We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Grouper Sandwich!!”

Frenchy's Rockaway Grill
Ranked #21 of 693 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Grouper Sandwich!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is our second year coming to Indian Shores and we always make a point to go to Frenchy's Rockaway. We have been to several Frenchy's but by far we like the atmosphere at Rockaway. Last year was the first time I have ever eaten conch fritters and Frenchy's makes them great. The sauce that comes on the side is great. I tried the grouper sandwich off of a recommendation and I love it. I have had the grouper sandwich at Keegans and it does not compare...neither do the conch fritters. I think Guy Fieri needs to visit Frenchy's. Can't wait to go next year!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsmith3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,580
    1,221
    454
    96
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location. Mediocre Food.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Perfect beach front location. Walked from Hilton on beach. Food was lackluster, but good. Very casual and noisy and overwhelming fish smell! It is a great place to watch the sunset and beach goers, while enjoying good company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beccaboo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neosho, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did Not Meet Expectations”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had looked up a few restaurants before our trip to the Gulf Coast, and Frenchy's had some really great reviews and was labeled as a must-eat-here place. We were excited to try it and were really disappointed. As soon as we arrived we were seated in a tight corner where our party of 9 people had to squeeze to sit...No, it was not crowded or busy at the restaurant, so I'm not sure why they decided to seat us there. We picked up our menus and they were wet and slimy and smelled SO HORRIBLE! Someone must have wiped them with a dish towel that had been sitting in rotting dish water. We all had to wipe our hands with disinfectant wipes that I had in my bag after touching the menus. Our waiter was really nice and attentive. The food was average, nothing special. The restaurant itself felt dirty. Parking is a nightmare, as Frenchy's has maybe 3 or 4 spots behind the restaurant. If those are taken, you must find paid parking somewhere else, and I don't recall seeing any close to Frenchy's so you will be walking quite a ways.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Food is ok. Frozen drinks are great. The service is great, however it was hard to enjoy our meal. We sat outside and there were pigeons hanging out under our table. It was a little creepy and gross. It must be a normal thing there, because there are signs requesting that customers not feed the pigeons. Not sure why they don't do something about that. We would have moved inside, but it smelled gross. There is a mildew/stale beer smell in the restaurant. This place was highly recommended, but we weren't impressed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TAJWHEEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first time at Clearwater Beach, and we were recommended this place because we were looking for a laid back restaurant with a beachy atmosphere, and collectively, Frenchy's is exactly that! It's a great place for a relaxed dinner with good food, and the price is very reasonable for both the quality and the amount of food you receive. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. All together, Frenchy's is a great place after a long day at the beach!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Rockaway Grill also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Rockaway Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing