We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.”
Review of Amber Tides Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Tides Motel
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Amber Tides is the perfect place for a quiet and friendly stay. We were treated and felt like family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 311 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

We've stayed at numerous places on the beach and selected Amber Tides as out favorite and continue to come back. The atmosphere reminds me of reminiscent "Old Florida". The tropical setting makes you feel as if you are in an oasis. The pool is surrounded with palms and plants with tables and umbrellas, as well as lounge chairs, rockers and double swings. Around the perimeter of the pool area are private tables with umbrellas and gas grills in individual tropical settings.
Each room us decorated with plants and other quaint decorations. Some rooms have full kitchens with a stove, refridgerator, microwave and sink. The motel also offers free wi-fi and free use of beach chairs, umbrellas and a skim board! The atmosphere is very relaxing. It's our favorite place on the beach! The owner Ulli is available to assist you with your needs. He even recommended some great restaurants to us. You will love it here!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Ulli went out of his way to accommodate us during our stay. I had trouble connecting with the internet a few times and Ulli got me connected every time. He has the patience of Job. Nothing was a bother to him. He even went out and bought a bottle of car polish so we could buff out a scrape mark that occurred while we were in Clearwater Beach. He never said a word, just set the bottle outside our room where we would see it when we returned from dinner. The motel location is close to everything and the palms and other tropical plants on the property gave the illusion of a mini paradise.
Thank you Ulli for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here for the second time now. The motel's location is ideal, close to the beach but still secluded. The pool area is just awesome! Rooms are spacious and cozy and there is free wi-fi. The place never seems crowded so you can just relax at the pool and enjoy your time. Simply the best deal in Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here with my 80 year old parents in June, on our way to a wedding. We were planning on celebrating my Dad's birthday in Clearwater. The owner/caretaker was extremely accomodating, the pool was wonderful, and the location great. Walking distance to everything. Beds were comfortable, price was good. This place is a diamond in the rough, it could be fantastic. Everthing in our room was just worn out. My husband and my dad our both electrical engineers, and were just appalled at the quality of the exposed wiring, and extension cords running everywhere in our accomodations. The air conditioning was having a hard time keeping up with the extreme heat and humidity. We were only there for one night, so we didn't see any point in complaining. The grounds were also overgrown, every bush and tree needed triming. With a little elbow grease and updating, this place could be amazing. Would I stay here again? Not sure, maybe some of the other rooms were better. It was fine for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwwtoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived at Amber Tides to find the room was far nicer than we had expected, unique, beautifully furnished and although very slightly worn in some places, perfectly clean. We had every single thing we could have needed provided for us, at our request and sometimes even before (for instance we arrived to find a hairdryer, iron and ironing board and an umbrella as it was raining already provided for us, all of which the manager Ulli had brought to our room just for our stay). We felt that if we needed anything or had any questions, Ulli would be easy to find and would attend to anything we needed him for. The bed was very comfortable with soft sheets, had a great nights sleep, and had no disturbance from neighbors / outside whatsoever. The comfortable armchairs and table in the room were a nice touch. Had a little patio table and chairs with an umbrella right outside our door, and the pool is clean and wasn't busy or rowdy at all during our stay. The AC works well, and wasn't a disturbance to us. The shower is also hot and powerful, and it was very convenient having a good sized fridge and microwave and plenty of storage space. The room rate was exceptional for the quality of the room and the management, it was my partner's birthday and I think he was as happy here as he would have been in the Hyatt (well.. almost). Also, it's a very easy ten minute walk or 2 minute trolley ride to everything at the Pier and further north, we walked it several times a day. Finally, we were able to check out late (at any time we chose) for a small fee, which was very convenient.

The only things I can imagine anyone not liking about this motel are that the maid service is at an additional charge and on request, and smaller items like shampoo are not provided. Personally, this made absolutely no difference to our stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for any occasion.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I just,got,back from here. We have stayed everywhere up and down the coast in this area from pass a grill to clearwater and this is the the best value we have found. The owner goes out of his way to make sure your stay is great. This is no resort and does not claim to be, you want the hyatt, go to the hyatt, but this place is very clean, comfortable. Its a close walk to everything, the beach, the marina which offers all the water sports and boat rides is a short walk, and close to pier 60, pier fishing during the day and all the performers and sunset festival is a short walk away. They had kayaks they rent here, bicycles they rent reasonable, there were beach chairs, a beach umbrella you could use at no cost. The pool area was very nicely landscaped..there were little areas with tables and umbrellas, each one having a grill you can use..and the landscaping gave a bit of privacy to each one. Had a great feel to the place. We will stay here again. This is just one of those places you like. If you want a great place and are on a budget check it out.

2  Thank mhardin109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Sta'n Pla Motel
Sta'n Pla Motel
#44 of 98 in Clearwater
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tides Motel

Address: 420 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2535
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $117 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Tides Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back under German Management, Ulli & Michelle. Our Motel is located two blocks from Clearwater South Beach, less then 5 minutes walk to the Beach, Restaurants, Bars and Shopping. If you like the Key West feel you will love staying at our quaintly accomodated property with the tropically landscaped pool area. We have grills and sitting areas nestled in the palms for that island feel. All our rooms are non-smoking. We do allow smoking outside of the rooms and around the courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Tides Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tides Hotel Clearwater
Amber Tides Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing