We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch!”
Review of Island Way Grill

Island Way Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Way Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Island way is on our top list of favorite restaurants here in Florida.
Their brunch is to die for. I have never seen such spread for a brunch buffet. It is very elegant not what you would think of a buffet. Also, their early dinner specials are a great deal. We try to seat outside since it the atmosphere is more laidback than if you seat inside. I definitely look forward to my next brunch there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brusselscitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    385
    124
    76
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the place to take the out of town guests. The restaurant is beautiful....the views are spectacular....the service is good but most important the food is very well prepared and presented. They also have early dining specials to make it very affordable. A terrific place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tampatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Island Way is a restaurant on the northern part of Clearwater, Florida. It's a roomy bar that looks like a great place to have a drink after work. On this night, I was here with a business associates and our wives. The restaurant is very busy, so reservations are recommended The dining room has contemporary styling and very upscale. So the first impression of "The Island" was very good. Unfortunately, my second impression wasn't good. There are 3 "V's" of wine selection: Vineyard, varietal and vintage. When a restaurant puts all 3 on a menu, it's a warranty that the establishment can deliver the wine. In this case, I ordered a particular 2009 Malbec from Argentina. What they delivered was a 2010. I sent it back. Island Way obviously needs to update their wine list.
After they fumbled the wine selection, my appetizers selection was suspect. I ordered cervice, but what they delivered, I have no idea. It looked like sushi, but it was wrapped around carrots with wasabi on the side.
The good news is that they redeemed themselves with the entrée. I ordered the Korean BBQ Steak. It was very juicy and flavorful. It might be one of the best steaks I've ever had.
Overall, Island Way looks great, but the service and menu items are hit or miss. BUT if you go, get the Korean BBQ Steak.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great seafood, always reliable”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is our fifth visit to the Island Way grill over the last three years. Each time has been outstanding. This last visit a week ago we sat on the outside deck. It was a little chilly but the heaters worked well. We have also eaten inside and at the bar on other occasions. They have several early bird specials until 530pm. The prices are unbelievable for the quality and quantity of the food. They even half half priced drinks during happy hour. Every time we dined here the wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Fresh seafood, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. What's not to like? We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio /Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful dining, drinking establishment.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Island Way Grill is a terrific dining, drinking spot. It is perched along a canal near a part of a marina and offers a terrific sunset view. Dining indoors is great, dining outdoors is terrific. The food and service are superior, the drinks are as you order. The fresh sushi is magnificent, as is the fresh fish, lobster crab, steaks etc. Valet parking gets you in and out quickly. It is a bit pricey but well worth the bang you get for the bucks you spend. They also have the best Sunday brunch in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradyoRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Way Grill also viewed

 

Been to Island Way Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing