We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Time Favorite”

Bob Heilman's Beachcomber
Ranked #28 of 697 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long Time Favorite”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Heilman's has been a Clearwater Beach institution since the 1940's and with good reason! Their food is excellent, consistent and the atmosphere fit's all types. Families come back regularly for special meals, Tourist's come here because it's in walking distance.

My wife and I (are local) and we switch between Heilman's and the Bobby's Bistro out back. We like dinner at the bar. The bronzed grouper, the pork chop are standouts. They also have "the best" burger in Clearwater!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    260
    80
    54
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is always the most consistent food. We go regularly because we are never disappointed. Their Baked Alaskan is the very best dessert that I have ever eaten.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good look outside Terrible on the inside”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

On holiday from the UK and spent a lovely week in Orlando and this was our first night in Clearwater and was looking for a nice family meal. I chose this because it looked classy from the outside. The restaurant was busy I took that as a good sign. We ordered a bottle of white wine which took about 15 minutes to arrive bad it was not chilled and we had to ask 3 times for a nice bucket. We started to get a bad feeling but said at least the food will be nice!
Our food arrived after about an hour. I had order halibut which was ok, my wife order veal with a masala sauce which was tasteless and the cheep tinned mushrooms were uncooked (even after an hour!!!). The worst was the mussels we order for our sons. Most we're closed and those that had opened were so over cooked there was next to nothing left to them except the rubbery rim.
Service was poor and they picked up on our irritation with the late food but did nothing to try and apologies.
When we complained about the mussels they did replace then and the next lot were better. The manageress came over and seemed shocked that we were complaining and in quite an aggressive tone asked us what she should do. No apology or anything and it was us that said we were not paying for the mussels to which she agreed.
Hope to find a much friendlier, better restaurant tonight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great Time”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had reservations and were seated promptly. We had an experienced server, the food was great and prepared correctly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice clearwater beach restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bob Heilman's is an icon on Clearwater Beach serving upscale fare in an upscale setting. Their famous fried chicken is fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Heilman's Beachcomber also viewed

 

Been to Bob Heilman's Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing