We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baseball Preseason ”

Frenchy's Rockaway Grill
Ranked #21 of 690 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Baseball Preseason ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Happy hour is good. Bartenders and Waiters are attentive. Food is good. Good live music when we were there. Try the Grouper sandwich. Sit on the deck to watch the sunset. Waited 45 minutes for table on deck we arrived at 5:30. Not bad.

Helpful?
Thank Poliero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,553
    1,202
    446
    96
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tourist spot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Definitely a tourist spot; huge restaurant so the wait goes pretty quickly. Nothing special. Grouper tamales were NASTY; I read in a review that they were delicious and since I'm from Texas I was excited to have tamales again. Unfortunately they were not what I had hoped. The buffalo grouper sandwich my husband tried was great, though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scrapbookfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it's the view..not the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I think all the good reviews can be credited to all the alcohol the crowd is having while waiting to be seated. Been going to Frenchy's for years, and the last few times, the food is just edible. The grouper gets smaller every year. This past weekend, I literally opened the bun just to make sure that the fish was even in it! Seriously! My son gave his cheeseburger a "5". The fries (which of course do not come with the sandwiches) were a notch below ore-ida. Maybe 2 notches. But if you want a cocktail, a lotta noise, and a great view, here it is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank detroit2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed in food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have eaten here several times on our visits to Clearwater and have always been happy. The atmosphere is great but the food this time was very disappointing. My stuffed grouper was so over cooked it was hard and had no flavor. My son's grouper was also overcooked and had no flavor. The crispy calamari was chewy. The only saving grace was the beautiful setting and the She Crab soup which was excellent. I will definitely go back for cocktails but not sure about eating dinner here again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
229 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This beachside restaurant is a favorite of both tourists and locals. The setting is noisy but perfect for families with children. The food is reasonably priced and the "tropical" drinks are delicious. I can highly recommend the grouper sandwich which is well-prepared and a generous portion of fish. We also ordered a side of the sweet potato fries which were also very good. Our server was very friendly, attentive, and did not hurry us even though the restaurant was busy. Fun place to go, especially if you are at Clearwater Beach and need something to eat or drink.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Rockaway Grill also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Rockaway Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing