We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service?”

Chiang Mai Thai & Sushi Bar
Ranked #271 of 693 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Taste of Thailand! Best Sushi in Clearwater!!!
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Service?”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Unpleasant experience. Wait time long. Food was not correct. Would not reccomend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FLA-couple33709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I've only gone for lunch, but I go at least once every three months. What I really like is the decor and consistency of the atmosphere and flavors. It's always nice when you find a nice restaurant that you like, the food delivers, the atmosphere delivers and when you return, you are happy it's still has the same goodness.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forced to order off Dinner menu to use a groupon”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Had a groupon to use. Only restriction was that you must dine in and cannot be used for specials or fourth Fridays. Restaurant would not let us order off the lunch menu. So it cost us $10 more but it cost them a customer and who knows how many people will read this. Food did not taste good after this experience. They also have signs up in the dining area stating that they may choose to impose a 15% tip for parties of less than five regardless of the service. 20% for parties of five or more. Regardless of Service? That tells me that service must be an issue for this restaurant. Blah.....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigridgecarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food in a nice surroundings”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This restaurant has been in downtown Clearwater for a long time and it has passed through several owners. The original owner had a pride of ownership and the food was delicious. Recently we ate here and had the spicy noodles with chicken and a vegetarian vegetables dish. It was nice that we could get vegetables that were not overcooked and still had flavor. It was the best part of the meal. The satay chicken appetizer was okay, but not served with a warming dish. The noodles were fine, but lacked true spiciness. This restaurant has potential, and I think that what is lacking is authentic Thai flavor.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stylefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not good -- one dish WAY too spicy -- one dish not spicy at all...”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

When my wife and I order Thai, we always order the dishes "Thai Hot" -- we like our Thai dished very spicy.

We had take out from her last night and ordered two relatively standard dishes, Pad Thai and Panang Curry. We requested that both dishes to be Thai hot.

Well, my dish, the Panang Curry had no spice whatsoever. It was completely bland. Basically, it was a bunch of overcooked vegatables and beef swimming in a pool of coconut milk. My wife's dish on the other hand, was crazy hot -- it was so hot, it was inedible. I've never seen my wife not eat a dish because it was too spicy until last night. Basically, it was a bunch of noodle cover in chili flakes. We ended up throwing it away.

Perhaps, they accidentally omitted the chilis from my dish and doubled up on the chilis in my wife dish. Either way, we will not be back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Thai & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chiang Mai Thai & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing