We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your grouper here”
Review of Crabby Bill's Clearwater Beach - CLOSED

Crabby Bill's Clearwater Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Enjoy our Beautiful Sunsets and Fresh Local Seafood on our outside patio or in air conditioned comfort. Happy Hour 11-7pm and Great Drink Specials!
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get your grouper here”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Exelant place to stop in and eat and watch the sunset after day on the beachsuper crowded on the weekends but worth the wait

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

3,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,396
    1,024
    417
    115
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seafood and gluten free on the water”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Crabby Bill's has good food! We went during spring break on a Saturday for lunch. The service was amazing. My husband who uses a cane, was immediately informed there was an elevator to the upstairs and the view was great up there. The restaurant has a lot of "character". It is not fancy but comfortable. We require a gluten free meal and this was the EASIEST to do so. At first glance the menu looks tacky. It is a regular menu with a items blacked out and sometimes a comment written in. This made it easy for the rest of us to look and compare what he could eat instead of hunting all over out menus. They even had some gluten free starters. My husband has the Caribbean Mahi Mahi. It was delicious and delicately seasoned. I had fried clam strips ...also very good! The view is interesting. Water and boats on one side, and people walking on the other side. Parking may be a challenge but we did not have a problem finding a metered space adjacent to the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROLYNKSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfort food at Crabby Bill's”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Crabby Bill's offers the seafood equivalent of comfort food. I had a grilled grouper sandwich today along with some crab and corn chowder as well as coleslaw. The sandwich was terrific, the soup was a little more runny than I like, and the coleslaw was good. The second floor has a lot of indoor seating with good views of the beach area and marina. The reception and wait staff is very friendly. Plenty of drink refills offered, for example. This restaurant has a wonderful gluten free menu. The parking is not easy, but is adjacent to a city parking lot that only allows one hour on the meter. This location is at the roundabout, so right in the mix of everything....enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice live music with a great meal- one of our best lunch places while on vacation here!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice live music during lunch made for an entertaining meal. The meals were good too- I would go back again. The Fish and Chips were great- nice crispy battered fresh fish! The Mahi Mahi Tacos were healthy, fresh and flavorful, and the Mahi Mahi sandwich was also excellent. The gator bites for appetizers were ok... We wanted to try them and they were ok. Try this place out at least once while on vacation here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hokie4beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood, great staff”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went here for lunch with the intent of trying stone crabs. We were greeted and sent upstairs when we requested to be out of the cold wind. We were greeted by "Crabby Bob" who made us feel right at home with his friendly banter. He said their key lime pie was the best in the state, and we enjoyed a piece after our meal. Our waitress was super nice and was patient with my disappointment over the fact that the weather had been too bad for the boats to get out for the stone crabs the previous two days. My boys and I ended up sharing a bowl of very good clam chowder (just needed a sprinkle of salt) and then a steamer bucket between us. There were tons of shrimp, clams and mussels, and a half of a snow crab. All were delicious and served with drawn butter, steamed broccoli and some of the best fries we've ever had. Add the pie for dessert and we were stuffed! Great amount of food and a very nice meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Bill's Clearwater Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing