We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”

Bob Heilman's Beachcomber
Ranked #28 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Erial, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I went for any early dinner and it was delicious. If you want a nice sit down dinner then come here. Sometimes you get sick and tired of bar food all the time and look forward to a nicer meal. If you want a casual burger or sandwich then go somewhere else. I orderd lump crap meat cocktail and believe me the crab meat was huge. I almost went back a second night just for the lump crab meat. My husand ordered surf and turf and loved it. The cocktails were very good. I recommended this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mandmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    261
    80
    54
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stop for dessert and cocktail”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My sweetie and I just stopped by for a drink and dessert after dinner. There were real bartenders that knew what they were doing with booze.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jim5ft11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old school charm...great food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent fish....hostesses and waiters friendly....bartenders could use a lesson though....best baked Alaska anywhere....early bird special for those who eat by 5:30....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Flychix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service was fine, food was not worth the value”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had heard a few great reviews of this restaurant so my wife and I (we are in our early 30's) decided to check it out. Well, the restaurant decor hasn't been updated in 30 years, first off. The service and wait staff were just fine but the food was well below the value charged. For a $30 plate of ribs, the ribs were plain, boring, and the rib sauce was just ketchup and brown sugar. My salmon was dull and not much was added to it. The "crackers" with the home-made relishes were just packaged saltines that you would get at a McDonalds. Plus they were broken! Then, the breads served with the relishes were desserts! Banana bread and muffins? Just weird. Overall, for the quality that they advertised, the food was just weird. Is this normal for American restaurants? (we are from Canada). The fries were frozen packaged fries. I would not even expect this kind of meal from a $10/plate family restaurant let alone a $30 fancy place like this. We would never recommend this restaurant to anyone and can't imagine why anyone else doesn't realize that the food in this place is so poor!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Third time was a charm...glad we went”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been to the Beachcomber about 3 or 4 times. (see my review of a few years ago) This time we were very happy with the meal and the service. 2 of us had the farm chicken and one had the shrimp in a casserole dish with spinach and mornay sauce. All 3 dinners were tasty, well-cooked and very enjoyable. The portions were generous....so generous that one of us took home half the chicken in a "doggy bag".
The service was not rushed, very attentive while not being obnoxious. Waitress was well-informed about the menu, didn't have an attitude ,(like the last dude we encountered in this restaurant) The atmosphere has an air of sophistication, it's quiet and reserved and you can actually hear your dining partners talk! The clientele is an older crowd, one who appreciate the finer things in life. No, parents.....this is NOT a restaurant to bring your small kids to. There are plenty other restaurants at the beach for families with kids.
We shall return....Bob Heilman's has redeemed itself for us!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Heilman's Beachcomber also viewed

 

Been to Bob Heilman's Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing