We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take your appetite with you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lenny's Restaurant

Lenny's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 686 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take your appetite with you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The parking lot was full when we pulled in to this restaurant and now I know why. While on vacation we thought we'd try something different. Wow! We found a new place to eat when we are in Clearwater. I would highly suggest going by for lunch or dinner. And go hungry. They give you more food than one person can eat. My husband had an all meat omlet and home fries and it was enough for three people. Plus he was given a basket with several pastries in it. The coffee was delicious too. I had a patty melt and fries and was given a choice of two additional sides. The mac salad was the best I've ever had and the beets were also the best I've ever had. It was enough for three people also. You can't go wrong eating here. We will definetly go back there again when we are in the area visiting family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraG1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowdSmartMedia, Public Relations Manager at Lenny's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
BarbaraG1477,

Thanks for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    198
    45
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Clearwater tradition not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

People in Clearwater have been eating breakfast and lunch at Lenny's for over 50 years. And for good reason: the food is delicious, the service is friendly, and the atmosphere is fun. Lenny's has something for everyone, everyone, that is, who likes traditional Jewish deli food. On my first trip to Lenny's, I ordered a new dish from the "specials" board: deli eggs benedict, which consisted of a potato pancake (in place of a muffin), topped with corned beef, two poached eggs, and the best hollandaise sauce I have ever eaten. The next afternoon, my wife and I returned for lunch, and I had a remarkable reuben sandwich. The menu is large and innovative; I plan to eat there every time I am in Clearwater.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
322 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A good breakfast place, but I don't get what the fuss is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lenny's is a diner. Period. I don't understand all of the fuss is about. It was good, but it was far from the best breakfast place in the Tampa/Clearwater/St. Pete area. It's good comfort food, and there's nothing wrong with that, but it wasn't delicious.

My girlfriend loved it because they decorated it for the season and she loves it when places get themey. It seems like a great place for kids (and kid-like adults) on the weekends because they have a balloon guy. He's actually pretty talented. Saw some people with really "extravagant" balloon hats - if you can call a balloon hat extravagant. But me, I'm here for the food.

My girlfriend got the Nova Benedict, which she enjoyed. I got the Firehouse Omelette. The secret ingredient that made it "hot and spice" appeared to be hot sauce or buffalo sauce. Otherwise, it was just another omelette. Good. Good comfort food. But nothing special. My girlfriend also got their pumpkin pancakes. Those were really good. Have to admit. I'm not a pumpkin fan, but they did those right.

They do have a very extensive menu - which you'd expect from a diner - and the service was good and fairly quick, considering how busy they were. The décor is cute and homey. Again, my issue is just that the food wasn't anything special. I guess if you're just going to get an omelette, then you probably shouldn't expect a king's feast, and if I just ordered a basic western omelette or ham and cheese, then I'd probably agree. But this was one of their specialties, and it didn't blow me away.

So go to Lenny's. You won't walk out unhappy. You'll be full and satisfied. You just won't be blown away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tbow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food & good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A friend and I stopped in just before they were closing. The menu is extensive! We both decided on a breakfast. Portions are large, the food was good and you get a lot for your money. The service was very good even though we were late-comers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank celtlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

They tout as a deli but I see nothing special about the food and especially the service. Don't be fooled.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lenny's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lenny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing