We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time-honored Tradition on Clearwater Beach”

Bob Heilman's Beachcomber
Ranked #28 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Time-honored Tradition on Clearwater Beach”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

When visiting Clearwater beach, it's nice to take time out from the touristy fried fish places and dine at a part of Clearwater's history.
The Beachcomber is a place where you dress up a little more than shorts and flip flops and enjoy table clothes and relaxed dining.
Dinner starts out with an old fashioned relish tray complete with crackers, cottage cheese and apple butter. (Really, don't knock it until you try it!)
The menu is well rounded with beef, chicken and seafood. The fried chicken dinner is always a kid's favorite.
The main dining room is a nice choice for relaxed, upscale dining at reasonable prices.
There is parking available on the street and valet parking in back.
The Beachcomber is located on the north end of Clearwater Beach on the east side of Mandalary Blvd. which is the main street running along the beach.
I would suggest reservations for dinner or large parties. Ask questions when making reservations. Find out if there will be a pianist playing and asked to be seated near by if you enjoy listening to the music while dining, or further away if you plan on conversation. I find they want you to enjoy your experience and will help if you make your desires known.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank famtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    261
    80
    54
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Refined dining, good service”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Leisurely upscale dining, great service and food. A no rush service restaurant. Wonderful for special occasions or banquets. Across the street from Clearwater Beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gneher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, Overpriced Mediocre Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went with my family during Spring break for dinner. Server was extremely cold and did not look like she liked her job much. We asked her to box up our food and she expected is to walk out of this 'upscale' restaurant with our boxes in our hands - she didn't put them in a bag. She looked annoyed the whole night. Terrible, terrible service and mediocre food. Way overpriced. Al and Stella's Italian Restaurant just down the street has the best food ever. We ate there every night after this terrible experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Youssef01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Winter the Dolphin at Clearwater Aquarium and my friend recommended this place and she was right. Amazing prime rib, great table outside, great garnishes (I didn't even know I liked cottage cheese?), and I could have licked the apple butter bowl. Great dinner, good classic service, and perfect location. We took a sunset stroll after dinner. Love the fact it's an established and from the 40s.

There is complimentary valet in the back.

Helpful?
Thank farfalla818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

On our 2nd visit we chose the lighter room with the sailing theme. No music, and server was not articulate because of her foreign language. Specials were mostly chicken, but the fried chicken was excellent as was the salmon. Next time we will specify darker dining room because of musician and better servers. It is still the best valuein Cearwaterbeach

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Heilman's Beachcomber also viewed

 

Been to Bob Heilman's Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing