We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and Secure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    80
    70
    49
    47
See reviews for
108
73
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was so impressed. I got a great deal with a discount code. I was happy to find out that the room was up to date - the decorating didn't hurry my eyes. It had a fridge and microwave. The pool was the perfect temperature and it & the jucuzzi were clean. Best of all we didn't hear a single sound while in our room. they had lots of cable channels & they were clear. Ice & vending machines were well stocked. We had a small but nice breakfast. The receptionist was very attentive to my 12 year old energetic kid. No bugs. I can't say enough about how nice our stay was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities and found your satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

When we first pulled up we were concerned we had made a bad selection. It was very dark and didn't look very welcoming. The staff was a little rude and dismissive both checking in and checking out. The rooms were clean and looked well maintained. The pool and the area was clean. Overall it was a good place to stop for the night while we continued on to someplace else but probably not someplace I would stay more than a night or two

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is helpful for us to know what we can try to improve upon. I'm glad you found your stay suitable for your needs and the room clean, along with the pool and jacuzzi area refreshing. Most of our guests do enjoy that we feature a large, clean pool, sun deck, and jacuzzi at the property. Again, thank you for your helpful review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were closing on a condo and had to stay at HoJo for 11 days. We had a room with a wet bar and refrigerator. We had trouble with the remote control and the manater, Monica came and took control and finally brought us a new remote. Monica, was very efficient. My car's water pump gave out, and she very nicely told me about Enterprise Rent A Car discount that I could get through HOJO. She was always helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I am glad we were able to provide you with a great stay while moving into the area. I am also very happy that our staff was able to provide you with the help and information that you needed while you were with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

When we checked in, she told someone the room would need more towels, as there were 4 of us. We went out to eat, but there was only 3 sets of towels. We did not bother to call down, as one person had a set of towels herself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I apologize that you did not receive all of the ammenities that you required while you were staying with us. If we ever do forget an item, please let us know, we will do whatever we can at the time to remedy the issue. We want your stay to be convenient and pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
6.1 mi away
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing