We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem just 2 minutes from the beach.”
Review of Amber Tides Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Tides Motel
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The street is very quiet considering how close it is to the beach and unless your looking, all you might see is a richly landscaped patch with all manor of tropical vegetation and huge psalms.

Our room was decorated with flare and though some items were a little old, we had everything we needed and everything worked! We had a flat screen TV, a very comfortable bed and shower with water pressure like you would not believe.

I guess what I liked the best was early morning coffee at the pool area. It's sealed off from the street with a wall of lush tropical plants, has great seating and a great mix of bright sun and shade right where you need it.

Oh, I almost forgot...and this my be the most important, Ulli (he's the management) has the gift of hospitallity and service. We forgot coffee filters he produces them instantly. We need a cutting board it appears. But even more Ulli is genuine. He likes to relate..he will listen to your story, and if you ask him he just might tell you his.


  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Topgallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a Motel that grows on you. When you arrive you’d be mistaken to think it’s a bit rough, but it definitely gets better as YOU get used to it. So how to describe, I’d use words like shabby chic, dated, mid 80’s, old fashioned, honky-tonk, quaint, special (as in she’s special) and all this is good and not negative for me. All the earlier reviews are correct

Ulli the owner rules with a hand of steel and a heart of gold. During spring break, he told a group of young boys that if they wanted to party in the bedrooms he’d throw them out, no refunds, and told us that if we heard anything to disturb us, at any time during the night to let him know. Needless to say there was nothing. However if you want a beach umbrella, Ulli has it, want a cooler Ulli has it, want to BBQ by the pool at night Ulli has it.

You will notice that website shows photos of the pool, not the rooms, that because the rooms are just rooms, nothing special. But overall the Motel is great, not a good place for youngsters who might want to party in their room, but great for couples of all ages and those who’d like peace and quiet, in a crazy town.

Would I come here again, you bet!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I loved staying here last spring 2011. I will stay here everytime I go on vacation to Clearwater. I was impressed at the cleaniness of the room there was no mold in the tile grout in the bathroom. It did not smell like mildew in the room there were NO VISIBLE TRACES of bugs any where. Ulli was a perfect host, very patient with my children and the noise. There are grills at the poolside and 3 different little jungle-esque eating areas. It is right across from the beach and walking distance to Sheppard's Resturant. For the age of this buliding it has been maintained wonderfully and brings back the "old" Florida style vacation spot with tarazzo floors in the kitchen and jallicy windows all you here is the waves and the birds. Much rather stay here than the Holiday Inn or Hyatt.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 34496Julia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is soo nice, i'm from europe i came with friends the atmosphere is very nice the pool was clean i was there before and now they put new TV's. It was almost on the beach. The hotel looks a bit old put as i said the atmophere was nice. I recommend it for all of you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stopped in Amber Tide during my journey to Cape Coral. It was really incredible two days of stay, next to nice beach with great atmosphere. Handling is very good and it's definitely a good choice for a short break after a long ride.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our little family stopped at the Amber Tide on a whim as we were driving through Clearwater on our way further South. We chose it for the location - very close to the beach and main strip, but not in the heart of the action. We were so pleased with our random choice! The atmosphere was very laid back and private - the pool area/patio was really cool. Our young children has a blast during our short stay. The motel itself was impeccably clean and well maintained - though it is an older property and the age shows. We stayed in room three. The two double beds were comfy, and the full kitchen was very convienient. We felt very at home and the motel was a welcome departure from the impersonal cookie cutter hotels we have previously stayed in. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHDailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Very nice owner, however this hotel is very old and although much is done to keep it pleasant it is not all that nice. Key point, the rooms do not have central heat. We did not stay the night we were scheduled as the tempurature was dipping into the low thirties. The owner gave us a small cube space heater and offered another one; but it was just way too cold to think of sleeping there. He refunded our first night stay, but not the deposit. OK, since that is the rule.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rollerboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
1.2 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
0 mi away
Silver Sands Motel
Silver Sands Motel
#48 of 98 in Clearwater
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#46 of 98 in Clearwater
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tides Motel

Address: 420 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2535
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $117 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Tides Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back under German Management, Ulli & Michelle. Our Motel is located two blocks from Clearwater South Beach, less then 5 minutes walk to the Beach, Restaurants, Bars and Shopping. If you like the Key West feel you will love staying at our quaintly accomodated property with the tropically landscaped pool area. We have grills and sitting areas nestled in the palms for that island feel. All our rooms are non-smoking. We do allow smoking outside of the rooms and around the courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Tides Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tides Hotel Clearwater
Amber Tides Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing