We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Way Grill

Island Way Grill
Ranked #18 of 690 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Such a pity. This restaurant has a terrific location and the food isn't bad given the price, unfortunately, the place needs some professional hospitality management. If you just want a drink and have lots of time on your hands, the place is great (especially if you sit outside). However, if you are expecting a professionally run dining experience, go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    368
    116
    69
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visiting Clearwater Beach to be on the beach, but must say this restaurant is worth a short trip off the beach...and it still has a water-view to go with the excellent menu choices...our party all had different meals and from the delicious salads to the main entrees it was a very nice experience...one of the better meals we had all week!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were visiting the area & looked for a place to celebrate a romantic birthday dinner. The Island Way Grill was perfect! We showed up early because of the weather and had a delightful experience in the bar while waiting for our reservation. It was obviously a popular place & we would STRONGLY recommend reservations.
We had wine & appetizers in the bar. We would highly recommend the crab cake & the "toastadas". We had hoped to sit outside - they have a wonderful patio area - but it was pouring, so we were re-routed to the banquet room which was lovely. The ambience was spectacular & the main courses were even better than the appetizers. Definitely try the dessert sampler after the meal. it was well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdmc0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Impeccable ambiance and indulgent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

When our cab driver told us that the best way to describe this restaurant as "romantic...like the place you choose to propose to someone" we were intrigued. Hands down best restaurant in clearwater!! You will be missing out if you do not fit this into your trip plans. We were seated on the deck and it was so beautiful. Right when you enter, you can smell the aroma of the wood fired grill. Our food was wonderful and not pretentious in any way. It was seafood to the next level. We had to wait for a cab back to the hotel, and one of the employees actually offered to give us a ride back to our hotel rather than wait for the cab! Wow!

Our only issue was our waiter that night, who was short with us and seemed annoyed by our request to turn on the outdoor heating lamp. Hopefully he was just having a bad night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amybjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

First time at Island Way Grill even though we have been here for two months. So sorry we waited so long, it was great. Had the two for $25.00 and could not beat the value and everything was delicious and very, very fresh. Nice atmosphere as well. Will definitely be heading back to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MahonieTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Way Grill also viewed

 

Been to Island Way Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing