We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Rate For Clearwater Beach!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Canadian Motel

Royal Canadian Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Canadian Motel
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Rate For Clearwater Beach!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed at dozens upon dozens of motels and hotels along the Gulf Coast, so when we made a spur of the moment decision to seek out a room on Friday night, we knew we would be up against the wall. The Royal Canadian was actually was one of the first places we tried, working from the north to the south ends of Clearwater Beach. The rate quoted was $79 plus tax, and for a Friday evening, that was an exceptional rate. We didnt even look at the room, but we were pleased. The bathroom was a bit small, and the overall theme was more of the classic Florida beach motel. Great location with tons of places to eat and the beach close by. Give em' a try!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-KaYAK-ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hot springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Came here for a family vacation and this hotel was absolutely disgusting ... Do not stay here... Service was awful and they didn't care... Rooms are filthy... Our brand new van that we purchased was also towed from their parking lot and we had to pay to get it ! They did nothing about this nor did they care ! Horrible just horrible!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pageantg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My fiance and I took off for Florida on a whim, with no reservations or set plans. After spending a delightful two days with a friend in West Palm Beach, we headed up to Clearwater to catch a couple Phillies spring training games. After the first game, we drove over to the beach and started looking for a hotel. We stumbled onto the Royal Canadian, for under $100 a night!!! We were pretty leery, but the room was spacious and clean. The shower was a little small but the pressure was phenomenal! The unit had a full kitchen and there was already ice in the freezer!! We didn't take advantage of the pool but it looked fantastic, and we had a short walk across the street to the beach. Someone was watching out for us on that trip!! We will definitely stay there again. There were even a couple of decent restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We pulled up and honestly I told the manager I must see a room. I knew it would be terrible!! Boy, was I wrong. Our room was brand new. We walked in and the smell of fresh paint permeated! New stove, New refrigerator, New tile, New ac with remote, New flat screen tv on the wall. I have never ever ever been in such a clean place. I didn't see any other rooms but mine was fantastic. All rooms look over the heated pool. You are literally steps from the beach which is just across the street. This is on the"dead end" of Clearwater beach. So peaceful. It was spring break and the rate was only $85.00 a night. The bathroom is old..pink and blue tile BUT it is immaculate..clean clean clean. This is not a 5 star resort..but it's cleaner than one! Lots of lounge chairs at the pool, picnic tables and patio chairs. You shouldn't pass this by. At least look at a room. Maybe you will be as happy as us. Within walking distance to tons of shopping. Convenience stores and pharmacy just blocks away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank usjmsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#5 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#9 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#42 of 94 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
0.7 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
1.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Canadian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Canadian Motel

Property: Royal Canadian Motel
Address: 653 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-1523
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Number of rooms: 198

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing