everything we needed and everything worked! We had a flat screen TV, a very comfortable bed and shower with water pressure like you would not believe.

I guess what I liked the best was early morning coffee at the pool area. It's sealed off from the street with a wall of lush tropical plants, has great seating and a great mix of bright sun and shade right where you need it.

Oh, I almost forgot...and this my be the most important, Ulli (he's the management) has the gift of hospitallity and service. We forgot coffee filters he produces them instantly. We need a cutting board it appears. But even more Ulli is genuine. He likes to relate..he will listen to your story, and if you ask him he just might tell you his.


  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Topgallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a Motel that grows on you. When you arrive you’d be mistaken to think it’s a bit rough, but it definitely gets better as YOU get used to it. So how to describe, I’d use words like shabby chic, dated, mid 80’s, old fashioned, honky-tonk, quaint, special (as in she’s special) and all this is good and not negative for me. All the earlier reviews are correct

Ulli the owner rules with a hand of steel and a heart of gold. During spring break, he told a group of young boys that if they wanted to party in the bedrooms he’d throw them out, no refunds, and told us that if we heard anything to disturb us, at any time during the night to let him know. Needless to say there was nothing. However if you want a beach umbrella, Ulli has it, want a cooler Ulli has it, want to BBQ by the pool at night Ulli has it.

You will notice that website shows photos of the pool, not the rooms, that because the rooms are just rooms, nothing special. But overall the Motel is great, not a good place for youngsters who might want to party in their room, but great for couples of all ages and those who’d like peace and quiet, in a crazy town.

Would I come here again, you bet!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#46 of 98 in Clearwater
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tides Motel

Property: Amber Tides Motel
Address: 420 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2535
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Tides Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back under German Management, Ulli & Michelle. Our Motel is located two blocks from Clearwater South Beach, less then 5 minutes walk to the Beach, Restaurants, Bars and Shopping. If you like the Key West feel you will love staying at our quaintly accomodated property with the tropically landscaped pool area. We have grills and sitting areas nestled in the palms for that island feel. All our rooms are non-smoking. We do allow smoking outside of the rooms and around the courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amber Tides Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tides Hotel Clearwater
Amber Tides Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing