We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Stay Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed March 31, 2014

arrived at 6pm was told the computers were down, did not get my room till 10pm, while waiting guest services were tell customers without reservations that they would offer discounts to those who were waiting, How about the ones with reservations ?? Like myself, I put a complaint with the hotel chain, and have not gotten a response, and it has been over a week, will never stay with this hotel chain again, ( Howard Johnson) This shows that they do not care about there customers, or they would have gotten back to me. there Loss.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

The worldwide computer system that we use to check in and out our guests was down for 20hrs. It was difficult to operate "blind" without a reservation system to navigate. This has never happened before, and I would expect that Wyndham Hotels Group would try to insure that this type of error would never occur again. As for discounts or credit back for the stay, I do know that Wyndham is issuing credits for this particular weekend and the difficulty that it caused some of our guests. Credits were issued last week. I do not know when the checks will arrive for our guests, but I do know the credits were issued.

I do hope that you would give Wyndham Hotels a chance in the future. This was a once in, hopefully, a lifetime instance of an entire operating system failing. Wyndham includes Howard Johnsons, Travel Lodge, Microtel, Days Inn, Ramada, Wyndham Resorts... Thank you for your review and your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 329 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is a good value for the budget minded business traveler. Average in most categories but the cleanliness of the rooms impressed me and seemed to be better than expected for a value type motel. I plan to stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

I appreciate your review. I'm glad that you found our business room's accommodations to your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Room was ok but the bathroom had mold on the ceiling. Looks like a quick spritz of bleach would have cured it but I'm assuming that's too much trouble for the staff. Room wasn't cleaned the night we stayed so we arrived back at night to no towels and an unmade bed. Had to make a trip to the lobby to get towels.

I'd stay here again if I was paying hourly and picked up a lady of the night at the Kia dealership next door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Trent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Was charged for 2 rooms even when agent repeated one room, had 4 charges of night stay on our credit card, had to wait 3days for it to be refunded back to our card. Clerk at hotel was irritated & nasty with us for this error.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

I apologize that you had any booking errors with your stay. Many reservations are made through 3rd party web sites or 800 #'s and are not directly made at our hotel. When this occurs, the booking site that you pay becomes your "travel agent". If there are any errors in the booking that has occurred and there is an expected refund, you would have to wait for the booking site to refund your credit card. When you choose to use a pre-paid booking site, you are not directly paying the hotel, so any errors that occur, the hotel would not be able to refund your account.

When these sites work out in giving people easy access and great travel deals, they are very helpful and handy to use. It's when there are issues or errors that it does take a little bit of time to fix the issue. Thank you for staying with us, and I hope I was of some help in clarifying off property booking sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
228 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#69 of 98 in Clearwater
139 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#58 of 98 in Clearwater
380 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $72 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing