We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot, good specials”

Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe
Ranked #19 of 693 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot, good specials”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Although a tourist spot, plenty of locals and sitting at the bar for lunch is fun. Bar menu with great burgers and local catch specials. Great little gift shop next door and they give you a coupon if you eat at the restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WickyMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    372
    146
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Are there 5 nights in a row”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I love this place and the price is right. Stone crabs were amazing and so was everything else we had. Ever time we go we make sure to make a trip. We support all frencies

Helpful?
Thank Katiegirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Frenchy's is the place for fish!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

On a local's recommendation, we found this place, just a few blocks off the main drag in Clearwater Beach. The food was fantastic. My little one loved his crab legs, I enjoyed my grilled shrimp, and my husband thought his Mahi Mahi was above average. Apparently, the on-beach location is the best Frenchy's, but we did not make it to that one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BookPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very good food , good value,
GREAT grouper sandwich,
you cant go wrong here,
Went to Frenchy's Rockaways first (love that place, right on the beach)
But there was a very long wait, walked over a couple blocks and sat right down

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nella10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, FL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The only thing above average was the price”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A friend of ours recommended that we give this location a try. It was a cold, rainy day so the beach was empty and the wait was short to get seated. There were 6 of us and they tried to seat us at a table approx. 36" square. We asked to be seated at a larger table and the hostess got the manager. He asked if there was a problem and we stated that we were there for dinner and needed more space. He made a snippy comment that they seat 6 at those tables every day. By that time a family next to us had left and the 2 tables they had put together were empty. We requested to be seated there. The manager reluctantly agreed.
The food was the high point of the visit. Everyone enjoyed the meal. The she crab soup was a particular hit.
The noise level was extremely high and it was impossible to have a conversation even with the person directly across the table.
The prices were high - but that is expected at a place right on the beach.
This would probably be a good place to have a few drinks while looking out on the beach on a sunny day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timekeeper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing